We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfortable!”
Review of Posada La Montana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada La Montana
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Highly recommend this place. Its a bit pricier than other options in town. But if youre using the black market rate, its still really cheap.

The rooms are spotless and clean and nice decor. Handmade soap in the bathroom and hot showers. Good wifi (especially from room 12). Free drinking water. Fridge and TV in room. Nice staff. Delicious food in the restaurant attached (but no free breakfast). Central location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is my place for Merida. I stayed at another hostal but this one has it all. The staff speaks English and is very helpful. Price for the room is a joke. They also allowed us to keep our luggage at the hotel when we did a 3 days Los LLanos tour. The rooms are not that big but big enough. It is clean and the shower is nice and hot. There is an restaurant indeed next to the posada but we didnt eat there. It is also a good place to meet people. location is great. walk to the left and you will be at plaza bolivar in 5 minutes and walk right and you will be at plaza heronias in 5 minutes (to take the teleferico). You will find travel agencies, coffee places and restaurants all the way. Merida also feels like a very safe city. There are many bars in town and the athmosphere is nice with many students in town.I guess it says it all that I have been back here twice now where normally I only go to a place once..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We spent a few days here in April and really enjoyed it. Very clean and the rooms are serviced daily. The location is great as the previous reviewer stated. The attached restaurant is pretty good, we really enjoyed the pastas and salads.
The terrace is great place to relax. The mini bar has well priced beer. They also have bottles of free drinking water available. Plenty of TV channels in English.
The only down side was the wireless was not working.
Try and get a room near the back of the Posada, it gets noisy near reception.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The posada is in great location. It is located centrally between the busy downtown and very close to area with restaurants and bars. The parks/plazas Heroinas and Bolivar are just few blocks walking distance. The posada is a two storey building with rooms opening onto an open passageway. My room was double occupancy, smallish but big enough. It had a closet with safe, two single beds, fan, TV, fridge (mini-bar) and a small bathroom with shower and hot water. The only window opened onto an open passageway. My room was clean and cleaned daily. Linen and towels were good quality and clean. There was also a nice common area with nice views of the mountains. The Wi-Fi was strong and reached my room as well. The staff was nice and helpful. On the main floor there was a nice looking restaurant, but I didn’t give it a try. It was not easy to find the place at night as the lights were off. Doors and windows were also shut and locked. It looked like the place was closed. Posada La Montana was the best place I have stayed in Venezuela. I can recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Undoubtedely one of the best places I slept in Venezuela. Rooms are quite small but comfortable and clean. And YES - there is a hot water in shower! What a nice change after 3 nights at Los Llanos. The location of this hotel is also perfect - quite close to the center and with a lot of restaurants and bars in the vicinity this place is really the one to pick when you consider a few days stay in Merida!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snooka76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We have been staying with my friend and husband for 2 nights in a triple room and could not really complain. The only minus is that the room is really tiny, we could hardly fit our backpacks, same with bathroom. They do have hot water, Sat TV, nice patio and great restaurant where you can have Desayno in the morning. Try Criollo with Arepa de Trigo (35 BvF). Receptionist speak so so English and you can exchange Bolivares at front desk at good black market rate. They also offer laundry service. Location is also perfect, just few minutes from both Plaza Bolivar and Plaza Heroinas! Price for triple in low season is 260BvF this year, but keep in mind inflation is more less 30-40% yearly. Overall: recommended!

Room Tip: Shoot for a room on 1st floor, which may have a view on the Andes. Avoid the ones close to patio, pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Very charming hotel. A little gem. Good rooms with hot water, tv, fan, refrigerator and safety box. Rooms are a bit small but very nice. Very friendly staff. Nice common room. Good restaurant (we had lunch). If you walk down the street towards the cablecar you find restaurants, shops for food, good bakery (for breakfast) and a great travel agency (yagrumo) near the square.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBerkhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Posada La Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Montana

Address: Calle 24 no. 6-47, Merida 2004, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Andean Region > Merida
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Merida
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Posada La Montana Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing