We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that doesn't even seem to try to be decent”
Review of Iorana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iorana Hotel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Easter Island
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I knew before arriving that the accommodations on Easter Island were mediocre but that did not prepare me for my experience here. This hotel is unacceptably poor. We had no hot water whatsoever in the shower. That might have been bearable if the water was at least lukewarm but instead it was absolutely ice cold. To compound that problem, the shower head was broken off so the water sprayed uncontrollably all over the bathroom. Once it was turned on there was no place to hide from the freezing cold spray. By the way, I found out the hot water was broken in the entire wing of the hotel where we were staying, not just our room. There were only three hangars in the closet and each was a wire hangar which was so bent out of shape that it was impossible to hang a pair of pants on it. When I went to the front desk and complained the person at the desk asked me if I wanted some more bent hangars. Very funny. Also the hairdryer in the bathroom was dead. They do have a good system to keep complaints at a minimum - the phone in the room was completely dead as well. Not only is this place terrible, I saw no signs that they even care in the slightest. You are out of your mind if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank c59a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2009

Really close to the airport and a walk into the centre. The views from the restaurant are SPECTACULAR. The bar is small and 'rustic' and the restaurant comfortable. The service is helpful and despite our limited spanish skills the staff really tried to help. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful, they arranged all our car hire and helped us with travel tips.
Rooms are comfortable, clean and have great views. What it lacked in facilities was more than made up for my friendliness and charm.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtogo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

The food was very reasonable. The rooms were small, adequate, clean, cool, and comfortable. The pool was nice. There was a pool down the hill built into the rock cliffs that was really cool. The staff was helpful and friendly. When our alarm clock died on us the staff came and woke us up, and made the tour guide wait for us. It was a bit of a hike to town, but the people on Rapa Nui will give you a ride if you ask them. Of all the hotels I looked at on Easter Island, this is the closest thing to a "resort" they have. STAY HERE

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Hotels on Easter Island are not used to independent travelers, and it seems the best rooms were offered to the Chinese tour and the Smithsonian tourists. We were given room #20 which I was told later was in the "older" part of the hotel. I would recommend you requesting the newer rooms, which I was told were #44-52 .
Our room did have an ocean view and many times we opened the sliding door to listen to the waves or to sit on our small patio.
As another person stated, the furnishings were dated and an older bedspread was used. Our room had a double bed (really small by American standards) and a single that proved to be quite comfortable. The room was clean and the bathroom was quite large for a South American hotel. Really, if you travel at all, this is a good hotel by their standards. Our maid was very attentive, and we only had one day of ants ( the day it rained) and she quickly corrected the problem.
Check-in was a little dicey, because the fellow was not the most friendly, but others through our 5 day stay proved to be very kind and helpful. We loved the wait staff in the restaurant and were sorry to say good-bye.
The breakfast was nice. cereals, some unusual juices such as watermelon and mango. Fresh fruit--bananas, mango, apples, and watermelon. ham and cheese, 6 or 7 tortes with scrambled eggs. toast and jelly. Please--no worries over the usual when eating fresh fruit or drinking the water here. We found the dinner menu to be comparable to prices in town and the fresh fish option was the best, in my opinion. the pisco sours might have been a tish more than in town, but were good with fresh squeezed lime juice and sugar around the rim of the glass.
We didn't use the freshwater pool at all, but swam at the saltwater rock pool every day. It wasn't too steep to get down there, but there are some rolling rocks to navigate.
During one of our tours, I met some people staying at other locations with higher ratings on tripadvisor who were very,very unhappy who told me the locals felt Iorana was a better hotel. It certainly has the absolute best view out of any hotel we saw on the island. It is out of town and does require a taxi ride in. The taxi's are about $3 US each way. Be careful researching where your hotel is, because most of them are smack dab in town with all the traffic noise, people, and no views.
Before we went, I asked the hotel about taxi pickup service and they quoted me $8pp but we decided to not use it. Turned out the taxi should have been only $3 total for two.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dawn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

I booked this hotel to get the true "desert island" expeirence and to feel like i was 10,000 miles away from anywhere and the views from my "superior" room were breathtaking. Highly recommended hotel as this is the only one on the island that is situated on the coast.

The room itself was not great...3 star at best but that is part of Easter Island's charm...there aren't any Hilton's or Hyatt's and the bathtub was very used but i would stay here again. The restaurant was slightly more expensive than in town but the food was great especially the tuna.

The service was also great from everybody so ignore the previous reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTravellerfromGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

This hotel seems to be stuck in the eighties - a bit scruffy, and disconnected from the travel business. No recent updating and certainly not better than 2 star.

However the setting overlooking the sea is superb.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Anthony John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

In Easter Island there arent many acommodations options, you will not find great hotels with stars, but this is part of its beauty.

Iorana has the best view of the island and its provide you silence and time to relax !! enjoy the natural escenary !! turquise water and the blue sky

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trebeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#9 of 16 in Hanga Roa
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iorana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iorana Hotel

Address: Ana Mangaro S/N Hanga Roa | Ana Mangaro S/N Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range: £131 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iorana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iorana hotel located on Easter Island is a place to relax and recharge energy at any time of the year. The hotel offers two swimming pools, one in the beautiful and big garden and the other directly formatted in the sea rocks. Guests can enjoy beautiful sunsets from the chairs near the swimming pool. Hanga Roa center is 15 minutes away from the hotel and Rano Raraku volcano only at 3 km away. Rooms are decorated with wood and the floor is in ceramic. They include television, phone, a mini-bar and a view on the sea or on other wonderful landscapes. Every day, a buffet breakfast is served. The restaurant offers local and international specialties with media pension. At the 24h reception, you can book a transfer to the international airport Mataveri, located 1km away from the hotel, rent a bike to explore the island or reserve an excursion. We have 25 years of experience providing our services in a pleasant and familial atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Iorana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iorana Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing