We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice posada”
Review of Posada Acuarela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Roques National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Acuarela
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice posada”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the posada for our 1 year anniversary. Mimo is in charge of the operation of the posada and is also the head chef.

The food was fantastic (gourmet), the service was attentive and friendly, the rooms were simple, yet comfortable. Keep in mind the island's power comes from a huge diesel generator so power outages are the norm. Each posada has its own generator so that was not a big problem. Also, there is no hot water but since the tank is on the roof, if you take your afternoon shower early, it will be warm enough.

The only complaint is that the food they pack you for your beach day is not very good. Sandwiches are somewhat dry but tolerable.

Mimo arranged a private boat for us to go see the turtles and the starfish and have a bit more of a private beach. Our boat captain was Fuji (Juan Carlos) and he was awesome. While Mimo marked up the boat trip by Bs 200 it was definitely worth it. If you speak Spanish, you will be able to get a slightly better deal by getting the boat yourself somewhere in the town.

Keep in mind that Los Roques attracts a lot of bone fishing enthusiasts. They are nice and friendly but can't stop but talking about fly fishing and bone fishing.

Last but not least, keep in mind you are traveling to a 3rd world country. You are not going to a resort with calypso music and pina coladas, and all the amenities. People move slower, take the time, and go with the flow as the sense of urgency will be exponentially lower than what you are accustomed to. Lower your expectations and don't be overly picky or you will be disappointed no matter where you stay in Los Roques or anywhere in the 3rd world.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all the rooms have air conditioning so make sure and you check before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filisimitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    15
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
46
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed over a week at Aquarela, had a great time and met fantastic people

Pros
Very relaxed atmosphere
Rooms are diverse. We were told they could be small, did not look small to us
Attention is outstanding
Food is superb: no way one can be disapointed
Mimo is a wonderful chef, provides good advise and takes care of everything
Angelo - owner - stays behind, attentive to details
Victoria is as efficient and responsive, to make sure you eat well and feel great
Tomas is a careful boat driver
Dino (dog) is fun!

Cons
If your sleep is light then the few rooms on the front, facing to the street, can be noisy on Fridays and Saturdays

Tips
Maybe it was just luck, but we enjoyed a wonderful Piano session in the afternoon, when no guests were around

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Acuarela earlier this week after extending our stay in Los Roques by a day and moving from the rubbish LTA posada (will review elsewhere). We had wandered past the posada one night and walked in to have quick look around and ask if they had any room. We were in luck and were treated to a wonderful night and day and very well looked after by Mimo, angelo and their staff. The posada itself is beautifully designed - open, airy, tastefully decorated and with a lovely rooftop terrace. The room was nice, with both a fan and air-conditioning and the bathroom was a good size with a nice shower. There were some nice touches in the room including an electronic mosquito repeller with replacement cartridges. The posada has wifi which we were able to use whilst sitting on the verandah having a few sundowners (red wine and rum and coke seemed to be on the house). The dinner in the evening was a four course affair and was sensational, making great use of fresh seafood (ceviche, lobster pasta and lovely red snapper with veggies), the wine flowed and of course the coffee was good (this posada being run by Italians!). The breakfast the next morning was great with fresh croissants and a Venezuelan cooked breakfast to order. We headed off on a boat with a cool box full of beers, water and a packed lunch which was ok - the only slight downer about the whole experience was the rather dry sandwich! All in all this was a magnificent place to stay and I'm just gutted we didn't have longer there. Check out the nearby bar Bora La Mar which has prime position for a sundowner - their pina coladas were amazing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phoenixtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We chose this Inn due to recommendations by two different friends, both with high standards. It ended up being a wonderful long weekend for our group of 9 (including one 8-year-old child).

The staff was friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us, including a few special requests (gluten-free food, picky eater, child accommodations). Mimo, the manager/chef, was extremely personable, competent, and efficient. He arranged to have boats for our special requests for the keys we specifically wanted to see, along with the daily coolers they sent along with us full of sandwiches, salads, fruit, cookies, and beverages (including beer). They also had other alcohol available for us for an extra charge.

We returned daily to find one of the staff playing Bach pieces flawlessly on the piano in the lobby--nice music to shower to :) The four course dinners were amazing, and the rooms were comfortable (they have back-up generators for the frequent island-wide power outages), so the air conditioner and lights were always available.

Recommendations: bring your own bug spray and LOTS of waterproof sunscreen. Also, be prepared with cash, as they do not have a credit card machine, and the ATMs are spotty. We highly recommend this posada to anyone looking for an all-inclusive comfortable place to stay in Los Roques.

Room Tip: talk directly to the posada for any special requests ahead of time, if you go in a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexrengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I spent a week at Posado Acurela with the primary intention bonefishing and scuba diving. Stayed here at the recommendation of an outfitter. Everything was wonderful. The room was clean, air conditioned, quiet and dark. The bed was comfy and the decor charming. The staff were all wonderful- from housecleaning to the chefs, the servers -couldn't have asked for better. Never forget Mimo, Leo, Victoria to name a few. The Posado has tons of original artwork by the owner Angelo- which gives it an eclectic, modern and original vibe. Location is great. I have no negative comments at all and would highly recommend staying here. The best part may be the food-breakfast is as you want it and when you want it- The dinners are spectacular-Italian influenced, the freshest seafood-every night was an culinary experience! Three course meals with a choice for the first two courses. Wouldn't give it a second thought about choosing this posada.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodbyeDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The service on Acuarela was top notch. Everybody working there is really nice and helpful. My wife got sick on the third night and they helped us with medicine.
The room is ok. I have to say I found three live cockroaches which got me worried during the following days. Only COLD water in the showers (but I guess most of the posadas are the same).
Food is pretensious but not that great. I mean, we ate well and everything but they make it look like it's a fancy restaurante with fancy food but it's definitely not.
Remember that Los Roques is NOT a place with luxury resorts. Every Posada is SIMPLE. Do not expect more than that!
That said, It's one the best places we've ever been!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepinheiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

PROS
-the beaches are very serene and relaxing. the water is a clear,turquoise color with soft, white sand resembling a travel magazine (this is available through ANY posada).
-the islands are extremely quite and relaxing with hardly any other visitors, the mainland resembles a pueblecito (also available through ANY posada).
-the dinner was luxurious and exquisite although the menu was limited.
-the nature scene is eminent throughout the island; there is was a tree in our own bathroom, we found a starfish in waters..
-the style of the posada is pretty though, with hammocks on the roof
CONS
-Getting to the beaches was a huge hassle; to actually get to one of the beaches you had to wait for the posada's taxi boat to drop you off at one of them. The time at which the boat comes varies on how many guests there are. We wanted to snorkle on the first day and they dropped us off at the beach were there was nothing to see, on the second day, however, we were dropped off at a different island were snorkling would have been ideal. they did not assist us with which island was more practical for snorkling...futhermore, they simply drop you off at an isolated island and say they'll pick you up at 5, what if you need to go back? oh and absolutely NO restrooms on the islands!
-all the food/beverages are "included", however, they pretty much just drop you off at the island for the day with an ice chest with a mere two beers and a little bit of spaghetti to hold you up from 10am-5pm. I did go up to kitchen for your typical vacation drink, pina colada, but nope!
- the owner seemed unknowledgeable and unable to answer any of our questions regarding what the island has to offer.
-no tv or acess to the digital world (although other posadas provide this)

i'd recommend to go down for the day or just stay at a different posada.
also, if you're not a big fan of the whole relaxing, isolated atmosphere, i'd recommend going to Margarita Island.
It is closer to Venezuela, yet a cheaper cost with various of different activities ranging from a theme park to a shopping center and the same beautiful Venezuelan beaches :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mercedesandreina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Roques National Park
0.0 mi away
Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coche Paradise
Hotel Coche Paradise
#1 of 2 in Coche Island
589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Caracol
Villa Caracol
#6 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada Bequeve
Posada Bequeve
#3 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Va Pensiero
Posada Va Pensiero
#5 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Acuario
Posada Acuario
#15 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Acuarela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Acuarela

Property: Posada Acuarela
Address: Calle Las Flores 87, Los Roques National Park 0401, Venezuela (Formerly Posada Acuarela)
Region: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Los Roques National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Acuarela 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Posada Acuarela Hotel Los Roques National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing