We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in!”
Review of The Hotel Caracas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Caracas
Ranked #63 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I had a second floor roof for approximately a week, this was after staying in the Eurobuilding hotel for approximately two months.
The room was adjacent to a car park, with obligatory car alarm going off on the hour every hour.
The room was also adjacent to the emergency generator which regularly started due to the numerous power cuts.
Air conditioning not a problem as the room did not appear to have any.
Room safe like most other things did not work.
TV remote as above did not function.
No business centre or any facilities to print a flight itinerary I had to utilise the local Marriott hotel.
To be avoided if possible.

Room Tip: Find an alternative hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoesLincolnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    23
    27
    24
See reviews for
8
35
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Nice rooms - obviously couple oriented. Jacuzzi great! Rooms are different than usual, bathroom and room are separeted by glass. Service ok. Vallet parking extremely slow. A little noisy: you could hear the conversation of the other room. Overall expensive for what we received. The worse part: the "buffet" breakfast: after the good was gone in the buffet, it was really gone. They would not put more food back!!! The one that was available was awfull: dry and hard empanadas and arepas, cold scrambled eggs, the worst juice you will ever drink and they charge you 150vef for each. When I told the owner what I thought, she got angry. Will not recommend or go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgadcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Hotel is always a nice alternative to the more expensive Marriot and Eurobuildings. Fine enough to meet business partners but like so often in South America the service level is not comparable to the international chains.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Very poor service. Breakfast horrible. Not good. Items not fresh. I will not repeat. Waiters not clean during the breakfast service. Breakfast opened 12 miutes late. Items were not prepared for the opening.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October 2012, and the experience left me wishing for a better review about this particular hotel, it lacks everything for what it does charge, they did charge me one extra day and when I stated the same in the presence of the Front Desk Supervisor I was told no I was not overcharged and yet when I got back home and went over all charged and paid, was supreised indeed to confirm that they had indeed collected one extra night.

For starters I had prepaid 5 nights and when I checked in was sent to their worst rooms at the mezanine level or so they called it, floors all filthy, shower all full of gunk, and stained with God knows what....I called front desk and as stated as a favor they sent me to a floor on the 1st level....Terrible indeed, then there was the restaurant, which was not even billed through front desk either, and from comments they could not disagree more.....Then there was the issue of the owner of the restaurant charging two separate entrees for one served just becuase it was improvised so I paid two plates for one ordered to compensate.

In all a terrible experience and the only good thing about the whole experience was the fact that the hotel is smack in the center of main offices for International companies in Caracas.

Room Tip: I would not dare recommend after my experince there....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I was worried when my company put me here after seeing such demonizing reviews but after 10 days as a guest here is the balance score card:

ROOM

spacious and shower has good pressure, dcoration also acceptable, kinky mirror placement but this used to be a vertical motel before so there... Also, not enough closet space or even drawes for that matter.

TV is old so must change it but lots of channels there, freege is filled.

Wifi works fine but bring your soap and shampoo, this one is crappy.

SERVICE

All service in Caracas is questionable and here is no different but I found out this week they respond better with tips ($) Who knew!! Think NY without tips and see how nice you will be treated. Same here but Here 10 bolivars will go far.

Room service is Ok and also breakfast but you get expresos for no extra charge.

A big "-" is that on Sat and Sunday, the room service is flaky or non existent.


LOCATION

La rosal is in Chacao, best and safest county in VNZ so that is a plus. The Cafe Gourmt down 300 feet is awesome and worth checking out anytIme of the day or evening. Parque del leste is 3Km away soa taxi should cost about $5 or 35 minutes warmup walk, opens at 5:30 am so go run there.

Room Tip: Roms ending with 8 are best b/c they are away from the noise in the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Hotel structure is very poor.
- Phone lines and internet NEVER working well.
- Didnot received my phone messages left with front desk people.
- After the first night, I had to change the room: the floor was dirty, long hairs inside the towels ( should be new towels) and too much noise ..
- Breakfast poor and the waiters use to take too long to replace the foods.Long time waiting!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank DINAGAZOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caracas hotels
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#14 of 86 in Caracas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Sabana Grande
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
#26 of 86 in Caracas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Altamira
Hotel Continental Altamira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Castellana
Hotel The VIP Caracas
Hotel The VIP Caracas
#15 of 86 in Caracas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Caracas

Property: The Hotel Caracas
Address: Calle Mohedano, Urbanizacion el Rosal | Chacao, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Rosal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Caracas 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the first boutique hotel in Caracas, we have an excellent location in the financial area, we service restaurant and we have one of the best chef in Caracas to provide the best for your senses Grastronoma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing