We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'VE STAYED IN HOSTALS FOR A FRACTION OF THE PRICE AND WAY BETTER THAN THIS DUMP.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caracas Cumberland
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“I'VE STAYED IN HOSTALS FOR A FRACTION OF THE PRICE AND WAY BETTER THAN THIS DUMP.”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

The only reason I booked this place as an American is because I heard Caracas is very dangerous and the hostals are not safe.

With that said, I did not get murdered, robbed, or kidnapped while I was here. There. That was the positive.

Here's the negative. ( Deep breath )...I stayed in room 802 where the WiFi is non existent. The hot water they claim is one for literally 60 seconds. Then it turns colder that an Antarctic winter.

The faucet dripped all night and was never fixed. The view from the balcony was decent and I did feel safe.

The bed I slept on was harder than Jerry Sandusky in a room full of boys.

I slept on the couch because it was softer.

The room was old, not updated and kinda smelled like a 1970's curtain that had never been dusted.

For $91 US Dollars a night you will never, and I mean NEVER see me return here.

The restaurant downstairs was ok, and the staff were very friendly.

BTW, I forgot. William is the only guy there that sparks English. He's awesome and was very helpful. Other than that, I stayed in a hostal for $5.82 in Ollantaytambo in Cuzco, Peru and had a better stay than this place.

You've officially been warned.

Jerry

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryAscione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    36
    42
    18
    37
See reviews for
21
34
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
City of Port-of-Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2012

i arrived early in the morning 19th nov 2012 and went to the front desk. i did not speak spanish but there was a member of staff who could speak enough english. he said check in would be 2:30pm and directed me to a nearby restaurant. at 2:30 pm exactly i was checked in. i had to deposit 50 BsF the local currency for the tv remote. on entering there was a kitchen with refrigerator, kitchen counter and sink, and a cooking stove. parallel with the kitchen was balcony with a table an a couple plastic chairs. the view is of the city's buildings and the distant avila national park. then the next section was a den with a sofa and some chairs. after the den was the bedroom with television and wide closet space, and ample lighting. there was a touch tone telephone with a list of numbers for services and the reception desk. next to the bedroom is the toilet and bath. it was clean to use but i did not get warm water. next to the hotel is boulevard de simon bolivar a nice shopping area. i did not recognize the breakfast dish served at the hotel so i only ate milk and kelloggs cereal. i checked out of the hotel early on the 21 nov 2012 and one of the staff whistled a taxi for me. i paid 280 BsF to the taxi and was off to the international airport.

Room Tip: i stayed at 1302 on the thirteenth floor but i could still here the traffic and people talking loudl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Im a Hotelier for over 25 years and I know whats going on in this kind of business, first of all upon arrival ( around 3:30 PM ) I have to wait over 40 minutes to get my room, i asked several times what the problem was and the only answer was SOON WILL GIVE YOU THE ROOM very bad attitude of all staff, rude and sad faces. Once i got my room ( i booked a suite ) the shape was horrible, carpet dirty, curtains old and were smelling like old, air conditioned old and not working property, sheets dirty, many lights did not work, shower old and dirty, water from shower was with no pression at all , did not have towels in the room, and when i asked was told to wait ( got the towels al 9 PM ) did not have iron and when i ask was told they did not let clients to iron in the room, and was offered to iron my cloth with the maid for a fee that i have to pay in cash at the moment, i had a meeting the following day so i need to pat the maid.
the free breakfast was taste less and i could continue on and on

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chepele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caracas hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were advised not to go into Caracas and so just transfered through the airport on to our next destination Los Roques - everything was fine.
A friend decided to take the risk and went in to stay a night at The Cumberland.
She was robbed of all her money as she arrived at the hotel probably by the taxi driver and only just managed with the help of the hotel staff to get back to the airport for her flight out the next morning.
I would hate to be working for the tourist board of this country as it would appear that the capital city is now a 'no go' area for international travellers.
My advice is to fly straight through or at the very least only stay at the Hotels immediately adjacent to the airport which ,unfortunately, are some of the most expensive in South America.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
210 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Rooms are smelling as the carpets are quite dirty.The breakfast, internet connection and hotel services in general were quite poor. Rooms on the left side of the hotel are exposed to 24 hour noise from the large aircond. machine at the ground floor. Lifts are suspect, breaking very often. We did not have any problem in the area, and went out for walk at midnight. This hotel is not worth 100 dollars a day,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Believe the horror stories about this hotel, it is by far the worst I've ever stayed in. I knew that Caracas was a dangerous city before I went, but nothing could prepare me for the sheer feeling of dread everytime I stepped outside into the street. It is situated in one of the most dangerous and crime ridden parts of the city, the Sabana Grande area. Even the home office warns people not to stay in that area, I found that out after I went there.

The hotel itself was rundown, dirty and noisey, the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful and hardly any spoke a word of English, the breakfast (which was included in the price was inedible. The only good thing was the restaurant in the evening, the quality of the food was much better.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stu-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Dirty expensive, no service help in any case.
Food was terrible and expensive. Location not really safe.

Do not go there!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawelpolska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caracas hotels
Sabana Grande
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
#26 of 86 in Caracas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#15 of 86 in Caracas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Altamira
Hotel Continental Altamira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caracas Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caracas Cumberland

Property: Hotel Caracas Cumberland
Address: Segunda Avenida de Las Delicias de Sabana Grande | Entre Av. Solano y Libertador, Caracas 1000, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > Sabana Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caracas Cumberland 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caracas Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Caracas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing