We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've been to worse hotels than that”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas
Ranked #59 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel, formerly a Hilton, has seen better days. It looks like it hasn't been renovated since the 70's and the outside windows haven't been washed ... in a while, making the view of Caracas a bit blurry. On the plus side of the ledger, my room on the "Executive" floor was reasonably clean. There was a safe deposit box which did not work and wi-fi which worked somewhat - meaning slow.

The elevators were a bit concerning - one person from our group was caught in an elevator which kept going up and down as if possessed by demons, for several minutes, until it stopped and let the victim out. Not fun.

Generally speaking maintenance does not seem a priority at this hotel, neither is service at the several restaurants upon the property. There are many waiters milling around, but not much service going on. On a positive note, the food was OK and I didn't catch diarrhea which is an accomplishment in this part of the world. There is an outdoor pool which looks nice which I haven't tried, and a nightclub of sorts where a bunch of people were sitting around looking bored looking at their cell phones. Maybe things pick up as the night progresses.

Overall, if the price is right and you are not too picky then why not.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vladchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is NOT a five stars hotel. It is dark, old, bad service, and insecure. During my stay, my family and i watched a robbery in front of the hotel, and security personal stayed like nothing happened. I'll never go back to this hotel and i hope lot of travelers read this review. And breakfast the worst i ever ate before

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Certainly no 5 star resort but my family and were impressed with this 1970s style hotel. The staff were helpful, professional and friendly and the service excellent. The location is fantastic - possibly the safest place in Caracas. Located right across from an excellent theatre and charming little bars and restaurants in the theatre complex. The food in the hotel's main restaurant was excellent. The Venetur (state travel agency) office is located in the main lobby and offers great deals and friendly service. The white VenTrasTur Taxis owned by Venetur offer the best price and best/safest service. But if traveling to and from the airport use the government bus service from the front of the hotel/front of the Domestic Terminal (SITSSA).- it is practically free. All in all good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

alba is a goverment owned hotel, which did not have a good image if looking the Tripadvisor evaluations
But it was better than we thougt and waited - better than the evaluations were
we have been over in 40 countries so believe us or not, but Alba has
-good position in Caracas
-near is underground station
-great park on the other side of the street . Good place foe morning walk or run.
-concert hall within 100 meters of the hotel
-shoppingcenter near Underground-station
-metrolines were easy to use - money louding tickets to use it
-if you take an executive room, you have a private lounge with breakfest,Emails and afternoon coffee with caces ( all free)
hotel-service is OK, if not just demand it, so the forest answers as you want it to do
and look, if you come by airplane, use at the airport official black taxis, the private taxis could be dangerous

Room Tip: take evecutive room - you can get upstair room and if possible take a room from parkside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EERO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

After I heard this used to be a Hilton hotel I was looking forward to my stay here but I was disappointed by the old furniture, stained carpets and bedspread, and dim rooms. However, the service at reception (in English) was very good and breakfast and the pool were nice as well. Still I will probably not return to Alba on my next trip to Caracas... I think there are better hotels for 800bs a night.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisy21988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Was formally a Hilton, but is now a government hotel. Great lobby, stayed on 12 floor- Double room, B&B basis. Would recommend. If you are coming from the airport get the shuttle bus which is only 10BS.
PROS
Amazing service, each floor has 3 free wireless networks, cable TV, great location, good breakfast, great value room service.
CONS- none :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank syrenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

The hotel provides a good sleep, a beautiful lobby, assistance in English if you need it, and a delicious free buffet breakfast which includes both Venezuelan and U.S. dishes. The staff is helpful and the location is good for anything you want to do in Caracas.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mo2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caracas hotels
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#17 of 86 in Caracas
150 reviews
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
La Candelaria
Hotel Waldorf
Hotel Waldorf
#25 of 86 in Caracas
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sabana Grande
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
#19 of 86 in Caracas
123 reviews
Las Quince Letras Hotel
#47 of 86 in Caracas
61 reviews
Hotel CCT
#49 of 86 in Caracas
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas

Address: Av. Sur 25 | El Conde, Caracas 1010, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range: £25 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas 4*
Number of rooms: 738
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Caracas
Caracas Hilton International
Hotel Alba Caracas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing