We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly & antiquated...another Caracas rip-off!”
Review of Hotel La Floresta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Floresta
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in Caracas
Everywhere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unfriendly & antiquated...another Caracas rip-off!”
Reviewed 24 April 2007

I did not enjoy my stay here...

(1) Desk staff are unfriendly...perhaps cos I'm a gringo?

(2) Single room was cramped, scruffy & in need of serious refurbishment...& the bed was not comfortable

(3) Breakfast is meagre...& they tried to charge me for a coffee 10 mins after the end of the official breakfast time, despite not having a full breakfast on any of my 5 days stay

(4) Noisy location, even from the 8th floor. Not that much in the vacinity, although good pizza up the road

(5) They tried to charge me an extra night, despite having receipts for the nights I paid (except 1 when I paid cash, which was clearly on the bill)

It's a sign of bad service when you actually notice one of the staff treating you with any courtesy...the bell-boy was friendly & helpful with cabs. Unfortunately I have now stayed in 4 hotels, including the Hilton & Paseo Las Mercedes (both are fine, but expensive) & none are value for money. Unless you bring USD & exchange on the black market (my friend has a dealer!)...Bs3400 vs Bs2150 official rate.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Bad attitude of staff
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Rushun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    23
    11
    21
See reviews for
6
22
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico DF
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2007

The hotel La Floresta was a pleasant surprise in Venezuela.
I had booked a room for a weekend when all the other hotels were full (this happens often in Caracas) - so one can imagine how low my expectations were.
Instead, I was impressed with their service (they helped me with everything, from exchanging dollars to calling taxis and giving directions on how to take the subway).
Their location is great: close to the Chacao business district and less than a block from the Altamira subway station. There is a delicatessen in the same block where a guest can buy simple essentials such as water, snacks and personal hygiene necessities.
Yes, it is a 3-star budget hotel, so one shouldn’t expect any luxury. But the rooms are clean, well maintained and the showers are hot, with good water pressure. It is important to note that check-in starts at 13:00 and they probably will not be able to make exceptions.
Hotels in Caracas are notoriously expensive and it is good to know that there is a good alternative for the budget traveler.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BFMexicoDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2006

Clean basic rooms.This is a very basic hotel. You will get a bed and hot shower. Security was fine at the entrance. Intake was quick, efficient and courteous. I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers who only want a place to sleep and shower.

The location is good. A relatively safe and pleasant area. I run around caracas and get tired out and only want a clean bed and a hot shower is a secure area after I've been out all day and half the night. That is what I got. If that is what you are looking for then this is fine. Taxis ply the area and the subway is across the street.

I stayed there several years ago, and again in Dec 2006 and would use it again for a bed and shower at a good price. I paid 50 bucks US for two beds/two persons.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — outdated, small
  • Tips/Secrets — this hotel is clean basic bed and hot shower in a good caracas location.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jpaffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

It has a great security and efficiensy. I got at the hotel at 3 am and had no problem with getting into a room rapidly. The hotel is simply the best because it gives security, its clean and it has a great location.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — choose this hotel
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Franco_Santinato.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caracas hotels
Sabana Grande
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
#27 of 85 in Caracas
115 reviews
Altamira
Hotel Continental Altamira
Chacao
Hotel Chacao & Suites
Hotel Chacao & Suites
#11 of 85 in Caracas
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#13 of 85 in Caracas
141 reviews
El Rosal
The Hotel Caracas
The Hotel Caracas
#62 of 85 in Caracas
114 reviews
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Floresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Floresta

Property: Hotel La Floresta
Address: Av. Avila Sur, Altamira, Caracas, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Floresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Floresta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing