We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Careful! You`ll loose your money!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Guamanchi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Guamanchi
Ranked #19 of 33 Merida B&B and Inns
Jena, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Careful! You`ll loose your money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Very bad time at the Posada. Its loud, dirty and anoying. Breakfast was also very poor and we had many times no electricity because of break downs in the house.
RICARDO TORRES, the owner, made direct after our arrival pressure to book a tour and told us that we have to make a tour booking, otherwise we cant stay there. We where afraid to leave the place, cause we arrived at night time. Finally, we booked, Mr.Torres took our money and cancelled the trip at the next day. I lost 303.-EUR. Very bad experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123456447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
2
18
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We got back this week from a trip - 16 young Venezuelans and us (two old Americans). We stayed with Guamanchi and they arranged our expedition up to the peak. About 12 of us made it. The main guide, Jorge, was a kind attentive gentleman with excellent English - he spent some time in Portland, Oregon. He and the other guides are experienced in the ways of the mountains. The hotel itself had nice rooms, esp. if you get one of the two top bedrooms with views of the park and hills. The place, run by Swiss-Venezuelans, has all kinds of equipment (backpacks, tents, helmets, climbing gear, sleeping bags, etc.) to help you go and come, and they also organize kayak trips on the rivers heading town towards the Llanos/plains region. For the mountain trip they hire sherpas to carry up the tents/cooking gear/sleeping bags, etc., which is helpful for us weak city folk. The setup was clean, the water almost warm for showers, the linen fresh, and everyone friendly. A big kitchen with fridge and stove you can use, lots of restaurants nearby, and not expensive. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are best for quietness and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hostel was lovely clen and big rooms. If you get one of the rooms upstairs you get a balcony and a hammock and they are definatly worth the rickity stairs (even after a solera green or 10)
We specifically stayed with them as they are travel operator! This was the bonus for us and saved us money in the long run! Dont be fooled into going with another tourist agent when the difference is only about £5. As with the below acoount some people did the same when we stayed there and they were pretty much out on their ear with not so much as a bye... We did spend the bit extra and did the Los Lanos "safari" (not like ones Ive been on in the past BUT good all the same) and did canoning (deff not for the faint hearted as instructor spoke no english and we were unable to walk without pain for a week but lunch was included of a yummy pizza). As we had booked these trips with them they gave us 2 nights free so its well worth it as its a great place to stay.
Los Llanos trip was great and Juan was fab. we went pirana fishing!! I loved it but the boys werent as successful as me :-) horse back riding, and finding a anteater were highlights. Great inclusive food!! Espiecally the fried Plantain!! and the BBQs that Juan took us to on the 8 hr trip to and from the Llanos.

Room Tip: IF you are booking here get a room upstairs as they have great views lots of light and your own balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank char-n-rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in november 2010. The posada itself is really nice. Big with good rooms. But the manager Carlos has some mental issues. He was very friendly towards us until he found out that we were going to do some paragliding with another tourist office. Then he just turned stone cold and did not want to talk anymore. The next day he saw us and said that it had been a mix up with our reservation and that we could not stay in our room anymore. When we said that we did the reservation by phone a week erlier and that it was actually him on the phone and there had been no problem then he got angry. He said maybe we could get a smaller room with shared bathroom but we refused. Then he said that "my rooms are for people who do what we offer" meaning that we did the paragliding with another company (that was actually cheaper). At the end he left but told the other person in the reception that if we were not gone by 12 am the next day they should call the police. We just laughed and went back to our room and called another posda. Then the swiss woman who also worked there knocked on our door and said that we could stay. Too late, we did not want this posada to get anymore of our money. We left about 15 min later.

We have heard similar stories like this from other people!

If you do the adventure stuff in Merida with the Guamanchi im sure you will have a good stay. If you do it with someone elese make sure to keep it a secret!! If you dont want to look for another posada... Shame Carlos...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JensHardewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

A large and airy posada with plenty of common areas including 2 kitchens and a TV room. The rooms at the back have beautiful views of the mountains and hammocks from which to enjoy them from. The rooms themselves have comfortable double beds and ensuite bathrooms with hot water.

Trips to Los Llanos and adventure activities such as paragliding can be booked through them too. We did both and had an amazing time at each.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We recently stayed one night in Posada and loved it. However quit basic it has all you need. We had a double room in the very back and it has nice views as well as hammock right in front of your room to enjoy it. The room had its own toilet and shower with hot water and no air conditioning. The last one is not actually necessity to have as the temperatures are not too high due to the high altitude and nearby mountains where he cool breaze comes down to the city.
It´s located next to Plaza Las Heroinas next to Teleforico station. There is a bakery next door for your breakfast arepa de andes (with wheat glour instead of corn), good restaurant (Leo´s) for your dinner across the street and a liquer store just 100 m away by Calle 24.

There are common areas in Posada incl. kitchen and everything is really fresh and clean.
They sell trips and activities and these are very well organized, too.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back as in the front there are also rooms with windows opening to the hallway only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

A hotel that was both beautiful in decor and people! My girlfriend and I arrived after a long trip from Caracas. We arrived by air into the airport of El Vigia and then took a taxi to the hotel, which was 45 minutes away in Merida. Merida was awesome and the hotel was near great places to eat and enjoy the night! We went to a bar around the corner called La Botana and to El Cine, which had some tasty pizzas. Our room was very clean and the décor was perfectly designed. We actually stayed a few days extra than planned, because we felt so comfortable. The staffs were great and recommended some great places for us to visit. The hotel also organizes all of the tours, so you can do all your bookings for downstairs. We went paragliding and canyoning and they picked us up and provided everything for us. I would defiantly visit again.

Room Tip: I enojyed the room all the way on top, which has view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joelarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merida
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Los Guasimitos
Hosteria Los Guasimitos
#3 of 3 in Barinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Posada Guamanchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Guamanchi

Property: Posada Guamanchi
Address: Calle 24, #8-86, Merida, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Andean Region > Merida
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing