We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find a better hotel in Caracas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Find a better hotel in Caracas”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice (1 night and 2 nights) during my transfers in/around the country for business. The hotel clearly had seen much better days in the past however they are long gone. It did not look like it was maintained or even cleaned at all for the past few years. It might be OK for a "no star" hotel but it is not acceptable for a hotel with 4(?) stars. There is a constant odor (humidity/rust/smoke/other) in the rooms. A/C makes a lot of sound but it does not do anything other than propagating this odor. You can see cut-out ceiling pieces in the hallways probably to fix some piping but left open/forgotten. On a bright side, the pool is good. It does not look very well kept but the water is clean. It is quite big and is a signature of the better times in the past. The grill restaurant is OK, but over priced. The breakfast buffet looks rich but the food is not tasty or high quality as it could be. If you drink tap water, there is a strange taste indicating rust or other contamination but I did not get sick. The hotel is safe which is important in Caracas. The staff is helpful in general but I was denied to check in to the hotel at 2:40 pm since the check-in time was 3:00 pm! This never happened to me before in all my travels around the world. In short, I believe you can find a much better place for all the money you will pay at this hotel which needs major (I mean a "major") renovation. [Note for the hotel staff: please do not write a response to this review apologizing for the shortcomings and trying to fix it electronically. Instead fix your property and services. Thanks!]

Room Tip: Prefer a higher floor with poolside view. It looked like there was some work done at lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassit303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear "Bassit303"

Thank you for your comments about your stay in our Hotel. We must offer you a apology even when you do not want it, because we accepted that need to improve, and step by step the changes it will be doing. Hope you reconsidered stay hear again to let us know the new experience.

Best regards,

Beatriz Vergara
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    108
    77
    74
    79
See reviews for
53
71
38
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the InterContinental for 2 months. The staff are friendly, caring and are always trying to make the gueat feel special. The rooms are clean and have good space. Room service is awesome and they deliver on time. The restaurants are good, specially the Pizza's at "La Cabaña". When I had some free time I ask the reception for help and the concierge organized everything! I was very impressed. Overall, its a great hotel, with great staff and great atmosphere. If i have to travel back, I will be staying at thw hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear "Daniel R"

Thank you so much for your review about the experience in our Hotel. I am very glad to know that your stay was good. We hope to see you soon in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Beatriz Vergara
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I went to InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas for one-week business trip. In the first day it was clear It was not going to be a pleasant stay: a long queue in the reception, the room had a bad smell of smoke, there were no hot water in the shower and the WiFi was not working. These problems occurred some more times during the week.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear "lebarion"

I offer you a sincere apology for the inconvenience. I recognize that we have some difficults now, but I guarantee that I will take care of this case to improve the service and give you all the experience that you look in a Hotel.

I hope you give another chance to prove that we can offer you a good experience.

Best regards,

Beatriz Vergara Pérez
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caracas hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel may have had its hey day a while back, but it isn't keeping up with what is really required for the star rating they are claiming and the price they are charging. The rooms are outdated and I had to change rooms as the first one I was assigned smelled really foul. It kind of has an eerie, empty feel to it. The location on the busy street made it a bit difficult to get around nearby restaurants and shopping by foot. Most staff were positive and helpful. The building just isn't all that welcoming. Free wifi was a positive!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear "Jessica C"

Thank you for take a few minutes to let us know about your experience. I offer you a sincere apology and I take care to let the rest to the personal know about it. We are in process to refresh the areas in our Hotel to give to all of our guests the best experience.

Kind regards,

Beatriz Vergara Pérez
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I'll give them 4 out of 5, since they have done a very good effort to improve since my last stay, where if available I would give them -10!
They were kind enough to provide me with a real upgrade, which essentially was in good conditions; but really if they are going to improve they need to do the whole improvement and not just part of it.

For a suite (nice upgrade) I think they are missing a couple of essential things:
1. Mirrors! they only have one mirror inside the bathroom, and is on top of the sink and for so, you can't see yourself completely... they have enough space to put more mirrors, even behind the doors.
2. Bathroom ceiling: it has a terrible look, seemed they had a nice idea to put these type of false ceiling glass, but none fits correctly, so all seems crooked and with cracks that let you see the insides.
3. A suite without drinking glasses? yes, well they only had the ones they put for the bathroom, so when you get a drink out of the mini bar there is nothing that you can use to serve it.

On the good part, the room was CLEAN, that one is for me the most important feature, all seemed to work correctly, and again the staff is very good, food is also very good and pricing is correct if compared to most of the Caracas.

Keep improving, the effort is notable!

Thank you.

Room Tip: This trip I was offered a suite, so if you can get a suite, do it since are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear "rertze"

Thank you so much for take a few minutes of your time to give us the review of your new experience with us. I really appreciate that yo recognize our effort to improve every day to give you the best service that you deserve.

In name of all the staff, I recognize that we need to continue the improvement, and we are really committed in do it. The project going little by little but with all the effort.

Thank you again for your sincere words.

Best regards,

Beatriz Vergara Pérez
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

When looking at the reviews, I really didnt know what to expect, but once I arrived everything changed. I stayed on the 6th floor. The room was big, clean and didnt look old. The food quality was fantastic, tipical latin tasty food! The staff is very friendly and are always trying to help you. The only problem was that the front desk was always busy and could use some extra hands to help. Apart from that, my time at the hotel was good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Daniel R.

Thank you for share your experience. I am very glad to know that you enjoy the stay in our Hotel. Every day we work to improve in provide you the best service for that all of you feel like your home.

Thank you again for your review. Hope to see you soon back at our Hotel.

Beatriz Vergara
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I recently went on a business trip to Caracas. For some unknown reason every single hotel was fully booked and the only choice I found was this one.

USD 350 per night at one of the worst rooms I have seen in my entire life. Even a small country side motel in Georgia beats this hotel in a second.

Guys from Intercontinental: Do you have any idea of what's going on in Caracas? It's shocking that you still have your brand affiliated to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Denise.

Thank you for take a few minutes to share your experience in our Hotel. I offer you a sincere apology for can not offer you the service that you deserves. We recognize that, actually, we have some problems but I guarantee you that we are working hard to improve every day. We hope to see you soon back to let us show you that.

Kind regards,

Beatriz Vergara
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caracas hotels
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#5 of 86 in Caracas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas

Property: InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas
Address: Av. Ppal. de Las Mercedes | PO Box 467, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Region: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas is a tropical oasis in the heart of one of the city s most prestigious shopping, entertainment and business districts. The majestic Avila Mountain is accessible by cable car, and attractions such as the historic town of Hatillo, the Museum of Fine Arts and the San Ignacio Commercial Centre are an easy drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tamanaco Caracas Hotel Caracas
Intercontinental Caracas
Caracas Tamanaco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing