We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
231
38
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
38
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khwai river game drives wild dogs beautiful tent school supplies small river okavango delta a wonderful place to stay guide dennis mokoro trips audley travel intimate experience family atmosphere comfortable beds across the river special moment main lounge
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We had such an amazing time at Sango Camp at the end of our trip it was so sad leaving. Our guide, Dennis was fantastic! On our first day we saw so many animals and he even took us out on a late night drive where we saw a bush baby, herds of elephants, giraffe and so on. One evening on or way back we saw two lions trying to get at the hippos. And on our last morning Dennis drove us to the national park to show us two beautiful young lioness surrounded by zebras, Impala and giraffes which was just amazing! Boi is a fantastic manager and she always makes sure you feel at home and are happy with everything. The food is fantastic we enjoyed every meal we had the chef is amazing and announces the menu each evening after some singing. The rooms are simplistic but lovely and at night you can hear all the animals around you which is lovely. Boi, Dennis, Neo, Ntina, Frank and Duma to name a few, thank you so much for having us and making our stay so incredible, we will never forget it! Love to you all, Ella, Tom, Alan and Julia x

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We stayed here last month for 2 nights. This is a wonderful and intimate lodge. Its tents all face a small river where hippos are always present. (can be a bit noisy at night as they do not eat quietly!). Elephants roam nearby and are present for most of the time.

We were welcomed by the staff upon our arrival with a welcome song. We were promptly shown our quarters; beautiful tent with wooden floors. Spotless, very comfortable mattresses, pillows and sheets. Bathroom was huge for a tent and outdoor shower worked just fine. There is a nice plunge pool steps away from the main building as well as a raised viewing deck from which to watch the scenery.

Meals were simple but plentiful and sufficient. Very enjoyable to have breakfast around the campfire.

Best of all of course were the safari rides. We had an excellent guide who found every animal we hoped to see.

Service at this lodge was excellent. All were only too happy to serve. Highest recommendation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank outofottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

What an amazing place, whilst there was no river / water front to look into the camp was excellently located overlooking a large grassed area which had a viewing platform.
The accommodation was great and very comfortable. Food was excellent and customer service was great.
Lovely atmosphere and would definatley return.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

From the singing welcome to waving goodbye, the Sango team made our stay one to remember. The camp is quite small and as other people have said the tents are quite close together, but as we were in them only for sleeping that didn't really bother us. The tents are big, surprisingly cool considering there is no air con, and with lovely comfortable beds. The food was great, and it was lovely to have diner announced in song, this really did feel like a very happy camp. But we went for the wildlife and it didn't disappoint. The game drives were full of sightings and the guides knack for spotting it and then having the patience to wait until we could see it must be commended.Obi - stuck in the mud, and Dennis were both excelent guides and for a last morning sighting of lions, cheaters making a kill and then the lions again with a kill, Dennis, we thank you, it realy was the highlight. A lovely friendly, happy lodge and one I would thoroughly recommend and love to return to.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

We truly enjoyed our two night stay at Sango. The lodge's location is superb, right next to the Moremi Reserve, although the guides tend to go around the concession area on the other side of Khwai river. The guide told us that there are more animals in the concession area but on the one occasion that we went inside the reserve, we definitely saw more animals (and couple of leopard sightings) during the morning drive.

In any case, the camp itself is quite cozy, with just 6 tents, so you would get to know the other guests pretty quickly. We've met some very interesting people during the 3 days at the camp - so the intimate setting of the camp helps in that aspect. The staff and the guides are very friendly, they are very sincere to make your stay at the camp an enjoyable one. The food is pretty good, and it was fun having the cook announce the menu before the dinner. The staff even had the welcome dance for us one night which was a lot of fun - so make sure you keep your camera (phone) handy which we didn't :)

Overall, I would recommend staying at Sango - the only thing I would think they might do is to venture out into Moremi Reserve more than once (as was the case for us).

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews