We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some things great, some things no so much.... a hard one to review!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Upon arriving in Rabaul, we were greeted by a lovely lady and a great driver and we were really excited as the service started so well.
Check was prompt and efficient and the 2 bungalows were neat and clean - but of really different standards! One (at the end of the group next to the shipping containers) had 1 knife, one small pot 2 plates etc old uncomfortable chairs on the deck and one old towel (3 people booked in) whilst the one next door just seemed to be fitted out so much better - almost like they were owned by different people.
Luckily we had the two so could walk between the two to get things like a can opener or a glass or basic things like wash liquid or a tea towel.
In saying that, they were clean and the grounds they were set in were just lovely. The highlight for us staff wise were the security men! They would walk us from our rooms at night into the lit area ( there were no lights down as far as we were!) It was like the 3 bungalows down the end were an after thought - you literally had to walk through a hole in a chain wire fence to get to them.
As I was saying, the security men were lovely even finding us some aloe plants after a long day in the sun. The pool was laid out nicely but there were no mats on the lounges so you couldn't lay on them.
The breakfast was very average (we stayed for 5 nights and only went twice - ate only once as they didn't replenish any food.)
The bar staff were great at opening SP but beyond that no good. One lady tried to charge us for the nips of alcohol she had used to make 4 cocktails that were literally undrinkable which made that a sour note.
The food we ate at night was very nice particularly the seafood but over the five days the proportions and flavours were different for the same dishes.
All in all, its in a great location with lovely grounds and in general it was very good for PNG standards. I'll probably try elsewhere next time though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAPPYAUSSIE_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

Kokopo Beach Bungalows exceeded all expectations! Delightful wooden bungalows among the trees in a tropical setting. Natural wooden construction everywhere including a traditionally themed restaurant leading to a balcony with spectacular bay views and brooding volcanoes in the distance. Casual and relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff. A very atmospheric restaurant and bar set up, with a varied menu including reasonable wine choices. Hotel can arrange tours which take in both military history aspects of Rabaul as well as its very beautiful scenery and devastating remnants of past volcanic explosions. No Wi-Fi, but if you want that you shouldn't be here. Be careful to prearrange hotel transport from the airport, otherwise it might be hard to connect with them on arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClimbingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Myself and my family, including our 3yo Son, stayed at Kokopo Beach Bungalows over Easter in Kokopo this year. We stayed in a beachfront Bungalow which had plenty of room, clean and comfortable and well fitted out. A bit more variety on the cable TV channels would be the only thing I'd suggest.
The food at KBB was excellent and the restuarant and bar area is beautifully decorated and pleasant to spend some time socialising in. All the staff we encountered at KBB were friendly, cheerful and showed great hospitality. Everything seemed well run and well managed.
The kids enjoyed swimming in the inground pool, and looking around the gardens and beach at the plants, and small animals.
The new deck over the beach is great, and a fantastic spot to enjoy the view in the late afternoon. The location of the hotel, being right in town at Kokopo and on the waterfront makes it probably the best place to stay in Kokopo as well.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kruegs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This place is amazing, We were in a bungalow room and they were very spacious with amazing views from the balcony.

The food here is excellent, eat as much lobster and fresh fish as you can... Service is always friendly and helpful.

There is plenty to do around the resort, organise a boat to head out to pidgin island for snorkelling, a bit further out is a sunken Japanese tank which is cool to snorkel on as well. Snorkeling on the old Japanese Sub base is also pretty cool.

The drive out to the Volcano is surreal, if your brave and the volcano is quiet you can climb it and look into the top.

Obviously the fishing is high quality.

One of the great trips you can do is take a boat over to New Ireland and travel up to Kavieng by local transport stopping at various villages. Simon and Evelyn will be able to help you out if planning this adventure.

I didn't play golf but it looked a course you could have some fun on.

I enjoyed the War museum, there are old tanks, guns, torpedos etc from the war on display.

The War memorial and grave site is very moving and worth visiting to pay your respects. It is a beautifully maintained area.

And enjoy the SP Lagers, I had far too many of those.

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms offer the best relaxing balcony view
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The_Committee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel is family-owned and managed and is in an ideal spot overlooking Blanche Bay with spectacular views across to the steaming volcanoes of Rabaul, the Duke of York Islands and distant New Ireland. It is a two minute walk into Kokopo town and there are steps down to the beach and jetty.

Everything about this place has been carefully planned to promote a feeling of tranquillity and well-being. Built along traditional Tolai architectural lines using local materials it boasts lovely and extensive gardens, tasty market food in the restaurant and very friendly staff. The bungalows are roomy and self-contained with their own kitchenette and large verandahs. Sitting there watching the sunset is truly amazing. The restaurant with its wrap around views and vaulted ceiling is a perfect setting and the quality and variety of dishes quite surprising.

Plenty of things to do in the vicinity with dive trips, visits to surrounding islands, the local market, Japanese war-relics, the volcano-devastated town of Rabaul. East New Britain is one of the most peaceful provinces in Papua New Guinea with very little fencing and barbed wire to be seen in the town.

The hotel is reasonably priced. If you want to use the internet you will need to buy a Digicel or PNG Telinet dongle for your laptop as when I was there there was no wifi. Internet speed is quite good

Room Tip: Bungalows on the cliff overlooking the sea have the best views
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here for 5 days and will defintiely stay here again. This place was fantastic and as good as it gets in PNG / pacific. I went to visit friends in the area who recomended this as the best and most convenient place in kokopo. The staff were great, the hotel was safe, with a new pool to cool down, and the beach is right on the doorstep. we took a harbour cruise one afternoon and saw dolphins, it was magical. forget all the bad things you hear about PNG, this place is paradise. the architecture is traditional with all the mod cons and a cute little restaraunt in traditional setting. Well worth the money we paid!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I spent 3 days there as part of my trip round PNG. I was very astonished, not to find a fence aorund the hotel and to be able to leave the hotel alone, without any company. A very new feeling after 2 weeks in PNG and never having left a hotel alone.
The hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable, especially the dining-room with it's carvings and the beautiful view to the garden and sea. The room was on the ground floor, decorated also with carvings and had a balcony.
Because of severe illness I had to go to hospital at midnight and it went without any saying that a man of the staff conducted me there and stayed with me (I was travelling alone).
The restaurant offers pretty good food, as in all the PNG-hotels I've been I missed local meals. And also here, the giftshop was very expensive. If you have the possibility, buy the crafts directly by the locals.
The hotel is located upon the beach with direct way there over a few steps and is 5 minutes to the shops and banks in Kokopo. It is well situated for trips to Rabaul.
And also here you will find some orchids in the garden, in a nice arrangement.
There was no free internet-access, but at least functioning, available.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gabi67Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Britain Island hotels
11.6 mi away
Rabaul Hotel
Rabaul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rabaul
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gazelle International Hotel
Gazelle International Hotel
#5 of 7 in New Britain Island
46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rapopo Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
168.6 mi away
Walindi Plantation Resort
18.6 mi away
Kabaira Beach Hideaway
0.0 mi away
Liamo Reef Resort
Liamo Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Kimbe
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort

Address: 1 Kurur Place | Kokopo, New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea
Region: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > New Britain Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in New Britain Island
Price Range: £133 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only do we have a magnificent resort with traditional PNG architectural character and style. Come and experience some of our amazing land and sea tours. Whether you like snorkeling, diving, volcanoes, history or just lazing around, we have it all. Enjoy this magical tropical wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopo Beach Bungalows Hotel New Britain Island
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort Papua New Guinea/New Britain Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing