We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lawaki Beach House
Nearby Hotels
Beqa Lagoon Resort(Beqa Island)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Uprising Beach Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pearl Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nanuku Auberge Resort(Pacific Harbour)
US$951
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$833
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waidroka Bay Resort(Korovisilou)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crusoe's Retreat(Coral Coast)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lalati Resort & Spa(Beqa Island)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
47
11
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
11
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssam and christinemarine protected areasorbetfishsolar panelsfiji tripschool childrenisland paradiseviti levuan amazing experiencebeqa lagoonnavuahostsaccommodationsoursopreefmattresses
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just retuned from at 7 nights stay at Lawaki.
The position is excellent, the food was good with great attention to details, the only fact is too few fish. Sam and his team are excellent hosts.
The only problem we had was that there were too wasps on bungalow.... too bad :(
Great snorkelling very closed to the beach, though I do not recommend to dive from here, Sam must accompany you to the dive center in the Beqa Island Resort and makes you pay for gasoline x 5 minute boat ride, so the dive price grow too much. Again do not try to dive with Sam friend divemaster, it's very expensive and the equipment is very bad and old...
Overall a good village :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stepoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawakiBeachHouseFiji, Owner at Lawaki Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Bula Stepoc,
thank you for your feedback. Lawaki Beach House is not a dive operator. Our guests can dive with Beqa Lagoon Resort if there is space on their dive boats.
The wasps... every autumn we face the same problem here in the wild: the wasps want to find a safe place and are swarming.
We are sorry for the inconveniences.
Best regards,
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Have just retuned from at 2 night stay at Lawaki ,was my second visit to this special haven .As always food was a highlight with great attention to detail .Christine and her team are excellent hosts ,great snorkelling trip to the reef witnessed sharks and beautiful fish .
Exciting return boat trip from Navua jetty in resorts boat which makes the trip so personnel .thanks again for a fabulously relaxing stay .

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawakiBeachHouseFiji, Manager at Lawaki Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Bula Amanda,
thank you very much for your review. To receive the feedback for the meals from you is an honour!
We hope to meet you sometime again: here or there?
All the best for your plans!

Loloma.
Christine & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I love Lawaki. I live in Suva and have been to lots of different resorts in Fiji during my time here, and Lawaki is the place I love to come back to the most. The setting is lovely, a welcoming homestead house in a beautiful green valley, fronting onto the beach. The food is a real pleasure, fresh from the gardens and the sea, home-cooked and wholesome. The accommodation is simple but comfortable, a fantastic place to completely relax and relish the beauty of Fiji.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawakiBeachHouseFiji, Owner at Lawaki Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Bula Lorraine,
thank you for your review. It was nice having you again and also meet your friend.
WE hope all is fine at your end and see you again this year!
We are not plannign to change anything!

Best regards,
Christine & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I had an amazing experience staying at Lawaki in 2012, and 2013 was no different. Sam and Christine really take pride in the operation they run. They put a great deal of effort into making sure the guests are happy. This is not a big resort with elaborate pools or fancy restaurants. Lawaki Beach House is a smaller accommodation with much more of a laid-back family feel. This allows Sam, Christine, and the rest of the staff to give more personalized attention to guests.

You can do as much or as little as you want while at Lawaki. I personally wanted to do a lot of spearfishing while in Fiji. Sam took me out multiple times on the Lawaki Delight to some beautiful reef spots. I had a blast diving with Sam and some of the locals from the nearby village. I learned a lot by talking with them about their gear and learning their own local style of spearfishing.

I look forward to returning to Lawaki Beach House on my next Fiji trip. Thanks a lot for another awesome stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawakiBeachHouseFiji, Owner at Lawaki Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Bula Shane,
thank you for your review. Our freezer will be empty by what???? August????

We look forward to see you again soon!
Sam's big reel is under repair since last August when he dropped it with you!!!!

He did not get it back but we still hope....haha.
Best regards,
Christine & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Sam is a great host. He´s laid back and relaxed but also knows that the guest might need something, and if that happens, jumps right in to fix whatever it is.
I stayed in a bungalow, but did little in it but sleep, since the grounds are so nice. There are sunbeds with mattresses, hammocks, a swing, a kayak and a great beach, a patio next to main house, a patio infront of bungalow, a garden, a volleyball court... etc etc. Also, the family dogs are around to pet and play with, great fun.
The bed was a bit dingy, but by combining both mattresses (two beds in bungalow) I managed to get an ok bed. Mosquito net were flawless, and they have coils available. But do bring repellent... These mozzies bite even during the day...
Bathroom very good, lots of hot water, clean and functional.
At times the cane toads can be very loud at night, so if you are sensitive to noise bring ear plugs.
My only negative is the food. Although it was very nice most days, some nights I could see the family eating lobster and the guest eating fried rice with nothing but eggs and veggies added. Lunch was often just a soup with some taro chips on the side. But just bring a few snacks along and you´ll be fine.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for peace and quiet, and if you enjoy snorkeling even better, there is a very nice reef just off the beach that has been protected for a few years so there are lots of fish and even a reef shark and a turtle might drop by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawakiBeachHouseFiji, Owner at Lawaki Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Bula Eaze,
thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our gardens and surrounding. We have checked our mealplans since we just can not believe that staff is eating lobster and not our guest!
Lobster is a delicacy and a rare thing on the menu plan. There was a small lobster available while you were here. (we also do not buy any lobster until it has a decent size. This is to dicourage fishermen to catch the young once bfefore they grow and make babies)
You were served a lobster salad, can you remember? That was the only way one lobster was cooked in the last few months. If you heard staff eating lobster, they would eat the head and long legs that is very difficult to eat. They normally crack it with their teeth. The guest gets the nice tail and claws.
We hope that information might clear a misunderstanding. We are sad to hear that you were not happy with our meals and like to appologize for that.
Best wishes and regards from Lawaki.
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews