We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Ana Ori”
Review of Te'ora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Easter Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te'ora
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Ana Ori was simple and affordable. It wasn't too fancy, but it was in a great location with everything we needed. Dani and Nato were very accomodating and extremely nice. We were greeted with fresh fruit and leis. We were only there for 5 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We'll definitely book with them again if we ever make it back to the Island.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is the place where you simply MUST stay, if you go to Easter Island :-)

It almost scares me how little was needed and I would have missed this place. Prices on Easter Island are high, so at first, I booked a hostel - still in the 60+ euro/night price bracket. It was only when I realized that the hostel did not advertize its central location correctly (it was well outside of the town) when I started to look further - and discovered this gem.

Te'Ora: located right next to the ocean, in the town, great reviews, price (rooms range from 40-65 000) not that different from a hostel... almost too good to be true.

But it was true - booked via email, Sharon responded immediately and even provided all kinds of supplementary information about the island. Dani picked people up at the airport and gave everybody a short "tour" around the town on the way back, pointing out good restaurants, supermarkets, etc. Same with departure - they would drop you at the airport just before your flight, even giving a small farewell present. Very sweet.

Dani also offered a guide book to the island, written by a British guy who have lived there for many years. Definitely buy one: firstly, it is cheaper than in shops around the island. Secondly, and more importantly, it gives thorough explanations to all the sights around the island - if you decide to visit them on your own (highly recommended - cycling is perfect way to enjoy the island) without the book, most of it would be just a bunch of stones lying around.

Ra'a room is the only one with the terrace overlooking the ocean - naturally, it is also the most expensive one, but well worth it. There is nothing like sitting on the terrace in the evening after the sunset, sipping a cold beer and... just enjoying the peace of the place and the fact that... you are, actually, on Easter Island!

There is also another place affiliated with Te'Ora and it may be offered to you as an alternative when Te'Ora is fully booked. But it is a bit further inland and not as charming (saw it during the stay) - if you have a choice, stick with Te'Ora.

They can also arrange all kinds of tours for you - we only used the offer for half a day horse-riding trip to the top of Teravaka - nice, even though most probably your... err... back side... will hurt afterwards for a few days.

Book months in advance to be sure it is available on your travel dates!

PS: Oh, and there was a cute little kitten that Sharon found abandoned somewhere and rescued. The little bugger wants to play all the time - you have been warned! :-)

Room Tip: Ra'a room is the only one with the terrace overlooking the ocean directly - this is exactly what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

There's not really a lot I can add to the already fabulous reviews. We stayed nearly a week in the Ra'a apartment and made ourselves quite at home. We took our time seeing the island on our ow, so had plenty of down time just lolling around on our bed or the balcony with the feel of the ocean wind on our faces. This is my second visit to EI, so while I can't honestly say I'm ready to go back soon, if I did I would not consider staying anywhere else!

I saw the one bad review by that crazy lady from Basel and I don't understand what she was talking about. There was no evidence of rust or holes -- everything was spotlessly clean. We cooked huge breakfasts everyday. If there was ever the tiniest request or problem it was taken care of immediately.

We felt sorry for the people who stayed in the regular hotels -- they just all looked so impersonal. We went to look at Explora one day and nearly died laughing. it looked like a prison to us.

If you go, and especially if you're an animal lover: Sharon rescued and adopted a tiny, scrappy, skinny, 3 week old kitten who you will just fall in love with. Her name is Ashely Seattle and she needs to be fattened up. Please bring her some fancy feast and catnip mice to play with with! If I thought I could have gotten away with it, she would have been put in my pocket and taken home to be spoiled rotten for the rest if her life.

Room Tip: You can't beat the Ra'a room for views, but if you want more space book the one downstairs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chavalaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We felt very comfortable staying at Te'ora and really appreciated all the extra help and advise we received from Sharon and Dani. The room was very clean and had all the amenities we needed to feel at home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4DarrenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed at the Ra'a apartment at Te Ora for a week. There are lots of nice places to stay on Easter Island, so I am no authority on whether this is the best option, but we really enjoyed everything about it, especially the quietness and the view over the ocean. These are selfcatering apartments. After 5 weeks of staying in hotels and B&B's in Patagonia we enjoyed the freedom to make our own breakfast and the occasional lunch. There are a few supermarkets not too far away.
The apartment is spacious enough and has everything you may need, including a good bed and a safe deposit box. The Ra'a apartment has windows in all walls, and the ocean is right across the road, so it is very light and at night you can allways open the windows to get a nice ocean breeze. It took us one night to get used to the sound of the waves, but the other six nights we slept like a baby. The road is really quiet, so it didn't bother us at all. We very much enjoyed sitting on the balcony and looking over the ocean. I would recommend spending the extra money on the Ra'a apartment over the other apartments here, as the others are on the groundfloor, behind a wall so with a very limited view.

Dani, the woman that manages the apartments, picked us up from the airport. Although our plane was six hours delayed and we arrived late at night she took the time to take us to the supermarket to do some shopping for the next day. She was very helpfull in arranging excellent tours with Easter Island Travelling (much recommended!), taxi's and other stuff. Although she doesn't live on the premises she is regularly there and there is a mobile phone that you can use at any time to call her. We always got hold of her when we needed her.

The apartment was clean and during our stay it was cleaned and supplied with clean sheets and towels once. This was more than enough for us.
You have to realise that on Easter Island everything is 1,5 to 2 times as expensive as on mainland Chile, so adjust your expectations of luxury accordingly.

Hanga Roa is not a big town, so everything (restaurants, shops etc.) is within walking distance.

Room Tip: The Ra'a apartment has a great balcony overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch_fem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Our stay was perfectly organized with the help of Sharon. We were picked up at the airport by Dani, she helped us getting organized with groceries, info on the town, the island, our organized tour, car rental etc... a phone call away in case of need. We managed without problems and during our stay we met Nato (our host), his family and four legged friends and Mark (the funny but knowledgeable tour guide).
The one room cabin was perfect for breakfast in the morning, we prepared sandwiches for our picnics and walked to town for evening dinners. If you cannot survive without room service this is not for you but if you like a quiet setting with a nice view and friendly people you cannot miss. The bed was comfortable, little kitchen and bathroom clean and we loved the deck to sit in the evening, relax and be entertained by the roaming dogs, cats and occasional horse...
The cabin is very close to the Tahai site (we enjoyed amazing sunsets), and a very short walk to town ... we took our flashlights in the evening and had no problems walking back and forth, we didn't even bother with the rental car in the evening. Nato drove us back to the airport, we loved our stay and the 5 days went by too quickly!

Room Tip: There are 2 cabins, we stayed in the one with the deck facing the ocean, although the owners live ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nithoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This is an excellent choice. I booked by e-mail some few weeks in advance. Sharon didn't have room at her place so she booked us (after she asked us) to a place she knows. It was great. The room was clean, well located with a little kitchen. It was a home stay and the familly there we're great. Sharon also booked us a 2 days tour on the island. It was well planned and everything went according to plan. I really recommend this adress.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
#12 of 56 in Hanga Roa
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.3 mi away
Inaki Uhi Hotel
Inaki Uhi Hotel
#14 of 92 in Easter Island
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atavai Pension
Atavai Pension
#12 of 34 in Hanga Roa
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hotu Matua
Hotel Hotu Matua
#14 of 16 in Hanga Roa
38 reviews
4.9 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 24 in Easter Island
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te'ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te'ora

Address: Apina s/n, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Easter Island
Price Range: £61 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean front cabins with fully equipped kitchens. Each cabin has the ocean view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Te`Ora Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing