We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Te'ora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Easter Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te'ora
Kentucky
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were exceptionally happy with our stay at Te'ora. We were looking for a place close enough to the ocean so we could hear the surf and also close enough to walk to restaurants and shops. Te'ora delivered! We stayed in Ra'a the upstairs unit and loved sitting on the deck watching the surf. You can even see the Moai from the porch! There is a road that runs between the property and the ocean but it's lightly traveled at night. The room was rustic charming and was comfortable and roomy enough for two. Vi was so very helpful with answering all of our many questions and inquiries. I can't imagine a better place to stay on Easter Island. Do keep in mind that it is not a luxury hotel but a charming cabin experience. The only item I would like to point out is that no bar soap or shampoo is provided - be sure to bring it along, I'm glad I did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binkybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    31
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
16
126
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We made a reservation at Te'ora, were picked up at the airport, and then dropped off at an entirely different location. Apparently, they have another "sister spot" located on the other side of town, right next to a chicken coup. When we expressed our displeasure, we were told that this is the spot we booked, and not a Te'ora, and that is was made very clear to us at our booking. If you look on their website (and they will probably change it after this), there is absolutely no mention of any "other location". Rather than have the owner write back some response about how the fault was ours and how clear they were, I have taken the liberty to share with you all of the inforfation we received about the room, and let you be the judge.

Roa ($55,000 pesos per night) Located at our Tahai complex, one block from the coast, one block from the main road and an easy 5 minute walk to the ancient village of Tahai. Tea ($45,000 pesos per night). All of our cabins have a queen size bed, private bathroom and fully equipped kitchen. Iti, our smallest cabin, has the kitchen outside the unit. It's a roofed patio kitchen of exclusive use for this cabin. Ra'a is our second story cabin with the best view of the Pacific Ocean and the village. It has a private balcony the overlooks the ocean.

If you haven't figured it out, we stayed at the "Tea" place, which is not on their website, is not described, and is located right next to a chicken coup so good luck sleeping.

The hotel had absolutely no solution to our problem, tried to make it sound like it was our fault, which I guess inevitably it was as we just assumed the "Tea" was just the name of one of the rooms at Te'ora.

Anyways, I never thought Trip Advisor was meant to complain about a lack of room service at a hotel in the middle of nowhere, but it is meant to warn fellow travellers about frank dishonesty and misleading business practises.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 100-Countries-To-See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delavan Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We booked Te 'Ora in spring of 2013 and Dani, who we met only online exuded the friendliness and professionalism that we were looking for in our search for guidance to enjoy our stay to the max. We were met at the plane by not Dani, but Vi,who told us that Dani had left just weeks before to return to Santiago and that she, Vi, now had the job of meeting new residents of the property. It consists of 3 units well located across the road from the ocean, on the edge of Hanga Roa, the commercial hub, of the island. We feel we had the best of the three, the upstairs unit. We found it large with comfortable full size double bed (not a queen size). The kitchen was fairly well equipped but not as well furnished as most of the other apartments we have rented in Europe. However, if you don't have that large collender or if your wine opener is broken, you can borrow from downstairs which also has a fully equipped kitchen. The range is gas and is lit with matches. The toilet flushes well and the water is hot. If there is any problem of any kind, such as with hot water, you can call Vi day or night and she will get if fixed immediately. Plus, she can help with car rental, tours or touring suggestions, cultural show suggestions, etc.
We were given fresh leis at the airport greeting and nice traditional parting gifts as we left 6 days later. On the way from the airport, we were, at our request, taken to a super mart to shop for food (we like to cook our own breakfast, make sandwiches for lunch and cook some dinners). All in all, this accommodation was all that we expected and more.We spent lots of time on our porch watching the surf pounding the shore. We could also see this sight and hear it from our bed. As we left, we felt that Vi was a friend that we were leaving behind. We highly recommend Te 'Ora.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent 4 nights in Te'Ora, two adults and two children. It was supposed to be magical. And magical it was.
The owner, Sharon, is from Canada. She really is a wonderful person. She helped us in everything - airport transfer, tours booking, renting a car, advising on local attractions, recommendations, etc. She even gave us her own car to go to the restaurant once, because she was afraid, that it might rain and she did not want us to get wet (especially children). She spent lots of time with us, chatting, telling stories, playing drums and... singing. Magical person.
The place itself is great - clean, comfortable, spacious. There is nice patio and garden, where you can sit for hours, relax, looking at the ocean, drinking Chilean wine (BTW - the best selection and not expensive one is in the local gas station, the ATM is there as well).
It was one of the most amazing and magical experiences we have ever had.
Location is great as well - walking distance from the city center and at the same time on the outside, so peaceful, quiet, nothing to bother you.
Thank you Sharon, it was a real pleasure to meet you, our older son still talks about you sometimes.

Room Tip: We had Nui apartment but I think each one is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrutkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in the Nui room for six nights and it was a fantastic home away from home. We had views of the Pacific Ocean from every room and could feel the ocean breeze and hear the waves crashing on shore. Not many of the lodging options on the island can boast the same, and believe me, we looked around. For example, the Hanga Roa Eco Village is located next door in a gated facility, but it costs hundreds more. Te’Ora is smaller and more intimate, more like a self-catered vacation home rental — the other two units were empty for the majority of our stay. Having the kitchenette in our unit was a huge plus, too. It meant we could save a few dollars by cooking some of the meals ourselves. We were greeted at the airport by Vai who was managing the property during our stay. She was on call throughout our stay via a communal cell phone in the common area to help arrange tours or answer any questions we might have. I would stay at Te’Ora again in a heart beat. Pros: Location, value, great staff, laundry service available on site Cons: Cramped kitchen and bathroom, no room service

Room Tip: The Nui Room is the largest and located on the ground floor with easy access to the front patio. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farflungtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I were here for five nights last week. I made the booking based on the Tripadvisor reviews I read about it and we chose wisely. We opted for the more expensive room which was upstairs and had really great views of the ocean. It also allowed us to have all the windows open the whole time to catch not only the breeze but also the endless sound of the waves. We brought some groceries with us but bought locally as well so we made good use of the kitchenette which had everything we needed. Although it was not luxurious it was immaculately clean, the appliances worked fine and considering its steps from the saltwater it was in great shape. Dani was really helpful before we arrived and once we were there. I would recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a great location, and yet still quiet and tranquil

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajy733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

All I can say, since I am on easter island now and staying at teóra is that it is wonderful, right on the ocean, a short walk from town and Dani has been informative and helpful. So very glad I booked here!

Room Tip: For a single, the smaller room is fine unless you need a larger area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kevinigloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Raioha
Hostal Raioha
#17 of 47 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tojika
Hostal Tojika
#2 of 47 in Hanga Roa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Manatea
Cabanas Manatea
#21 of 47 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostal Sunset
Hostal Sunset
#8 of 84 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chez Jerome
Chez Jerome
#7 of 34 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yarvaikafra B&B
Yarvaikafra B&B
#26 of 47 in Hanga Roa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te'ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te'ora

Property: Te'ora
Address: Apina s/n, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean front cabins with fully equipped kitchens. Each cabin has the ocean view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Te`Ora Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing