We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY HOME IN CARACAS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Due to business needs I go continuously to Caracas and this is my home in this nice city. The Melia is a big hotel with victorian luxury and even if a lot of maintenance is needed, is still opulent, and together with "El Recreo Shopping Mall" and the apartment's tower is a complete and functional commerce unit. Even if outside is not recommended for walking alone at night, I strongly recommend this hotel for business travelers.
Enjoy the breakfast and also the lunch and dinner buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for business level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Jorge,


First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Gran Meliá Caracas.

We are glad to know our service fitted your expectations in every way, with the variety offered at our specialty restaurants, bars and warm service.

Your recognition will be transmitted to our staff in order to motivate them and continue providing an outstanding service to our dear guests.

We appreciate your words, and please honor us with your presence in a future stay.


Joaquín Dominguez
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed three days at Gran Melia during my stay at Venezuela last week.

I like their service, the hotel interior and food. I stayed in room number 903. So the I could see a nice view of hills and high way from my room. I hadn't had much communication problems when I was in Gran Melia. There were English speaking people.

If you are a international traveler it is important for you to have local currency before you make the payments to the hotel. Because when you are paying in US Dollars the rate is nearly ten times higher than the local rate. As a example I bought a soup (menu number 22) cost around 300 Bolivarian Dollars. But since I paid in US dollars I had to pay US $ 30 nearly 2040 Bolivarian Dollars. That was awful.

My room was clean, tidy and spacious. I much liked the peacefulness within the room, the lighting, paintings and old interior designing.

The food was really good. In the buffet meal i had enough choices. We have option of having meals at room. That doesn't cost much. But once I have ordered a soup and received a club sandwich. But with in few minutes they have corrected the order. Thank god I was so hungry and tired after 48 hours of long flight journey.

Didn't much liked the pool. The place wasn't so relaxing. I think they should renovate that area. But other areas of the hotel was quite good.

Overall experience was quite good.

Thanks

Room Tip: Choose a upper floor. Otherwise view is covered by nearby buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chulani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for selecting Gran Meliá Caracas as your Hotel in Caracas and for taking the time to describe and specify the areas that you enjoyed the most.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the food quality and variety in our restaurants,

Thank you for letting us know your observations about our service, all your comments have been taken very seriously, and we have passed your observations to the departments involved in every part of your feedback, in order to verify our processes and take the proper measures.

It would be a pleasure for us if you come back to live again the Gran Meliá Caracas experience.

Best regards,

Joaquin Dominguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very posh and flashy, which made me feel a bit awkward with all the poverty you see in Caracas. On the other hand, excellent service, makes you feel at home and safe, as a woman travelling alone that is important.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilsealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for visit Gran Meliá Caracas. We are glad to read your expectations were fully covered with the service provided.

Please be sure we will keep our high quality standards to guarantee the attentive and caring service provided by our staff. It is crucial for us to create unforgettable memories from every moment during your stay.

Receive warm regards from Venezuela,

Joaquín Domínguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I just got back from spending a week at the Gran Melià Caracas. It is a beautiful hotel but what made the stay a great experience was the staff. The food was outstanding! Starting for the most extensive breakfast Buffett we've experienced. I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking at the 5 star hotels in Caracas, although I haven`t stayed at others I can certainly say you won't be disappointed if you choose this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Miguel,

I would like to express my gratitude for having chosen our Gran Meliá Caracas as the place to stay in Caracas.

It is a pleasure for me to hear that your experience left a memorable impression on you. At the Gran Meliá Caracas we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for me to learn that we have achieved our goal.

Once more, thanks for your valuable comments and I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in the nearest future at this your second home, Gran Meliá Caracas.


Sincerely yours,

Joaquín Domínguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night only, The room was clean and confortable, specially the bed. The hotel looks elegant but it is too old and it is probably over rated. I had lunch in the Merendero Restaurant on Level 3. It was quite good, also I had breakfast the next morning and it was also very good and varied, but it was too crowded.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Luis,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel as the place to stay.

We really appreciate all the good aspects you have mentioned. We actually feel so proud to know that you found some of our services amazing.

In the other hand, we really apologize to have not reached your expectations in some of our services. We have take in consideration all the negative aspects mentioned in order to improve our product.

Once more thank you for your valuable comments and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and be able to reach all your expectations by far.

Sincerely yours,

Joaquin Dominguez
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed almost in all Meliá hotels in the world and at this Gran Meliá about 15 years ago. I remember this was the poshest and most expensive hotel in the city.
When I arrived on my last stay, I remembered it as it once was, but the bliss was gone. We are all changing and our travel needs too, but it seems the time stopped here and nothing has been refurbished and modernised ever since in accordance with today's standards.
Regular staff, same style rooms as always, same pool and regular food.
The prices are rediculously high and the currency exchange is terrible.
Overrated, overpriced, over...in a crazy city.
Not 5* at all!
Would not return!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, please accept our gratitude for your having taken the time to air your comments and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your observations concerning our service.

I regret very much that we did not impress you with some of our services. I assure you, that the managers of the various departments involved have been informed of the particular observations, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Once more, thank you for your valuable comments. I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again here at our Gran Meliá Caracas..

We cannot wait to hosting you in the near future,

Sincerely yours,

Joaquín Domínguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Gran Melia is a luxury hotel in center of Caracas the rate is very hight but this is a constant rule in Venezuela.
The attention isn't at the level that the hotel wanna be, a lot of dettail are missing or isn't take the appropriate attention needed at this level.
Breakfast is good but not exelent like the dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin D, Director General at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Massimo,

Agradecemos su preferencia al elegirnos para su estancia y haber tomado parte de su valioso tiempo para darnos a conocer sobre su experiencia.

Lamento si alguno de nuestros servicios no estuvieron a la altura de sus expectativas. Le garantizo que todas sus observaciones han sido transmitidas a los departamentos correspondientes para que se tomen las medidas de lugar.

Esperamos seguir contando con su fidelidad como cliente y tener la oportunidad de recibirle una vez más para cambiar su percepción sobre nuestros servicios.

Saludos cordiales

Joaquin Dominguez
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caracas
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#15 of 86 in Caracas
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#7 of 86 in Caracas
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Caracas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Caracas Hotel

Address: Ave Casanova, Urb. Bellomonte, Caracas 1050, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Region: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Recreo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#5 Family Hotel in Caracas
#7 Best Value Hotel in Caracas
#8 Business Hotel in Caracas
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Melia Caracas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Gran Melia Caracas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Caracas
Caracas Gran Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing