We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Adventure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaima National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Rudy's Ucaima Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I went there with a group of friends two years ago and we had an unbelievable time. The Camp was outstanding clean, comfortable and food was GREAT. the Guide we had took us on the best hikes behind waterfalls and into beautiful jungle areas around the area. We saw and swam in so many waterfalls. the trip to Angel falls was great (saw a giant brown tarantualy on the hike - SCARRY) and the trip to Kavac was one of the most wonderful expierinces of my life. When we were in the cave it started to rain and he had to hightail it out before the cave entrance closed up. We got outside in the big lagoon and all of a sudden these two giant waterfalls just came out of the side of the rock cliff at the edge of the logoon not 30 feet from us (100 feet above us). It was the most amazing experience being in the lagoon when the waterfalls started.

I am going back with wife and kids this November.

Room Tip: near the river is better you can jump in right outside your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    7
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is THE place to stay if you plan to head t Angel Falls. Rudy's daughter is the current owner and manager at the camp, having grown up in this very area after her father, "Jungle Rudy" was the first to build a camp in the area. The 5m long Anaconda skin above the wall near the bar is the one that the owner's mom had to kill when the snake kept returning. They tried to relocate it, but the snake kept coming back and the couple was worried about their daughter's playing in the river as the snake grew older! Talk about character in a place!
The rooms are clean, the staff is wonderful and the location is the best, by far, of the camps in the area. Their remote camp closer to Angel Falls (2 hours by motorized dugout canoe) is the only one with beds instead of hammocks, and it has a great view of the falls itself. David is the best guide a group could hope to have.
I have no hesitations at all giving a recommendation without reservations. Do remember, this is a lodge in the jungle running on generator (no electricity later at night).
The did offer free wi-fi at the main lodge next to the bar. "Hi speed" is a relative term in the jungle!
I would absolutely recommend

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fantastech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

What a wonderful place to break away from technology, and the work rat race a place to enjoy nature and merge within. The daily tours to diferent falls were amazing. I loved every minute of this trip. Would recommend it highly. An experience you will never, ever forget.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosaElenaMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

My husband and I had an amazing time here. Tucked off a river and filled with stunning views. Dinners were great and excursions to angel falls were so much fun. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. There is a public pavillion on the rivers edge that has a spectacular view of the hills. I would recomend taking a bottle of wine there to watch the sunset!!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

Before 1956, when Rudolf Truffino (a.k.a. "Jungle Rudy") had the crazy idea to put a tourist lodge in the middle of this unbroken wilderness, Canaima was a place only the hardest of hard-core explorers could dream of visiting.

Fifty-three years later, the tourist camp he built - Ucaima - is still run by his family, and has earned its billing as THE place to go for outstanding service in the area. Meticulous about preparing trips, leaving nothing at all to chance, and displaying a commitment to looking after their guests every need, the staff at Jungle Rudy's will exceed your expectations with stunning regularity.

And trust me, when you're in the middle of the Venezuelan jungle, this extremely long experience MATTERS. If anything goes wrong this far from civilization, you are in desperate trouble. Which is why the sense you get in Ucaima Camp of being among absolute pros matters so much.

The first thing you notice at Ucaima is that nearly everyone who works there is from the Pemon Indian tribe: the original settlers in the region. So you are hosted, cared for, guided, translated to and catered to by people who've been living in this jungle for literally thousands of years. Ucaima's indigenous staff will wow you again and again with its warmth, professionalism, unrivalled local knowledge, and ability to speak a dazzling variety of languages.

The camp itself is very well tended and set in a stunningly beautiful location right by the river leading up to Angel Falls. The food is simple, Venezuelan home-style cooking: tasty and filling, but nothing fancy. Drinks are a bit pricey, but there's a wide variety on offer. But these kinds of considerations are really secondary.

The real reason to come to Ucaima is that these are the people who quite literally INVENTED the idea that normal tourists could come to and enjoy Canaima. Nobody's been showing outsiders this jungle for longer, and nobody does it better. There's just no better way to enjoy the jungle than to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontrealKanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

Rudy’s Jungle is a fabulous, comfortable, one of a kind resort designed to show travelers the beautiful Venezuelan jungle and its crown jewel, Angel Falls. Our family had a wonderful time visiting the local waterfalls and lagoons, but the main event is the overnight trip to Angel Falls -- where Rudy’s operates the best jump-off camp an hour hike below the falls. A truly spectacular trip all around. Be sure to go on the day trip to Kavak to see their own hidden falls.

If you are going to Caniama/Angel Falls, stay at Rudy’s. The food is excellent, the scenery is unforgettable and the people are very nice. It is a bit of riverside civilization carved out of the jungle.

  • Liked — Location, staff, food
  • Disliked — For a jungle location, it was perfect.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Capitolhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2007

Stayed here for a few days and was absoluelty spectacular...excellent
localtion and living in harmony with nature A jungle paradise

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank bc1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jungle Rudy's Ucaima Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Rudy's Ucaima Camp

Property: Jungle Rudy's Ucaima Camp
Address: Canaima National Park, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Guayana Region > Canaima National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Canaima National Park
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Jungle Rudy`s Ucaima Camp Hotel Canaima National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing