We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Aukara Rapa Nui
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Can't beat the location! Walking distance to the main drag, to the Ahu Tahai moai and its neighboring sites, as well as to the Rano Kau volcano (be sure to hike up as it's a beautiful walk) and the Ana Kai Tangata cave. A gas station up the street exchanges money at the official bank rate so don't fall for the 20% charge involved with using US$ at stores/restaurants.

The garden setting of the property is lovely. Rooms are comfortable, with screens on all windows so no mosquito problem at all. The breakfast was nice with freshly squeezed juice, homemade jams, biscuits, and coffee cake, along with bread, cheese, and tea or instant coffee. Ana Maria was an excellent host with airport pick-up and drop-off. She is a Rapa Nui historian and very knowledgeable of the culture and sites. Her husband is a local artist and has a gallery on site. You can watch a documentary on the SCL-IPC Lan flight called "El orgullo de ser rapa nui" in which he is featured!

I took a couple of tours with MahinaTur and both were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UStrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
27
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Aukara has a lovely garden, spacious and comfortable rooms, and a truly wonderful host. The breakfast is good, with coffee, juice, bread, cheese and fresh fruit or cake. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trivia_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The proprietors of this hostel were awesome. They gave us a tour of the town and arranged for tours. They even dropped us off at the base of a hiking trail. The room was clean and spacious. It really added to our trip to Rapa Nui.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room away from the main building and I have heard that they are more spacious.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights, location are central, although it took me 10 mins walking to harbor. There's Internet bar cross the street and so do the laundry room. If need money exchange, there's gas station near here (5 mins walk) provided good exchange rate. Breakfast is really good, home made bread, cheese, coffee, fruit, juice....,
owner Ann-maria picked me up with flower necklace and helped me to arrange the tour. She speaks very good English and very knowledgable on para nui culture. There's their own art garlly in the hostal. Her husband bene is local artist and had several art exhibition in sandiago before. Pretty good art works.

The room is big and clean. They did house cleaning everyday!

Delifitly will go back when I come to island again!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uuuyouyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

WIthout a doubt, this is the only place to stay on Easter Island. The most amazing hosts, clean rooms, great gallery onsite and centrally located.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandeeztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.2 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 16 in Hanga Roa
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tiare Pacific
Hotel Tiare Pacific
#4 of 16 in Hanga Roa
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Manutara
Hotel Manutara
#11 of 24 in Easter Island
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 16 in Hanga Roa
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Aukara Rapa Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Aukara Rapa Nui

Property: Hostal Aukara Rapa Nui
Address: Avenida Pont s/n, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Aukara Rapa Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing