We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Isla Navidad Resort
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
300
165
65
33
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
165
65
33
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxigrand baygolf coursepool bartrue starincluded in our packagelarge hotelfish tacosgolf packagemanzanillo airportthe entire hotella plazuelarest and relaxationmain poolall inclusive guestspesos per persontennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

staff were all great liked the younger bartender on the patio lounge smart kid.
maids were great.
fridge stocked everyday. 3 tecate 3 pop 3 water plus 2 water in the bedroom.
went to barra 3 or 4 times always had a big golf cart to take one to the boat.
i smoke and there were ashtrays in all the hallways. can smoke on patio bar also.
kudos to management didnt expect the free upgrade to the big suite.
had a great time
thanks isla navidad

Room Tip: marina suite 309 big balcony 3 sets of patio doors small balcony in bedroom
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lrpepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your last visit at Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the warmth and friendless of our staff contributed to make your holiday a “Great Time”

Look forward to receive you at the Grand Isla Navidad Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I just got back from a weeklong all-inclusive golf vacation. We couldn't have been happier with the accommodations, the food, the grounds and the golf! The most outstanding thing was the staff. They spoiled and pampered us day and night and I so appreciated everything they did to make it an enjoyable stay. From Leonel, the restaurant manager, who made sure our preferences were available at every meal, to Eau, who cleaned our room and returned for nightly turn-down, to Gabriel the recreation director and tennis instructor, everyone was so friendly and helpful. The caddies at the golf course were so patient and improved play so much that I'm afraid my handicaps too low. Thank you for a wonderful visit and I hope to return there soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor are definitely the most convenient since it's on the same floor as the lobby.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Utahroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

On behalf of all the Team at our beautiful 1,200 acre resort, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to the Grand Isla Navidad Resort, especially the ones about our staff, which are the key element of our success. It is with pleasure that I will be sharing your kind comments with all our staff and especially with Leonel, Eva and Gabriel and let them know how significant their contribution was to create a memorable vacation for you at the Grand Isla Navidad Resort
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent one week golfing and enjoying the incredibly lovely resort here. With views over the water and the marina plus beach this location can't be beat. The rooms were spacious, well equipped and beautifully furnished. Food was ample with a nice selection of dishes, well displayed. The boat trip to the small nearby town was fun.....already planning to go back. The staff, one and all, were accommodating and friendly and very well trained.

Room Tip: upper floors have better views and if you can upgrade to a suite they are luxurious and very spacious
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnlp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review in regards to your latest stay at the Grand Isla Navidad Resort. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant Golf vacation with us.
We feel honored to hear that you appreciate our efforts! We hope that we will have the pleasure to be your host again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and was very impressed with the Staff and Food. Where it falls down is in the maintenance. The Old World Rich fixtures were symbolic of the hotel in its prime. However, lack of detail in daily cleaning has diminished the fixtures into somewhat dirty relics of the past. This is in stark contrast to the people who work there as they were exceptional in attitude and efficiency. I would suggest the management walk each room and look at the fixtures and the shower stalls. Ours were dirty and the shower did not drain properly so you were standing in water as you dried your body. I cannot rate the hotel separate from its staff so I would rate the staff at above excellent and the hotel as slightly above average.
We will stay there again and hope the detail care has raised the quality as this should be 5 Star!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina offer outstanding views!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrTCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your last visit at Grand Isla Navidad Resort.

We would also like to thank you for your valuable comments regarding the areas where we can improve, be sure that your feedback will help us to offer a better experience to our guests. We are totally aware about the opportunity areas we have in some fixtures in the rooms. It is important to mention we start to work with some positives changes inside the rooms and definitely we want to keep working on these details to reach the optimum fixtures level. The shower drain was of course fixed and we are programing a preventive maintenance to prevent this situations.

We would like you can afford us another opportunity to regain your trust and looking forward to personally welcome you on your next visit”.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Grand Bay Hotel is everything we expected and more. When we checked in they were expecting us and had the paperwork ready, cool towel and drink in hand and a welcoming smile. Our room was the standard variety but beautiful and had a great view. The property is built on a peninsula/hill and is multi leveled. There were ample elevators and they all worked all of the time !
Because the hotel is spread out and up you never get that crowded feeling. The staff is marvelous, always smiling and eager to please. We did not do the all-inclusive package but after observing the food and drink offerings we would probably do it next time. Yes there is a little wear and tear but they are constantly fixing things with a minimum of distraction. The little town across the bay, Barra de Navidad, is still recovering from the hurricane of two years ago and is not as quaint as we had hoped. While there is little to criticize there were a lot of bugs (no seeums ?) on the private beaches. Perhaps some eco friendly spraying could minimize the problem. Great golfing, great food and alert security are all hallmarks of this fine property. We hope to bring friends with us next year. We have travelled extensively throughout Mexico and this was the best bar none.

Room Tip: Floors on the higher levels had the best view but they do require some walking.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews