We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
71
25
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
25
8
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Charming Pousada, genuinely solicitous staff, comfortable room, great food served `al fresco´ out front, good packed lunches for the island hopping.

Hire a motorboat for truly getting away from the sometimes crowded beaches (this is relative, it´s never like Ipanema at the weekend!)
Find one of the sandbars with a shack on it to be served the freshest lobster, oysters, & conch you will ever have.
They pull it out of the sea to order.

Snorkel in fish soup, I have never seen such fecundity - avoid the anemones, the sting will be with you for a while.

Air conditioning, sometimes - intermittent power supply!
Terrible, dim lighting (a frequent complaint of mine).
Take a torch.

Watch out for the borrachudos (sand-flies) – even paradise has its faults…

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The place is nice and well situated in the little town of Los Roques. The staff was very nice, but they did not speak a word of english despite the website states they do. Communication had to go through other guest with spanish skills. Dinner was great every day, but the waiter was a little to eager to remove the plates from the table, and before everybody was finished, gave us a sense of that we had to hurry eating. Breakfast was good. Lunchboxes was ok at best. The posada do not serve alcohol for dinner and do not have a bar for drinks and beer. Wine for dinner can be bought elsewhere and taken to the dinner table. Before and after dinner drinks can be bought at the bar next door. Water to toilettes and showers stopped working several times every day and had to be fixed by the staff. If this happend after 22:00, we had to wait unil morning to get it fixed because the posada went dark and quiet after this hour. Rooms was small, but ok clean. No internet. We had a nice stay and can reccomend the posada, but would probably choose another one if visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Digiflopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Posada la Gaviota was a wonderful experience, unforgettable for all of us.
They make us feel at home from the first moment. The feeling of order, cleanliness and service are present in every detail. When we sat on the beach to see the sunset or have dinner under the huge tree at the front, is delicious.
The attendants are very nice, the chef enjoys talking to the guests an shares that home feeling when you see him baking bread or cooking the gourmet menu for the night or the omelets for the breakfasts .
On the beach at the islands the picnic is nice and healthy. the boats are punctual and clean,
We traveled with my mother who is 84 years old and she also had a perfect experience
We definitely recommend this Posada

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naranjitaCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I went to Los Roques with my sister on February 2011 and we had a great time at Posada La Gaviota!
Clean, organized and with a very attentive staff, always ready to help with anything you need.
Food was fantastic every day, with perfect packed lunches and three course dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandersonSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My partner and I had an excellent stay at La Gaviota. The staff was very warm, attentive and relaxed. Nothing was too much to ask and they organized all of our activities and equipment rentals. The food at the posada is wonderful: three course dinners, hot and cold breakfast buffet, and the packed lunches were perfect for eating on the beach. They supplied coolers, ice and drinks for the day. Eating an elegant dinner while your toes are in the sand is wonderful.

It is clear that the owners have an eye for details as every inch of the posada is polished and coordinated to create a lovely atmosphere. The rooms and bathrooms are especially well thought out.

One recommendation is to bring bug repellant and sun screen as the sand is so white you get burned from the reflection.

They did require that I pay 100% of the hotel bill upfront before I got on the plane and this is strange for western travelers. I can assure you that this is a trustworthy operation and you will not have problems.

Overall the posada gets two thumbs up and when I got back to Los Roques I will stay at La Gaviota for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomhatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews