We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't think of a complaint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beqa Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“can't think of a complaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Spent 8 nights at BLR at the beginning of February. I really can't say enough good about the entire resort.

1. Transportation - Our driver (Sonny?) was awesome. My wife wanted to stop on the way to the resort about 3 times to try different fruit along the way from the road-side vendors, he'd stop for us and negotiate the price.
2. Diving - The diving was great. Unfortunately, because we went during cyclone season and they saw 6ft of rain in places the day before we arrived, the water wasn't as clear as they said it could be or should be. As previously expressed, DO NOT miss the shark dive. My wife and I both feel that this was the best dive we've ever done. Having bull's that close was an experience we'll never forget.
3. Food - The meals were top notch. My wife is a vegan which at times can make finding restaurants a bit of a problem. Not here. We explained her dietary restrictions before we arrived and once again once we arrived and didn't have a problem. They custom-made her food every meal and would get her whatever she'd like. As for me, I loved the meals, the meat were great. I still remember the lamb.
4. Accommodation - Our beachfront bure was awesome, the private plunge pool was a nice way to cool off. The room itself did feel tired and could probably use a bit of a refresh but other than that, we had no complaints. The A/C was well functioning as was all the plumbing. The fresh flowers on a daily basis was a very nice touch. The wi-fi signal was right in our bure which turned out to be awesome for us…never an issue with bandwidth except for the afternoon the wifi went down.
5. Staff - The dive team, the front office, the kitchen staff and the grounds staff were all exceptional. Mary probably got tired of charging several devices per day for me put you'd never know by her reaction to my face every morning! The GM at the time, Mark was very accommodating to us. He made sure all our needs were taken care of. Frank was an absolute delight. We ended up forgetting the charger for our toothbrush and had no problem paying for it to be shipped back but they never asked for a dime. Very courteous of the resort. The only point we made on the exit survey was that we felt staff should be more diligent at picking up garbage along the beachfront.

It was an absolutely great week that we'll never forget! You will be tired after diving but make sure you make it to the school or village tour, it was a great experience!

Room Tip: Treat yourself, get a beach front bure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drewsntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeBack, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Bula drewsntravel,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments relating to your recent stay with u at Beqa Lagoon Resort. My team and I continue to ensure that we work very hard on ensuring each guest experience delivered at Beqa Lagoon Resort is as memorable as yours and we also look forward to welcoming you back to Beqa Lagoon Resort sometime very soon.
Vinaka
Graeme BAck and Beqa Lagoon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    110
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
65
156
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

For my wife and I , this was our second visit to this resort. On this trip, we were traveling with just one other couple where previously we were part of a group of 56. This resort caters to divers and offers diving on some incredible dives in Bequ Lagoon. The visability started fair Due to runoff from heavy rains on the main island but gradually improved to 100' +. The water temperature was 81-82. Most divers wore a wet suit, but is was very comfertanle in just a t-shirt and swim trunks. The dive boats were older and slow but drinks and snacks wer provided between dives and they do have a marine head on board. NItrox is availible and ranged from 28-34% O2. The boat crews and DM's were Fijian and knowledgable and friendly. The shark dive was great. Many large sharks and thousands of fish. BLR is supposed to be delveloping their own shark dive. The Fijian people could not be friendlier. On arrival, we were greeted by people singing on the beach and once settled in our bures, treated to a complimentary foot massage. The resort offers many activities and features a full service spa. We enjoyed massages and my wife, a sun burn treatment. The food was great, BLR was able to accomodate my special diet needs. Serving sizes were set and a few times were not large enough for my appetite. Many activities are availible to participate in like Kava ceremonies or watching the famous fire walkers. BLR has some maintance issues, but the appeared to be working on these. The pool was in need of cleaning and the fountains in the koi ponds were not workinfg. Overall we very very satisfied with our weel at Beqa Logoon Resort and would not hesitate to reccomend it to others.

Room Tip: Ocen front bures come with their own hammock and plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeBack, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Bula Doug340,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the warm and caring comments relating to your recent stay with us at Beqa Lagoon Resort. My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that we do really hope to be able to welcome you back to Beqa Lagoon sometime very soon.
Vinaka
Graeme Back and Beqa Lagoon Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have to agree with another quite recent review regarding BLR. Last time I visited, it went by the name Marlin Bay Resort, and was just being handed over to new owners and management (or so we were told). And now, yes, it is time for some TLC in areas, but much was being done or starting to be addressed during my stay. This does not interfere with one's visit, not in the least! An aggressive team seems to be in place now. Just give them some time to remedy what others failed to do over the years. I still would not hesitate to go there in a heartbeat......what greets you each day is magnificent......all things considered. And Beqa is in a class by itself when diving is a priority. Truly, the abundance of soft coral colors & critters is hard to surpass, even when menacing current or visibility try their best to put a glitch on things. The resort's Fijian staff & dive team........also exceptional in every way. And I thought the diving would help me shed a few pounds........not with that fab menu. I should have taken more half portions!

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice. I've also tried the "mini-suites," very spacious. None of your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2TravLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeBack, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Bula Love2Travlots,
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay. We as a new management team are pretty focused on getting the Resort beyond it's good reputation to be a destination where memories are life long and where we look forward to hosting many more return guest for years to come.
Thank you for your kind feedback relating to our resort team who do work very hard to ensure our guest stay is wonderful.
Kind Regards
Graeme Back
General Manager
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

A group of 10 of us went to spend a couple weeks here at the end of March. The resort was not quite as advertised; it’s in need of some TLC which the owner seems to be working on. The grounds are lovely and the Koi Ponds really need some work to be beautiful again. We had a bure on the beach with a private plunge pool that didn’t work very well, but they did get it working for our second week. We had some glitches in our rooms, some of us didn’t get what we were signed for and we’re not sure if it was the travel agents (Dolphin Destiny) fault or the resorts. We still had a fun time and the diving was great, except a few unexpected strong currents and low viz. But we saw octopus, sharks (didn’t go on the shark dive) electric clams, turtles, eel, a sea snake and lots of other great fish along with the beautiful coral. The new dive masters, Chris & Vicky seem to have a good plan for the dive staff. We realized early on however, that when they were in the dining room they really didn’t want to be bothered by us, perhaps they should stay in private when they don’t want to be interrupted. We thought the food was great, the steak, chicken and calamari salad were my favs. What we didn’t try the first week we could the second as the menu repeated. The desserts were always amazing, the chef really is great. During our stay we had several massages and the women who do them are fantastic! They really know how to massage to relax muscles or do the deep tissue, the sugar rub was also amazing! So do yourself a favor and get some treatments while you’re there! This was our 3rd trip to Fiji because we LOVE the Fijians; they are the friendliest, nicest people in the world!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Bure on the beach with our own little cool off pool. Lots of privcay here, which we r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeBack, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Bula AnnRyan,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the nice comments relating to your recent stay at Beqa Lagoon Resort.
My team and I are delighted that you and your team had a great stay with us and yes we are working through our improvement list as we speak. I have passed on your feedback to our Spa team who as you rightly highlight do a fantastic job. We do look forward to hosting you again sometime very soon.
Vinaka
Graeme Back
General Manager
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went to the resort to do the renowned shark dive - although it was cancelled the first day (due to weather) and the visibility was not great, it was still an awesome experience and highly recommended. The staff at the resort were extremely welcoming and knew you by name and room number despite it being full house. The food was excellent and bures were private in a lovely setting. Divemasters were great, although we ended up doing the same dive sites twice in the 3 days we were there. Met some people who did the shark dive while staying on the mainland and would definitely recommend staying on the island instead.

Room Tip: Garden bures are very private and quiet , but the ocean front looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeBack, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Bula sk2010,
Thank you for sharing with our readers your delightful comments relating to your recent stay with us at Beqa Lagoon Resort. It was indeed to privilege to host you and get to share our fantastic culture and experience with you both. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Fiji and that we can look forward to welcoming you back some time very soon. Good luck with your continued medical studies.
Kind regards
Graeme Back and the team at Beqa Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from the most positive trip of our lives to Beqa Resort.
Hats off to everybody working here as that what makes it so outstanding.
From the Dive Masters to the room staff this place is just a 10 in friendliness.
And the best part is they really mean it!
Thank You from Scottsdale and Bula as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wscottpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeBack, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Bula wscottpowell,
Thank you for sharing with our readers your wonderful comments relating to you recent stay with us at Beqa Lagoon Resort. My team and feel extremely privileged for you and your family to have spent your valuable vacation time with us. We hope that your Beqa Lagoon Resort team have enriched your lives and created life long memories until we say "Bula, welcome home!"
Vinaka
Graeme Back and team
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a great vacation! This island/resort offers lots of relaxation, adventure, friendly faces, and culture. From day one, right after they welcome you to the island with Fijian song the staff gets to know you by name. And the dives were outstanding. As a beginner, all the dive masters were patient and went as slow and you needed. The grounds were beautiful as well as the bures. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Definitely the beach front is the way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeBack, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Bula Leslie L,
Thank you for sharing with our readers the wonderful comments you have posted relating to your recent stay at Beqa Lagoon Resort. My team and I feel privileged to have made your memories of your journey to the South Pacific so memorable and we would be delighted to welcome you "home" sometime very soon.
Vinaka
Graeme Back
General Manager
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beqa Island
9.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
9.3 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
9.2 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Davui Island Resort
Royal Davui Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Royal Davui Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
15.8 mi away
Waidroka Bay Resort
Waidroka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Korovisilou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beqa Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beqa Lagoon Resort

Property: Beqa Lagoon Resort
Address: Box 112, Deuba, Beqa Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Beqa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beqa Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Fiji Islands is the secluded island paradise – Beqa Lagoon Resort. Set amidst the lush, tropical gardens are 25 deluxe air-conditioned Fijian style villas with private plunge pools, exotic koi ponds and beautiful ocean views. Our onsite PADI operation will reveal the amazing underwater world of the calm and pristine lagoon to you. Over 100 dive sites just a short boat ride away including walls, wrecks and the thrilling SHARK and BIG FISH encounter…plus enjoy unlimited shore diving just steps off the beachfront. Fun afternoons include deep sea fishing, surfing, kayaking and hiking to the mystical waterfalls. Relax at our new Full Service beachfront LALI SPA or lounge around our luxurious infinity pool or in a nearby hammock. Enjoy gourmet dining in our open air Bure Kalou and the friendly Fijian hospitality of our Beqa Staff. You’ll witness authentic Fijian culture with Firewalking, Meke ceremonies and much, much more. Come FEEL THE WARMTH OF BEQA!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beqa Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beqa Lagoon Hotel Beqa Island
Beqa Island Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing