We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lalati Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
1 review
“A True Gift”
Reviewed 19 June 2009

What an amazing experience, a true gift. If you love snorkeling, diving and kayaking and you want an authentic Fijian experience you will love Lalati Resort! We were greeted after our long journey with a foot massage by the most loving staff on the planet. It was such a gift and memorable experience to be invited to the local Fijian village for Church and a Kava ceremony. It was great. Susan and Brad went above and beyond to make us comfortable and welcome. The food was AWESOME!!! The grounds are gorgeous and I'm definitely going back. Only the most negative curmudgeon would have missed this amazing gift.

MIndy O. San Francisco

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rathersail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    59
    27
    27
    18
See reviews for
24
293
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

I'm an American living in Fiji and have stayed at many resorts in Fiji--large and small. And I have to say, Lalati has been the best BY FAR. Too often resorts in Fiji over promise and under deliver. Others are so expensive that no one traveling within a budget--no matter how big--can afford them. At Lalati, you get much more than what you pay for.

Lalati truly does it right. From the moment you arrive at the resort you are welcomed as a member of the family. The staff are the friendliest group of Fijians my partner and I have ever come across. They really care about you and want you to have a memorable experience. If you want anything, all you have to do is ask. You won't be turned down. The owners Brad and Sue and their son Jordan are true professionals and should be proud of the wonderful environment they have created.

You can be as active or inactive as you want. There are always planned activities to keep you busy. But if all you want to do is lounge around and read, what better place to do it than swinging in your own hammock right on the edge of the bay.

My partner went to Lalati for the diving and we were not disappointed. We've done lots of diving around Beqa Island from Viti Levu but many of the dive sites we were brought to we had never even heard of. The dive staff is amazing and really take care to make you feel comfortable whatever your experience.

While we were there, the resort was rather full, but we never felt crowded or pressured to be a part of anything we didn't want to. We spent time with the other guests when we wanted and spent time alone when we wanted. We met some very nice couples and spent most evenings in the bar/restaurant socializing.

If you're like me and you narrow your list of potential holiday destinations down to a couple of places, let me tell you to forget about everywhere else. I've been to them and they cannot hold a candle to this place!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmerExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2009

This person should stay in the Sheraton in Hawaii.
I was at Lalati. I have traveled more than most people, and I found the people that live on this Island and work in the resort among the most pleasant & helpful anywhere.
The cabins are in true South Pacific style, large & clean. The open air dinning/bar area is in the same style and relaxed. You can get anything you want anytime. Just walk up to the bar or to the kitchen door & a beautifully smiling woman comes out to fix what you want. The food was great and healthy.
We snorkeled,dived, kayaked and visited the village of people who live there. There are no roads & no need for roads.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackersc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

What do you go to Fiji for?

I thought I'd find at any resort in Fiji--certainly one for $400/night for two:
Beautiful blue water, inviting for a swim
- A long, white, sandy beach
- A clean, bright, attractive lobby
- A stocked bar with a bartender who knows how to make drinks
- An appetizer menu with food available between meal times
- An inviting, sparkling-clean pool

Well, not at this place. But if you want a whole resort to yourselves, which our group of 12 did, come to Lalati. No other tourists here, hardly. And be prepared for frequent power, hot water outages. They need a new generator, new cushions on the chairs in the lobby, new paint all over in the lobby from the 60s, a stocked bar with an experienced bartender, and snacks.

Bring lots of good books and your own cookies. There's no place on the entire island to buy anything.

The local villagers were very sweet, and did their utmost to please.

The resort guides did take us to a beautifl snorkling, diving spot--on the last day. The other snorkling, dive spots were so so.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IwantAmenities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

This is a wonderful little resort with lovely Fijian staff and beautiful large bures along water's edge with big front porches. Very comfortable and clean. This is a very private place which we loved. We went with a group of friends and had the place to ourselves. The food was great as were the spa services. The diving and snorkeling were awesome. Stayed a week and would have loved to have stayed another. We were greeted with songs from the staff, welcomed with foot wash & massage and cold drinks, enjoyed a special day on storm island and loved the traditional fire-walking ceremony and local villagers sharing Kava with us. We felt pampered the whole time. Many thanks to Brad, Dick, Cisa, Joe, Oli, Rush, Salome, Lome, Rye and all the rest of the very special staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeezelSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I celebrated my 50th birthday with a group of friends at the Lalati Resort. It was a fantastic week. We especially enjoyed the staff at the Lalati. They are very friendly and cater to your every need. The accommodations are perfect for small groups. I had the honor to stay in the "Honeymoon Suite". If you are looking for a private honeymoon adventure, I'd recommend it highly. And be sure to have a "banana leaf wrap" at the Spa.

The food is superb. The Chef has trained for 6 months with a chef from Austria and everything from the breakfast breads, to fish tacos, to the desserts were delicious. And, it's all inclusive!

If you enjoy snorkeling or scuba-diving, you've come to the right place. It's spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We recently returned from Lalati after spending a wonderful week at the resort.
Honeymoon Villa: Definitely worth the extra dollars if it fits in your budget. We enjoyed the courtyard as well as the extra space in the bedroom & bathroom.
Food: Overall very good. Recommend the private romantic dinners at the end of the pier.
Diving: We signed up for the five day dive package. We enjoyed every dive (mainly intermediate, soft coral dives), especially the shark dive, which we were both surprised how much we both enjoyed. My wife & I have over 200+ dives each and we appreciated the local dive masters knowledge as well as the small dive groups , ranging from just the 2 of us to 6 divers.
Staff: Truely AMAZING. Great people with great attitudes.
Also recommend the sunset boat cruise, fun time & thanks for the Fijian songs but watch out for the yummy rum punch.
There were a few minor issues but the resort staff works hard to correct. We feel that Lalati will continue to just get better. Overall, a wonderful place to visit and create beautiful memories together.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beqa Island
3.0 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
466 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
931 reviews
10.2 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
635 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
488 reviews
6.5 mi away
Royal Davui Island Resort
Royal Davui Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Royal Davui Island
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalati Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalati Resort & Spa

Property: Lalati Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 461, Beqa Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Beqa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalati Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning all inclusive resort. Lalati Resort & Spa sits on the edge of a protected bay in Beqa Lagoon, with world class snorkeling and diving just steps outside your door. Standard Cottages, Deluxe Villas, Premium Deluxe Honeymoon Villas and Superior Honeymoon Suites offer comfort in a Fijian-style elegance and full amenities. Kayak, trek, snorkel, scuba dive, surf, wakeboard, tube ride, SUPs, zipline, village safaris, and the famous firewalkers, all within easy reach. It's where you find the Soul of Fiji! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lalati Resort And Spa
Lalati Hotel Beqa Island
Lalati Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing