We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay and hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vai Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vai Moana
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb stay and hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

I had booked the entire hotel for my group's stay for 4 nights in July, so as to view the Solar Eclipse from the hotel. Today, I have 35 completely satisfied customers who tarvelled on my my tour from USA, Canada, Australia, Greece, India & UK. Thanks to the superb hospitality and help provided by the owner - Edgard, Constanza (front desk & reservations), restaurant staff, drivers and more. As the group consisted of both professional and amateur astronomers, we had specific and some demanding requirements. The management and staff rose to the occasion and arranged everything in true Polynesian style. We were prepared and not expecting much, as the hotel has limited facilities of a remote island, 3 star hotel etc. there were concerns of crowds and usual eclipse rush, shortage of food etc. but our fears were eliminated as the hotel staff prepared great meals including a BBQ and a Luau complete with music and entertainment. A little adjustment & understanding at our end and simple polite requests did the trick and the hotel staff did the rest.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    75
    37
    11
    12
See reviews for
50
64
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

The people at Vai Moana could not have been more accomodating or helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The superior room was clean and spacious at the very end of the building, offering peace and quiet. I read one review that faulted the hotel for not having TVs in the room. Who goes to Easter Island to watch TV? The pre-arranged jeep that we rented for the day was available on time as promised, and the desk clerk went on line to confirm our airline reservations for the next day, and even printed out our boarding passes. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Easter Island.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayHSanJose_CA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Upon arrival a young girl in the reception would not let us in beacuse whe did not have a
voucher. We bought the whole package from Visit Chile and did not have such a thing.
After some argeuing the manager step forward and said it is no problem, the young girl
look more angry and left.
The garden was very nice.
The breakfest was good.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stigge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Easter Island hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Piraju, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

I was in Easter Island from September 2nd to September 4th (just a few days), but it enabled to me make some appreciations about Vai Moana Hotel. The room (I stayed on a superior room) was clean and tidy, but it didn't have any TV (I think none of the rooms had TV, because much guests gathered around a TV in the lobby). The breakfast was OK, but not brilliant (the main problem was the reduced number of tables; much guests had to wait for a free table for several minutes). Constanza, the woman on the front desk, was extremly polite, friendly and helpful, but I can't say the same thing about the owner, Edgard (he really doesn't smile for anyone and it seems he clearly doesn't like his job), though I didn't have any problems with him. I read the previous reviews complaining about the payment and the rates, so I decided to pay in US dollars cash, and I think I was a good choice (they charged me exactly what I expected). The hotel is not in the centre of the town, but I thought it was good (very calm at night), and the town is in a walking distance from the hotel (about 10 minutes). Overall, I recommend Vai Moana, but some cares must be taken (mainly about the payment method).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manticora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

We arrived at the hotel on December 24th, 2008. The first thing they tell us is that they do not have the "superior room" that we had booked 7 MONTHS before, we had especially made the effort to have this room for Christmas as this was important that we were somewhere nice for the 24th night which is more important to us than the 25th. After making the point that we want our room through several minutes of negotiations and the unwillingness to step down, he aggresivly resigned and showed us to our "Superior room" which proves that he was just planing on selling it to someone else thinking he could screw us over. After his horrible display of customer relations he wouldn't even shake my hand in a display to forget about it. The room was in all honesty a hole, it had no air conditioning, was literaly dirty, tiny bathroom, soft beds and in essence tiny, as I was sitting outside the room on a broken chair looking at brown grass, I decided to go to another hotel, which was actually 5 dollars cheaper per night and was by far better. Please listen to me and avoid the hassle of moving even the taxi driver that drove us recognized the hotel to be a hole and did not doubt our choice in moving.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tellitlikeitis949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

After reading the reviews on this site the week before we left on our trip to Peru via Easter Island I was pretty worried, but things turned out alright.
Although the "standard" garden cabana was very basic ( a lot of the accommodation on the island looked a bit rough) with a very slow shower, the problems with the "surly manager" mentioned in other reviews didn't eventuate. Maybe earlier reviews convinced the manager to make himself scarce as the front desk was occupied by two lovely, helpful young women who greeted every enquiry with a big smile and every assistance.
Breakfast was very good and, as prices for food on Easter Is. are high, we probably should have eaten our evening meals there as well.
Exchange rates, apart from in one little supermarket, were not very good anywhere on the island.
Apart from that, we had prebooked and paid for our accommodation through a travel agent, so didn't have any payment hassels and hired a small jeep to tour the island, again no hassels, though "no insurance on the island" was a bit of a concern. (Probably a good idea to have it in your travel insurance.)

  • Liked — Location, breakfast, receptionists
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geznsw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

We just returned from a lovely one week stay at Cabanas Vai Moana and had a wonderful experience. We found the hotel grounds to be very well manicured and the front desk staff to be helpful and accomodating. The room was the superior version for $130 per night. We were at the end of the complex with a albeit slight view of the ocean, there still was one. The room was clean and comfortable. It did have a slight ant problem but was cleaned everyday and we weren't bothered. The breakfast was wonderful and fresh. We were greeted by all of the staff every morning and encountered very little rudeness. The hotel is a little ways from town (about 10 min walk) but if you are looking for less noise, this is the place. The payment at the end was a little higher paying by credit card. They add 6 % and it is a little more because of paying in pesos. All of this was explained and agreed upon. If you want the best deal, pay with American dollars cash. I like the security of credit and was willing to pay a little more for this. The tours provided by the resort were fantastic and informative also cheaper and more convienent. Richard, the guide, is a great english speaker. Not to mention capable of spanish and french, his native tongue. Positve overall and we would return.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moto222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#6 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vai Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vai Moana

Property: Hotel Vai Moana
Address: Policarpo Toro, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vai Moana 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vai Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Vai Moana Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing