We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, worst wi fi”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Camping Mihinoa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camping Mihinoa
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view, worst wi fi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Basic cheap accom ( on the most expensive island ) .free airport pick up and drop off . 10 min walk from the main st , but 70 mtrs from the shore . Be warned this place has the worst wi fi which they charge you for , it would be better to use a carrier pigeon than really on wi fi to send messages .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    105
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
115
65
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Marta returned our emails promptly and Marisio was waiting for us at the airport.
We rented a car directly from them and then when Marta saw that my mother got around with a walking stick she took the keys and handed us another set to a car that my mother could get in and out easier.
Yes they are sticklers about no shoes in the buildings, but what's the problem? The buildings stay cleaner and everyone is in flip flops anyways, too easy.
Yes they are strict about which kitchen and shower you are allowed to use. Campers use the community shower and kitchen. If you rent a room you get your own bathroom and share a private kitchen with the people in the other room. You get what you pay for.
Yes they have dogs. There are dogs and chickens everywhere on Easter Island, its just part of the culture. The dogs bark and the chickens crow at times just as animals would. Roger tells the dogs to quiet down and they do.
I thought it was perfect. The location was great. Right on the coast and just outside of town to cut down on noise but close enough to walk.
I will definitely return to Easter Island again and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rent a room. You get a private bathroom and shared kitchen with one other couple. Worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The good:
They will pick you up from the airport and give you flower lays.
The campsite has amazing location. The tents face the ocean and at night you can hear the waves. You can see beautiful sunsets without leaving your tent. There is a little tienda/restaurant on the adjacent property that offers coffee and an amazing breakfast for very reasonable prices. About one block away there is a SCUBA diving shop and if you mention that you are staying at the camp site they will give you a free picture CD of your dive or a discount for your dives. The town is about a 15 minute walk and they rent cars for very good prices too. They offer day tours at the main lobby.
The site has the option of camping (bring your own tent or they provide tent and sleeping bags) and the option of rooms. I experienced both and found both to be very pleasant. The room was extremely clean and provided private shower with hot water, towels and beddings. The rooms have access to their private kitchen witch is very well maintained.

The bad:
If you stay in the tents the shared showers tend to get really dirty as the morning goes by and they do have some insects that can be undesired. All their bookings are done directly via email and that can be a bit confusing. I did my reservation 3 months in advance and when we got there she did not have us on file (but she was nice enough to accommodate us accordingly).

Advise:
Confirm your reservation multiple times as the date comes closer so that your reservation won’t be misplaced. The private bedrooms are a bit more expensive but they are extremely convenient and comfortable. We did not buy any tours except for the dinner and show. I recommend that you go walk to town and go to the tourist information office (near the bank) and get a map then rent a car for a day and do the driving routes. In general I would recommend this accommodation. It is a convenient and affordable place to stay in Easter Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelophilia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I just returned from a week-long trip to Rapa Nui, and stayed the entire time at Camping. I found Marta and Roger at the airport (though I emailed in advance and received no response), and they happily drove my partner and me back to the campsite and explained in Spanish (broken English a possibility; Roger's French seems strong) all of the offerings and rules, etc. To camp is very cheap, probably the best official deal on the island, though residenciales and homestays are undoubtedly more rewarding. Anyways, the crowd at Camping was friendly the entire time, and Marta and Roger are usually very helpful. If you are planning to tour around the island make sure to ask them about car rentals - they might be able to find you a deal.

We were assigned to a nice cupboard in the cooking area, which was clean and tidy. Outside however, roaches do come out pretty heavily at night, though I've never seen them in any of the buildings.

Wifi was always accessible, though brutally slow - to the point where I would maybe suggest finding a different place to send emails or check Facebook, w/e.

As others have said, the view of the ocean is unbelievable. You would be hard-pressed to find a place to stay with a better view on Rapa Nui. Lights are pretty bright in Hanga Roa at night, though. I brought one of the blindfolds from my LAN flight to use and it was helpful. Also, clean showers and bathrooms with reliable hot water!

Room Tip: Sleep on the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taichung
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Pluses: Most of Camping Minihoa is very satisfactory. The check-in is prompt, the ocean view is great, and the shared kitchen and rooms are kept spotless and other travelers, at least while I was there, were respectful about quiet hours. The location is a short walk from the main drag. I stayed in a room with a private bathroom (everything else was booked by the time I made the reservation) in the same building as the dorm rooms, and there was easy to access the kitchen, and a friendly environment without being too hostel-like.

Minuses: It was almost impossible to find Marta (the owner and front desk person) after my check-in. I had to vigilantly watch the office for two days so I could access some valuables she was holding for me, to pay my tour guide. Granted, she had a terribly sprained ankle, but I wonder if she could have sent someone else to get me. Also, the building I was in was overrun by roaches. I killed two large ones a day, during dinner at one point, and when I mentioned it to Marta in response to her query about whether I had a satisfactory stay, she shrugged and said, well, that's how it is here. Guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mejean8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during our easter island holiday for 3 nights. We had a double room with a private bathroom. Although we reserved a room very late, the owner Marta picked us up from the airport. The room was nice and clean. The owner & staff very friendly and helpful. Compaired to other locations in town which are further away from the ocean, the location was nice with a fantastic ocean view. The hostel is not in downtown, but it took only 6-7minutes by foot to get there. All in all a very good place to stay for the money we paid.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemtrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Mihinoa is the perfect place to stay while visiting the Island! It is an absolutely beautiful place, with stunning ocean views, rooms are clean and comfortable, low prices (considering the rest of the accommodation options) and the owners, Roger and Marta, are nice and helpful.

Friendly family atmosphere guaranteed!

I loved it there, and the rest of the guests felt the same way.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikuska_Sanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camping Tipanie Moana
Camping Tipanie Moana
#1 of 84 in Easter Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atavai Pension
Atavai Pension
#13 of 34 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Mihinoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Mihinoa

Property: Camping Mihinoa
Address: Avenida Pont | Caleta Hanga Piko, Isla Pascua, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Camping Mihinoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Mihinoa Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing