We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice waterfall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Venetur Orinoco
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Ciudad Guayana
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Not a bad hotel. Restaurant and bar ok.
Nice pool with very scenic rapids in view.
Casino next door.
Not great value at over $300 a night

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank royalgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2007

I've stayed in many intercons all over but this hotel definitely was not in the same class as the typical Intercon. This hotel was more like an old Holiday Inn. The hotel is located near the river Orinoco and is in a beautiful location. The nearby falls are awesome. However, the hotel has many problems with the rooms, the facilities and service. The problems first started at checkin. The staff was generally inattentive and slow. When I inquired about getting some money exchanged (ATMs at Puerto Ordaz airport did not work), the staff said they could not do it and I would have to find a bank in town. After pleading w/them that I had no local currency to get a cab to get into town, they allowed me to exchange a small amount of cash . The lobby area is clean and nice but that all changed when you take the elevator to your room. The rooms look like they have not been updated since the 80's. The tattered rug, musty smell in the bathroom was not pleasant. The faucet and shower head had very little water pressure. There wasn't any bottled water in the room and the drinking the tap h2o was risky. There is a safe in the room but you have to go to the front desk and request a key. You must leave a deposit for the key as well. The gym in the hotel was completely unavailable and the while the pool was large, it was not clean. There is a trail near the hotel which you could walk on but it seemed to be open only on certain days. One evening, there was a torrential downpour and the hotel started to flood on several floors. The elevators, power went out and the hotel staff was not helpful in re-accomodating guests who were affected by the flood. BTW, the power regularly goes out at this hotel. During breakfast and lunch, the restaurant heavily pushes their buffet. If you try to order from the menu, you will be told that ordering from the menu is not advisable due to the longer wait for food. Well, I decided to test how long the wait was and ordered a plate off the menu. The kitchen took almost 1 hour to prepare a burger and fries. Most of the problems in this place could be easily resolved by more attention by management.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2007

The most serious problem is its air conditioning. It is located at the top of the building. It is really and permanently very noisy, impossible to sleep, it even smells fuel oil from time to time. It's a pitty in a so quiet and beautiful environment.
The environment of the hotel is superb, one of most beautiful in the world; fortunately if not, there would be no more customers.


Internet: works only from time to time
The rooms need really a refreshment
Very nice nice swimingpool in a very nice park.

Really very very very expensive for what it is, but there is anything else and Intercontinental shamefully take advantage of it. Everybody in the region knows that and generally recommend to go the hotel in the center of the city (but no swimingpool, no nature, no river). It's really a pitty

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Rogernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2006

This hotel doesn't deserve to be an Intercontinental, and it certainly doesn't deserve the five star category it claims to have.

The rooms are horrible, bathrooms a disgrace and the service is at best nonchalent, at worst downright rude. The only reason that this hotel remains in business is due to the casino, which is packed every day from about 5:00 p.m.

I assumed that with the Intercontinental name I would be staying in a classy hotel: how wrong I was! I certainly won't be making the same mistake again.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Biz_Traveller Latin America
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Documentales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATaioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank ANDREA-23000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ciudad Guayana hotels
2.2 mi away
Posada Churum Meru
Posada Churum Meru
#3 of 16 in Ciudad Guayana
84 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Meru
Hotel Plaza Meru
#2 of 16 in Ciudad Guayana
125 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Mara Inn
Hotel Mara Inn
#6 of 16 in Ciudad Guayana
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Eurobuilding Hotel & Suites Guayana
3.3 mi away
Hotel 286
Hotel 286
#4 of 16 in Ciudad Guayana
40 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hosteria Waipa
Hosteria Waipa
#1 of 10 in Ciudad Guayana
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Venetur Orinoco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venetur Orinoco

Address: Avenida Guayana | Parque Punta Vista, Puerto Ordaz, Ciudad Guayana 8015-A, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Guayana Region > Ciudad Guayana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ciudad Guayana
Price Range: £62 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Venetur Orinoco 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an enviable spot overlooking Llovizna Falls, surrounded by two pristine parks, the hotel is minutes from the city's shopping and business districts. Loefling Wildlife Park and the Carona Ecomuseum are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Venetur Orinoco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Ciudad Guayana
Hotel Venetur Orinoco Venezuela/Guayana - Ciudad Guayana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing