We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Hotel Gomero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gomero
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Easter Island
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel has lovely gardens and is in a tranquil setting. We had a room with a private balcony and it was worth it. The rooms are large and have suitable furniture. The staff have excellent english. The wi-fi is a bit patchy but then you are in the middle of nowhere! It is an easy walk from the hotel to the shops and the sea front. The restaurant wasn't open when we were there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Okay, I know we were on the remotest inhabited island in the world in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, and the cost of imports, especially food, is inevitably high, however there are really no excuses for rooms not being clean and basic facilities like running water not working properly, especially if you have paid for a 'superior room' at $195/£125 per night. Maybe we were expecting too much?
First impressions are so important. The main entrance is hardly appealing onto a gravel drive where we had to tread carefully to avoid dog excrement. Dogs are everywhere on the island, roaming freely, they didn't threaten us in anyway but are impossible to avoid. The receptionist was very pleasant and friendly. We walked to our room past the lovely garden/swimming pool area which is delightful. As soon as we entered our room you could tell it hadn't been used recently and the last 'clean' had been very superficial. The bathroom was the worst surprise, very small with a shower cubicle and curtain which was old with dirt/mould ingrained all around the base area. The sink tap only trickled cold water, the 'hot' setting never quite getting there. There was a new door to the bathroom, how could we tell? They hadn't finished painting it.
The sun was shining so we opened the patio door onto the terrace to sit down and have a drink after the long flight. One of the two chairs was broken and when the wind started to gust, the plastic corrugated sheeting above the patio suddenly started lifting and banging with a very alarming/startling noise. Oh dear. We explained our concerns to the receptionist who came down and said they would be reported and sorted the next day. Nothing changed over our 3 night stay apart from a much fresher smell to the room after its daily clean.
We thought, ah well, look forward to breakfast. The breakfast room is very pleasant, colourful, and spaceous, and the process is run like a military operation. You have an allocated table to sit on with your room number, you cannot toast your own bread, you have it brought to you. There is no cooked option unless you order and pay extra for it! There is a mixture of fruit juices, fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereal, warm bread rolls, a choice of 2 jams and 2 sorts of cake. Coffee is either from a large urn or instant Nescafe. Mmmmm not the best breakfast we experienced in Chile.
Location is a good 15+ minutes walk to the coast or the start of the main shopping area. Another great frustration was the Wi-Fi, only available in the main reception area, a full signal but so slow we just gave up trying to log onto anything.
We loved Rapa Nui, a fascinating history and culture with wonderful sights to see and experience. If you are wondering where to stay, try and find somewhere closer to the coast/waterfront. We could not recommend Hotel Gomera, it is at best a budget hotel charging up market prices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Hotel Gomero was a really good surprise. Nice room and cleanliness. Very weel kept by the attentif staff. Breakfast just average. But, remembet that Hanga-Roa is more than 2000 miles away from the continent. So, was more than OK.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry_SJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After 5 hours sitting in what seemed like a flying 'creche' out of Santiago, we arrived and were transferred. We were pleasantly greeted with a smile and a tropical drink.

Room 15 had a main entrance door and a door leading to the patio (with chairs) which afforded a feeling of sitting in the garden. The room was very clean, had a comfortable double bed (and single), was well maintained and, as a nice touch, had freshly cut flowers in the room.

There is no tea/coffee maker in the room. No need for a TV but would have benefited from an inroom coffee maker. The coffee machine in the lounge area was out of action and it was difficult to obtain a coffee at reception.

Free wifi in the lounge but it was a litle slow.

We didn't use the small pool but it looked very clean.

A simple but adequate breakfast. As others have said, eggs were at extra cost and we had to ask for additional toast.

A short walk to the town centre for an evening meal.Torch could be useful.

We stayed 4 nights which, speaking to our guides, is about average to see the sights of Easter Island. May consider taking a travel kettle.

Room Tip: As mentioned by others, the hotel is next to a nursery but I have to say, when we were about the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbarker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here in 2011....

I enjoyed staying in Hotel Gomero very much but it started out bad as they had lost my booking!!
But immediately the manager had no hesitation in making another room available. Turns out the trael agent had spelt my name wrong!
The hotel is within walking distance to the main street and has all the expected amenities, including a swimming pool, which I didn't use anyway.
Easter Island does not have many (if any) 5 star Hiltons, etc so don't expect to find anything like that.
But that's why I love the place!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peligrosos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice charming hotel, good breakfast. Town is approx 15 minute walk. They picked us up from the airport. The staff was very nice and assisted us when needed. Wifi is only in the lobby and was not working when we were trying to check in for our flight, it was still down the next day.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed two nights at this clean, well located hotel. Comfortable beds with a quiet room facing out to a garden patio and pool. Breakfast is limited but good. Easy walk to the small downtown restaurants and waterfront. All Easter Island tours will pick you up at the door. Rapa Nui is such a fantastic place to visit and tour the many archaeological sites and craters, well worth the 5 hour flight from Santiago.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden patios and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilkkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
0.2 mi away
Easter Island Eco Lodge
Easter Island Eco Lodge
#9 of 16 in Hanga Roa
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gomero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gomero

Address: Tuukoihu s/n, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range: £101 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gomero 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Gomero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomero Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing