We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for the price in the island”
Review of Kona Tau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Tau
Curitiba
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great stay for the price in the island”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a Hostel with great rate, great service, excellent people and nice location. It is close to the city main road, supermarket and airport. It is about 15 minutes walk from the pier (dive and fishermen meeting point).
Diego (owner) and his wife are always ready to help and make our stay a great experience. We had breakfast every morning in the hostel. Used the kitchen for the other meals once that eating out in the island is very expensive ( about 20U$ per person a very simple meal).
We had transfer from airport in/out. Helps a lot.
Rooms are clean, fresh towels daily and hot shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    31
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
11
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The rooms are comfortable, the showers warm and powerful, and the people friendly.

Internet is a bit slow.

Breakfast is alright.

I would stay here again though. Great for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joesmoe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Lucked out staying at this place. Rates included airport transfers and a tour of the city (brief as it was).

I had a 4 bed dorm (no bunks) to myself during high season. No issues and they provided towels which many South American hostels charge extra for, granted that Easter Island is pretty expensive.

Claudio the manager was great providing tips and history. I should have had him book my day tour as I definitely paid too much at the tourist office. Water and soda priced competitively (better than the super markets that don't have printed prices to cheat the tourists). Light breakfast. Cats and kittens and neighbors dogs wandered over.

I asked why some guests at higher priced hotels were complaining of geckos and we didn't see any. Claudio said the owner sprayed for mosquitoes. No bugs, no geckos.

On my final night, Claudio grilled fish for the guests on the outside grill. Awesome.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I chose this place because it was nice and cheap and provided breakfast. It turned out to be just fine. Not spectacular, the rooms were kind of dark and would have been very crowded if the dorm had been full (I was lucky enough to be the only one in it during my stay), but generally it was clean and well run. I was really happy with the breakfast - especially the caramel crepe served a couple of the mornings. People here seemed friendly enough - although when I was there the lack of guests that spoke english made it hard to meet people. The girl on reception was lovely and really helpful (and did speak good english) and is definitely a great asset to the place :-) Pick up from the airport made life easy. Easy walk from town, and nice and cheap if that's what you're looking for, otherwise if you're willing to spend a little bit more I suspect there are probably better places on the island.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJ_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We picked this as it offered free pick up from and to the airport (is also very near the airport, so can walk as well!) and breakfast is included! Very important as everything in Easter Island is so expensive! Kitchen is a bit dirty but acceptable. Room is a bit dark but shower is hot enough. Common area is comfy too and has free parking. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Camping Mihinoa
Camping Mihinoa
#5 of 89 in Easter Island
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
#12 of 53 in Hanga Roa
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Tojika
Hostal Tojika
#2 of 53 in Hanga Roa
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cabanas Anakena
Cabanas Anakena
#15 of 53 in Hanga Roa
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabanas Peretei
Cabanas Peretei
#23 of 53 in Hanga Roa
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Keu Henua Eco-Hostal
Keu Henua Eco-Hostal
#9 of 53 in Hanga Roa
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tau

Property: Kona Tau
Address: Avareipua s/n | Isla de Pascua - Rapa Nui, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kona Tau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing