We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was magic”
Review of Kona Tau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Tau
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 632 helpful votes
“It was magic”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The owners here, Diego and Mara, make this a five star place. This couple reached out to us as though we were long lost friends and invited us into their home with open arms. I was wonderful to see them each day as they started our day with smiles.
They operate a good hostel, the beds are good, bathroom is nice and large with plenty of hot water, rooms are very clean. Breakfast is good. Location is better then many, close short walk to town.
But I hated to leave Mara and Diego and all of Rapa Nui (Easter Island), it was Magic!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    31
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
11
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Jordi for all he was very friendly (and the only staff that actually would talk to guests) he did not pick us up on our arrival. so i was very worried at the airport having no cash and the ATM not working at the airport.
The hostel was basically attached to a local family's house. The kitchen was barely managable, the 'common room' was the not comfortable dining room. it was not set up at all for solo travellers to meet people.
cockroch in kitchen, sick and toilet seat broken in room.
there was no information sharing of local activities or events.
however is closely located to the centre of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieThatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Cayman Islands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I found this hostel to meet all of my needs and the staff, mainly jordi, were very helpful and let you know that they cared about your stay. I would rate my stay as very good because of the people it attracts and there is a laid back atmosphere which enables you just to have a good time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hostel just came under new management which, although good intentioned, is unknowledgeable about the location and seems under qualified for the job. When we asked questions about what to do and where to go on the island, the staff would become flustered and give us incorrect information. As a hostelling international hostel, I expected a lot more and was disappointed by the service of the staff. The hostel itself is nice and cleaned daily, although the shower is a bit mildewy. Breakfast is just bread and coffee which isn't enough to fill you up. The kitchen is tiny for the size of the hostel and there is definitely not enough space in the fridge for everyone. Due to the staff's lack of knowledge, I recommend finding somewhere else to stay. There are cheaper options on the island where you get more bang for your buck.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a Hostel with great rate, great service, excellent people and nice location. It is close to the city main road, supermarket and airport. It is about 15 minutes walk from the pier (dive and fishermen meeting point).
Diego (owner) and his wife are always ready to help and make our stay a great experience. We had breakfast every morning in the hostel. Used the kitchen for the other meals once that eating out in the island is very expensive ( about 20U$ per person a very simple meal).
We had transfer from airport in/out. Helps a lot.
Rooms are clean, fresh towels daily and hot shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The rooms are comfortable, the showers warm and powerful, and the people friendly.

Internet is a bit slow.

Breakfast is alright.

I would stay here again though. Great for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joesmoe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Lucked out staying at this place. Rates included airport transfers and a tour of the city (brief as it was).

I had a 4 bed dorm (no bunks) to myself during high season. No issues and they provided towels which many South American hostels charge extra for, granted that Easter Island is pretty expensive.

Claudio the manager was great providing tips and history. I should have had him book my day tour as I definitely paid too much at the tourist office. Water and soda priced competitively (better than the super markets that don't have printed prices to cheat the tourists). Light breakfast. Cats and kittens and neighbors dogs wandered over.

I asked why some guests at higher priced hotels were complaining of geckos and we didn't see any. Claudio said the owner sprayed for mosquitoes. No bugs, no geckos.

On my final night, Claudio grilled fish for the guests on the outside grill. Awesome.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Camping Mihinoa
Camping Mihinoa
#5 of 89 in Easter Island
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
#13 of 53 in Hanga Roa
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabanas Anakena
Cabanas Anakena
#15 of 53 in Hanga Roa
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostal Tojika
Hostal Tojika
#2 of 53 in Hanga Roa
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabanas Peretei
Cabanas Peretei
#23 of 53 in Hanga Roa
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Keu Henua Eco-Hostal
Keu Henua Eco-Hostal
#9 of 53 in Hanga Roa
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tau

Property: Kona Tau
Address: Avareipua s/n | Isla de Pascua - Rapa Nui, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kona Tau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing