We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing”
Review of Margarita Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margarita Village
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Porlamar
São Paulo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I went to this hotel for a 1 week trip during new-year's vacation.
Everything was extremely disappointing:
- Overbooking - hotel was overbooked so we lost all day (January 1st) fighting for an awful room
- cleanliness - found spiders, cockroaches
- staff - unfriendly, unwilling to help
- maintenance - from showers to taps and air-conditioners - everything seemed to be one hundred years old
- No clean towels in room - had to fight with staff for a whole day for 2 towels

There was no phone line on rooms, and even in reception! I needed to do an international cell phone call everytime I needed a taxi.

I don't recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a relaxing trip to the beautiful island of Margarita.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    96
    48
    31
    73
See reviews for
170
54
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This is a 3 star hotel, minus the 2 stars. We arrived early evening after a 4hr delay at Caracas. The Hotel grounds are spacious but VERY dirty!! The 1st room was right next to a huge fan that was VERY noisy. I asked to be moved as our A/C did not work , the fan didn't work and there was no way we could sleep. The next room was better, but no towels, toilet seat broken. Nevermind we mentioned it to the receptionist who took a note but we never got towels until the next day when I went to the laundry myself and took some. We told the maid about the towels and the fact that our hot water tap was broken. Nothing happened, nothing not a single effort was made to fix anything. Personally, the Hotel is too big and the staff have no idea how to run this place properely. Do not waste your time, stay elsewhere!! The place was filthy, plastic cups everywhere from the previous night show. They didn't clean up till breakfast time. The grounds were sticky, the dining area filthy!! I don't think that they ever mop!! Disgusting. It was a disappointment but we loved Margaritas and Coche island!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porlamar hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The overall experience on the island, outside of the hotel was great. The hotel needs a lot to be done. The rooms, in village one, are very spacious. However, the showers do not work very well and the room service is very poor. The location is not bad, apart from the fact that is located next to waste land. The food is very, very poor. It's the same menu nearly every day. Most of the staff is, nevertheless, very friendly but other's cannot be trusted and this can be said from personal experience as my camera got stolen. The hotel did not do much to resolve this problem and did not handle this situation very well. The swimming pool is also extremely dirty - a week after my stay and I still have a severe ear infection from it! I highly discourage staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlejaValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blankenberge, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

it's a good hotel, if you want a cheaper arrangement, not expencive, and i liked the food and not crowdy hotel...
excellent to have some chill out time

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Sven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We picked this resort due to an inflexible travel schedule and the lack of availibility at preferred resorts. We knew this would be an older property. However, upon arrival, we were shocked at the filthiness of our villa! Half hearted attempts by management were made by replacing an AC and microwave, but the room was not clean and looked like it had been that way for years! Four out of 7 days we had restricted water usage, both in the morning and in the evening. Many amenitities were either closed or not fully functioning. We felt like we had to get up early and leave to escape the deplorable conditions and returned as late as possible to the resort to avoid depression. The only positive thing I can say, is the location was good, based on the closeness of restaurants and shopping. I could go into very detailed description on our room condition, but I do not want to relive this experience. Totally disappointed that we invited a family member to join us and very embarrassed that they had to experience this as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penguingrlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

I traveled with friends to Margarita, Island from Valencia, Venezuela. I have to be honest...Margarita was a disappointment. The room was dank and dreary. We used the small stove topand we were unable to turn it off. I called maintenance and they were very blase. After hanging up I had no idea if anyone was coming or not. I went to the front desk and someone came. The dials were all messed up so there was really no way to tell if the burners were off or on.
I guess it's how you look at it. If you have intentions of never being on the property and travelling about the island I guess it would be tolerable. To be honest after the hype I was fed about this island I left quite unsatisfied. After returning to Valencia my guests (Venezuelans) took me to Toucacas via Puerto Cabello. THe trip from Valencia was about 1.5 hours versus the 8 to Puerto LaCruz to catch the 3 hour ferry to Margarita. We rented a boat and went out past the mangroves to Caya Sombrero and then to Los Pescadores (uninhabited islands) where you in effect pick your choice and tell the boat taxi when to retrieve you. IT WAS GLORIOUS!!! Words could not do the scenery proper justice. I have travelled to Bali, Phuket, DRep., and yes Cancun...I have never seen a more pristine or beautiful place. You were essentially on a deserted island. The water breaks far into the distance so this steady roll of water streams by you in about 2 feet of water. Of course, the water gets deeper but the depth of about 2 feet stretches on and on. Safe for children and I just cannot fathom why Venezuela hasn't developed this place. I was told the government doesn't care about tourism only oil.
I had never read about this place any any travelogues or articles...and maybe that's good. It was the most beautiful place I have ever seen. We ate at a restaurant called "EL Timon" in Toucacas the paella can be ordered by the number of guests you have. the service was impeccable. Try the "crema de leche" it's a soft spread for butter that is divine.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewmelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad & Tobago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

Stayed there between March 20th and 24th in the village part of the hotel

Rooms were tiny and not very clean. There were thick layers of dust on the air conditioning unit. The bed sheets were very old and had holes in them.
The “room service” came to “clean” the rooms but hardly ever remembered to bring any new towels. We would always have to go to the front desk (reception) and ask for towels which they sometimes never brought.
There was also no microwave or kettle for warming water for thoes who need to make tea / coffee or for thoes who need to hot water/milk to make cereal for their toddlers or small kids. The hot water in the shower was also unreliable
There was a huge cockroach in our room one night so we had to move to another room that had a door that was rotting and a broken door handle.

Food was ok but they basically served almost the same thing for lunch and dinner every single day: soup, rice, pasta, meat, potatoes and fish. There was also a very limited menu for vegetarians.

Service - Some of the staff were very friendly and others were unfriendly.

Entertainment was ok at nights and all the bartenders were very efficient and friendly but all types of drinks were not available.

Pool facilities: Nice pools but no towels were available.

The hotel itself out-doors was ok and had potential (not the rooms) . If the rooms were renovated and cleaned regularly I guess it would not have been so bad...

Regards,
Shivana
Trinidad

  • Liked — The Bar, and meeting tourists from all over the world
  • Disliked — THE ROOM
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Shivana69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlamar
6.6 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
10.3 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#2 of 8 in Pampatar
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puerta Del Sol Porlamar
Puerta Del Sol Porlamar
#12 of 24 in Porlamar
155 reviews
2.4 mi away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Margarita
9.6 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#16 of 91 in Margarita Island
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita Village

Property: Margarita Village
Address: Avenida Bolivar | a 5 minutos de la playa la Caracola, Porlamar, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Porlamar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Porlamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Margarita Village 3*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Margarita Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita International Hotel Porlamar
Margarita International Porlamar
Margarita International Resort
Margarita Village Margarita Island, Venezuela - Porlamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing