We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cumanagoto Premier International Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Coche Paradise(Coche Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
13
13
17
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
13
17
2
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2007

My stay happened in 2005 but is well worth mentioning. We could not sleep because there was an outdoor party at the hotel which was playing insufferably loud samba (Brazilian drums) music at 2am. My 4 year old and 1 year old naturally could not sleep (and neither could we). My wife (a Venezuelan) went down to the party in her pajamas (she did that for effect) to find the organizer of the party. He told her that the hotel manager had approved the party and the samba music! My wife went looking for the manager but of course he was conveniently not there. He was probably getting a good night's sleep at his home far from the hotel. We looked for him the next day (when we were checking out) and conveniently he was not there either.

A security guard was very nice with my wife that night when he took her into the party etc.. but as he said: "we can't help much, if the manager approved the party I can't do anything". It is certainly not his fault as he is low paid and interested in remaining employed.

The disheartening thing is that the party was for an organization of pediatricians. Did they think that was reasonable behavior for an outdoor party at a hotel where families were staying?

My wife also had to make them stop playing loud music by the pool at 7am. She asked what they were playing the music for and they said for the pool guests. So she asked what time the pool opened and they said 9. Leading them to the conclusion she then asked why the music was on (so loud) at 7am in that case.

It's not that we don't like music or don't understand the culture. My wife is Venezuelan and I've been there a dozen times myself. This would not have been allowed to happen anywhere in the United States.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2006

The Hotel Cumanagoto is a deserving 5-star resort at the beach just outside the town of Cumana. The room my wife and I had was large, very clean, quiet, and quite cheerfully decorated, in a kind of modern Latin American style. Some rooms may have an ocean view; ours looked out on palm trees and the pool. It had a small fridge and satellite TV (with reception of varying quality) getting several dozen channels. The grounds include a large pool (no diving) and a smaller "jacuzzi" style pool (not very heated). There is a well-kept public beach steps from the pool, and there are "churuatas" that provide shade for bathers; beach attendants bring you lounge chairs and you can order drinks. The water here, as at Margarita Island, is a bit chilly.
The Hotel has a gourmet restaurant called the Yate(didn't try, but the menu looked good and reasonable) and a Spanish restaurant, where we ate well. For breakfast and lunch, there is a casual outdoor restaurant next to the pool. Breakfast was a very good buffet with tropical fruits, cereals, juices, and many hot Venezuelan dishes (fish, meats, eggs).
At the indoor bar I had a first-rate pina colada, made to order from fresh pineapple, for which I paid under $3. You can live it up at this place and never encounter sticker shock.
The hotel has six lighted tennis courts (hard courts, overdue for resurfacing, but still playable); and a small golf course, then out of service. There is also a good gym, two ping-pong tables, and an outdoor sand volleyball court, all free to guests. They lend golf clubs or tennis rackets, but don't be picky.
The staff were all very nice and helpful, though I don't know how much English is spoken there. (The clientele in January was almost totally Venezuelan.) Indicating the never-gets-cold climate, the lobby is permanently open to the elements.
Downsides? The Cumana area is full of mosquitoes, and they gather in the lobby at night; I was bitten repeatedly during my 3 days in Cumana, but I neglected to use a repellent. The food at the restaurants we tried was good to very good, but not spectacular. To get into town (to see the castle, etc.), you need a car; a taxi is about $4 each way.
Overall, I definitely recommend this place. It's in very good shape, they seem to care about it and your wellbeing, and you would pay much, much more for a top-end place like this elsewhere in the Caribbean. The hotel is quite beautiful, with nice landscaping, and colonial-era Cumana itself, though rather run-down (like most of Venezuela), is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews