We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Moai in a row”
Review of Ahu Akivi

Ahu Akivi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$200.00*
and up
Private Easter Island Full-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
482 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“More Moai in a row”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Not as impressive as Ahu Tongariki but still a nice stop to get your Moai pictures and wonder what the heck these were all about.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ozdess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    108
    22
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Time with the moai!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is an easy location to travel to. Well worth the time to explore! My family took a tour of the moai. This location was one of our favorites.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Okie-Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level Contributor
176 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One ocean facing Moai, at the feet of Mount Terevaka.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

On a big Ahu, 7 Moai await you while overlooking the ocean. These are the only inland Moai that look towards the Pacific Ocean. It's a very sacred place, as the statues are astronomically aligned. Very easy to find, and can be combined with a hike to the top of the island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Awesome moais - spectacular sight.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

These were my favorite moais. I preferred them to Ahu Tongariki for their number and simplicity, I guess. Are these seven moais (explorers) really looking towards the sea or looking towards their home in the West? We'll never know but the sight will remain with you forever.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dukkar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Inland platform with 7 Moais”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

About halfway from Hanga Roa on the shorter road to Anakena stands the seven seemingly seaward-facing Moais, (they actually faced the tribal village), which were the first ones restored and re-erected by William Mulloy in 1960. It is estimated that these Moais were originally carved and emplalced, in the 1400's.

Among other sites, these Moais are aligned with the rising sun on the spring and autumnal eqinoxes, another example of the

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ahu Akivi also viewed

Easter Island, Chile
Easter Island, Chile
 
Easter Island, Chile
 

Been to Ahu Akivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing