We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Island is part of Chile”
Review of Hanga Kioe

Hanga Kioe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed 22 February 2016

M603 / Part of World Cruise - Queen Mary 2. Remember your primary school geography class, or Erich von Daniken's "Chariots of the Gods" that referenced a strange place called Easter Island. What was not apparent then is that Easter Island is part of Chile, a spec 165SqKm in the ocean 3660Km west of South America in the Pacific Ocean. The iconic Moai statues are instantly recognised the world over.
We cruised along the southern shore and did not anchor, with binoculars we could see the statues and the dormant volcanic landscape. Awe inspiring scenery, great tall cliffs dropping straight into the sea, cinder cones of extinct volcanoes, large open paddocks, and small wooded tree areas, and several albatrosses that flew alongside the ship. Truly a memorable day, and a destination that would suggest a landing on the Island to explore these wonders up close.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

8 - 12 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2016

My wife and I visited at 10am when there was just us and the tour guide there. a fascinating place with a great view of the quarry the Moai came from. This is a MUST if you visit Rapa Nui.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank JonS979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

This was a wonderful place to go. I don't know if there is a place with more heads, but this was quite a few. It's a must see on the island.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

The fifteen statues are of varying size and different appearance and all face away from the ocean towards what was the village. This area has been restored by the Japanese after a Tsunami and is not in its original form but still the second best place on Easter Island.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Fifteen Moai on their original Ahu reconstructed after a tsunami. It is what I thought we find all over the Wilbur in fact exists only here.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Bede46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanga Kioe also viewed

Easter Island, Chile
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Easter Island, Chile
 

Been to Hanga Kioe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing