We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I guess my stay here is colored by the fact that I was rained out of my only day of activity. The front desk took an incredibly long time to process my check in. So long that I had to eat an early lunch before I could get to my room. Rooms were nothing to write home about. There was a balcony.

The restaurant area was airy and nice. But the food... I hate writing about food in PNG because it is never good, just passable at best. It was so here too. I was actually happy when one dish I got for room service was actually decent. I was shocked beyond belief when postcards sold at the lobby shop was 7.5 kina. That's about USD 3! For a single postcard.

The best thing about this hotel is the overhanging deck for drinks. I spent hours there gazing at the volcano and the sea. But I had to go inside at dusk when the mozzies came out.

You can walk to the town of Kokopo and it is safe during the day. But there is really nothing there. Eating options are hardly better and no cheaper.

On my way back to the airport they charged me for a ride but never gave me a refund when another group of guests gave me a ride. I should have insisted on getting my money back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at KBB the last week of July 2013. Fairly expensive, but most good hotels in PNG are. I researched several other hotels in Kokopo and KBB was very good in responding to queries, the Gazelle Hotel and Rapopo Plantation are other good hotels in the area but they were full for the dates I required. There were several other accommodation options but I did not get any replies from either email or phone calls. Lovely bungalows set in tropical gardens. The rooms were clean and serviced daily, there is some evidence of wear and tear in the rooms but this is not a problem. The staff were very friendly and quickly found extra towels when we found we were a towel short in the room. The bungalows had cooking facilities, also a washing machine, but there was no clothes horse to dry clothes on, you needed to hang them over the balcony (not a good look). There is a restaurant which serves OK food, mainly Chinese style, but there are other choices as well. The opposition Gazelle Hotel does a nice lunchtime meal for K20 and a Sunday lunch for K50. Breakfast was included in the tarrif and this was sufficient for us, fresh fruits, cereals, toast etc, you can pay extra for a cooked breakfast. The swimming pool was a great place to cool down after a hot day exploring the area. This hotel is very close to town centre, the market is a hot 5 minute walk away. The resort offers tours but these are quite expensive, we used the local PMV's to get around in. Kokopo is a safe place to walk around during the day, we never felt intimidated, people are really friendly and are happy to see overseas visitors. Andersons supermarket was close by and had a nice bakery, we liked their garlic twist roll and some of their cakes. There are Kai bars (fast food) around town which sell cheap meals (pie and chips good) if you want to eat with the locals.

Room Tip: The Executive bungalows are stand alone in gardens and have views. Some sea views may be partly obsc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

These bungalows are in a lovely garden setting with beautiful vies across the bay towards the old township of Rabul. I would recommend the self-contained bungalows as our has a small kitchen and lovely verandah looking out over the water.

the location is great within walking distance of the town centre and markets.

The food however is very disappointing and expensive which meant that we chose to eat elsewhere after a few poor experiences. Simple local specials would be better than a very ambitious and poorly prepared menu.

Room Tip: Self contained bungalows are in a lovely setting with views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a wonderful, relaxing get-a-away weekend at the Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort. Our room was a private free-standing bungalow with an ocean view.

The property is beautiful with much of the room and other buildings constructed out of native hardwood and just fabulous to behold. The room was clean, modern and well equipped with fridge, sink and comfort everywhere. Each bungalow has a private deck in back from which you can see the shoreline.

Overall, the resort is filled with the usual lush tropical vegetation and as expected is meticulously well groomed. The pool is large and clean and was not usually crowded. There is a path and steps (about two storeys high) leading to the private beach. The beach is about 1/2 mile long and completely uninhabited except by resort guests. Most of the several times we went to the beach we were, literally, the only people present. At times we could see the private security guard patrolling the beach but this added a sense of comfort and security.

The included Haus Win restaurant served fabulous tasty meals and more importantly the serving sizes were generous. The Tree Top Deck -- an outside dining area near the restaurant -- provides a stunning view overlooking Blanche Bay and the sea from about sixty feet above the beach. The meal hours are ample, and we heard (did not try) that snacks and light foods are available between meals. The meal and beverage prices were high in our view but not out of line with prices we've seen elsewhere in Papua New Guinea.

After the view, possibly one of the greatest assets of the Resort is the staff. Warm, friendly, superior in service and very well trained; it is clear that management at the resort knows how to make visitors want to return and that is through an excellent staff.

Areas for improvement include the gift shop, touring activities, and technology services. The gift shop is purely for mementos of one's trip, native artifacts and knick-knacks. It was never open when we were there, having only a sign informing you to visit the front desk for assistance. Some basic needs and toiletry supplies could have been included and were not. On the other hand, it was very easy to arrange a driver and a car, for an extremely low fare, to take us to a local pharmacy to purchase products we desired.

It had been our intention to arrange a small excursion or two to see the local area. The resort does offer some possibilities but we did not find it easy getting information about what was available. There were offered several land tours and several boat tours. The prices were high for these tours, but again not overly out of line with other local options. However, the packaging was not to our liking. The best half-day tour did not do anything we wanted to see, and the full day tour looked like eight hours of mostly uninteresting activities to see only one or two interesting (to us) items. In short, if you want to go shopping these tours may appeal but if you are interested in heritage, culture or history you may feel as we did about the tours. (Happily, we arranged a tour to our liking outside of the resort.)

The resort advertises wireless network connection campus wide. The fee is not unreasonable, but we did not find the signal strength to be uniformly good everywhere. Knowing the service was through an outside firm and refunds would not be given, given our concern over having a solid connection led to the decision to forego the service. The signal was strong in the restaurant and bar lounge area but I did not wish to be tied to there for Internet usage. For the price of the room if the wireless fee was already included I think I would have been more likely to give it a try. To be fair, I did see other guests about using laptop computers and I presume they found the service adequate.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort. Honestly, it is a little hard to get to but if you are in or near Papua New Guinea I don't think you'll be disappointed by what you find there.

Truly a wonderful, wonderful place to get away for a little privacy and seclusion and a restful stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a bungalow. There are some rooms in larger buildings (all of which provide a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kilr0ywashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Beautiful facilities, safe, clean, comfortable rooms and amazing views (we stayed in an ocean front bungalows). Very close to town and walking distance to the Tropicana (local grocery and liquor store). There is a wonderful deck that looks out to the Volcano and surrounding islands, an easy spot to let the day slip away. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and always willing to assist.

Room Tip: The bungalows offer car rental, which is extremely handy for visiting all the beautiful sites of Kok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solwara80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

It was a nice stay at this hotel. The rates were pretty good compared to a lot of others in PNG that offer less for more. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The deluxe rooms are nice and spacious. The food was nice but nothing spectacular like others. It needs some spices added as i found some meals a little bland and the breakfast meal i chose most days was inconsistent. Enjoy the back deck.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The67Yak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We were in for a wedding and stayed 28th March - 8th April 2013.
The KBBR is one of two little oases in an otherwise "limited service" area for visitors.
Positives were:
- the friendliness and good service provided by those who serviced our rooms and who operated the restaurant - lovely and gentle people.
- the cleanliness and well maintained condition of the accommodation with very comfortable beds and clean linen. The air-conditoner in our bungalow worked very well and was a necessity after hot spells walking around Kokopo. (In some other units which some of our party occupied the A/C didn't work so well and since we were there over Easter maintenance was not forthcoming).
- the continental breakfast with as much cereal, juice, toast and fruit as one required.
- a jug and tea and coffee making facilities which were always well stocked in each Bungalow.
- our unit included an umbrella, an ironing board and a safe.
- the pleasant surroundings

The "Not so flash" aspects of KBBR included:
- The high cost of the accommodation (but all of PNG seems to be expensive. It is NOT a "cheap place to go for a holiday").
- The lack of any real facility to "make a meal" if one didn't want to go to the restaurant (also very expensive) - no toaster - no plates - only one knife and fork and spoon.
- The uselessness of the "internet card" which we purchased for 54 kina (When we found we couldn't use it because the KBBR Wifi was continuously "out" there was NO REFUND Because - as Donna the manager told us - "the KBBR is just the agent for communications company" and because "This is NOT Australia you know".
Advice: DON"T BUY A CARD - you WILL "do you dough".
- the "stone walling" which the manager seemed to practice when any difficulty was raised, leaving us with the impression that she considered it was "our fault or responsibility out sort things out for ourselves".

A Pleasant stay and a great wedding. One wonders what the Rapopo Plantation Resort might have been like - "value for money-wise".

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_N_Over60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Britain Island hotels
11.6 mi away
Rabaul Hotel
Rabaul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rabaul
51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gazelle International Hotel
Gazelle International Hotel
#5 of 7 in New Britain Island
47 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rapopo Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
168.6 mi away
Walindi Plantation Resort
18.6 mi away
Kabaira Beach Hideaway
0.0 mi away
Liamo Reef Resort
Liamo Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Kimbe
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort

Address: 1 Kurur Place | Kokopo, New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea
Region: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > New Britain Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in New Britain Island
Price Range: £136 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only do we have a magnificent resort with traditional PNG architectural character and style. Come and experience some of our amazing land and sea tours. Whether you like snorkeling, diving, volcanoes, history or just lazing around, we have it all. Enjoy this magical tropical wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopo Beach Bungalows Hotel New Britain Island
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort Papua New Guinea/New Britain Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing