We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing changed in 15 years” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Caracas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Nothing changed in 15 years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed almost in all Meliá hotels in the world and at this Gran Meliá about 15 years ago. I remember this was the poshest and most expensive hotel in the city.
When I arrived on my last stay, I remembered it as it once was, but the bliss was gone. We are all changing and our travel needs too, but it seems the time stopped here and nothing has been refurbished and modernised ever since in accordance with today's standards.
Regular staff, same style rooms as always, same pool and regular food.
The prices are rediculously high and the currency exchange is terrible.
Overrated, overpriced, over...in a crazy city.
Not 5* at all!
Would not return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, please accept our gratitude for your having taken the time to air your comments and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your observations concerning our service.

I regret very much that we did not impress you with some of our services. I assure you, that the managers of the various departments involved have been informed of the particular observations, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Once more, thank you for your valuable comments. I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again here at our Gran Meliá Caracas..

We cannot wait to hosting you in the near future,

Sincerely yours,

Joaquín Domínguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    272
    147
    83
    54
See reviews for
151
201
68
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Carabobo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Gran Melia is a luxury hotel in center of Caracas the rate is very hight but this is a constant rule in Venezuela.
The attention isn't at the level that the hotel wanna be, a lot of dettail are missing or isn't take the appropriate attention needed at this level.
Breakfast is good but not exelent like the dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Massimo,

Agradecemos su preferencia al elegirnos para su estancia y haber tomado parte de su valioso tiempo para darnos a conocer sobre su experiencia.

Lamento si alguno de nuestros servicios no estuvieron a la altura de sus expectativas. Le garantizo que todas sus observaciones han sido transmitidas a los departamentos correspondientes para que se tomen las medidas de lugar.

Esperamos seguir contando con su fidelidad como cliente y tener la oportunidad de recibirle una vez más para cambiar su percepción sobre nuestros servicios.

Saludos cordiales

Joaquin Dominguez
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We just had another great stay at Gran Melia Caracas Red level.
The staff are always very friendly and ensure we are well looked after.
The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the happy hour and breakfast had lots of variety. The room service was perfect.
The hotel is right next to a large shopping mall which has a theatre.
We wouldn't stay any other place when visiting Caracas. Gran Melia Caracas is #1 with us.

Room Tip: Book and stay with the Red level Service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dwyrwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your preference and for letting us know about your recent experience.

I feel proud to learn that our staff participated in making your stay a great one.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We await you soon at your second home, Gran Meliá Caracas.

Sincerely yours,

Joaquín Domíguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Last weekend, I was staying in this hotel which I tried to enjoy with my wife. The hotel register was a unskilled person. Every single thing that I asked her about the room and service, she had to call her supervisor and ask how to do it. Also, there were three of those persons and just one of them was taking care of the guests. at night when I was just about to ask why the shower was not working at all, another rude gentleman in the reception skipped me off to attend a "pilot." I WAS SHOCKED. How somebody can do something like that in a "5 star hotel" ???? I leave the reception mad with this kind of service that i was receiving. I stayed two night there, but in different rooms. one much better than the other. I felt steal due to the highest price of everything. From an average room and service to the most expensive water I have bought in my life. The cost of the water was about 90 bsf and in front of the hotel i bought the same water with 15 bsf. They are charging 5 time the normal price. The same with the food (buffet extra expensive) , gym, wifi, spa, Jacuzzi, and taxis. I think a hotel should be a place where you can relax and enjoy in a right way. A place where the guest should be more confutable than his own house. I was feeling extraordinary discriminated by the all the workers. The food was very good, but just because it was already in the weekend packet, but if you go in a week day, the price is overstatement.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Juan,

Please accept our gratitude for your having taken the time to air your comments and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the observations concerning the service you have received from our Staff.

I regret very much that we did not impress you with some of our services. I assure you, that the managers of the various departments involved have been informed of the particular observations, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Once more, thank you for your valuable comments. I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again here at our Gran Meliá Caracas.

Sincerely yours,

Joaquin Dominguez
General Manager
calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This 5* hotel offers services and quality like a 3 star hotel. We suffered lack of efficiency of the staff (that cannot speak a fluent english!): broken safe and room lights, no daily change of linen and towels, no bar/beverage in the room, etc. We complaint with the hotel manager with no adeguate feedback. Never again in this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Marzamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to extend you our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

I am sorry that your experience was not what you expected. I assure you that the managers of the various departments involved have been informed of your particular observations and that appropiate measures will be taken wherever possible.

I hope the situations described do not deter you from visiting our Hotel on a future stay.

Regards,


Joaquín Dominguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

My stay here in November was very good. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Breakfast buffet is spectacular. The extra amenities with red reservation well worth the $. Location to Central district very convenient. Next to mall as well as local shopping.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ADAM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Mr. Adam, plese receive a cordial greeting from Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel.

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel as the place to stay.

We really appreciate all the good aspects you have mentioned. We actually feel so proud to know that you found some of our services amazing.

Sincerely yours,

Joaquin Dominguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashhad, Khorasan, Iran
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

i stayed in gran melia hotel in 2012 . breakfast is very very good best breakfast that i seen in Venezuela hotels . nice pool with nice view. the rooms are clean and comfort. services are very good and fast . but some of staffs don't know English just receptions staffs knows english . the location of hotel is in city center but it's not very safe . beside the hotel is a big market but i suggest you that not go out of hotel after 10 pm because it will be very dangerous for tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our Gran Meliá Caracas as the place to stay in the city.

It is truly a pleasure for me to hear that you had a memorable stay with us due to the effort and dedication demonstrated by our staff. We are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal-the total satisfactions of our guests. You may rest assured that I will gladly transmit your comments to the corresponding.

We cannot wait to hosting you in the near future,

Best regards,

Joaquín Dominguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caracas hotels
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#13 of 86 in Caracas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#5 of 86 in Caracas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Caracas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Caracas Hotel

Property: Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Address: Ave Casanova, Urb. Bellomonte, Caracas 1050, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Region: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Recreo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#5 Family Hotel in Caracas
#7 Best Value Hotel in Caracas
#8 Business Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Melia Caracas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Melia Caracas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Caracas
Caracas Gran Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing