We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tuskers Bush Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$766
Expedia.com
View Deal
Camp Moremi(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1,845
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sango Safari Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1,175
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyena Pan Tented Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1,157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanctuary Chief's Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$5,205
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$6,145
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
173
22
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
22
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe entire staffwild dogswater bottlesguide kenthe rivergame drivesan absolute joycharging pointsworked tirelessly to make surecold running watergenuine hospitalitydamp towelsexcellent bedfamily cottagetracking abilityfantastic locationbody lotion
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This was our first stop on our first safari and we couldn't have chosen better. The welcome from Candy and Junior was lovely and set the tone for the rest of our three night stay.

The camp consist of a main building where breakfast and lunch are served, several tents and a boma where the evening meals are served. There are no frills in the accommodation, it's has a proper full sized bed, a flushing toilet, somewhere to hang you clothes and and a bucket show. That is all you really need for a great time and to be honest you don't come somewhere like this to sit in your tent!!

The day starts at 5:30 with a wake up call, breakfast is at 6:00 and by 6:30 you are out on a drive. One thing to mention is that the mornings are pretty cold in June, whilst we were given blankets and ponchos to snuggle up in I wish I had packed more warm clothes. The morning drive finished about 12:00 with lunch being provided on your return to camp. You then had a couple of hours before the 15:00 afternoon drive which lasted until 19:30.

The staff are what really makes this place. As already mentioned Junior and Candy were always on hand. The kitchen and waiting staff all worked really hard especially as I am vegetarian, they made sure I had something warm and tasty every day. But a special mention needs to be made for Dutch as our guide. He made sure that we saw everything we wanted and more. Such a knowledgeable and friendly guy.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JGB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Tented Camp- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Dear JGB1967

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time spent at Khwai Tented Camp. It can get very chilly, and guides try to make you feel as comfortable as possible, although we can not control the weather- however hard we may try!

We will be sure to pass on your thanks to Candy, Junior, Dutch and the kitchen staff. All of our Professional Guides are highly qualified and our staff make us proud on a daily basis.

Take care and warmest regards,
The African Bush Camps Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

At the end of my safari,this was one of my favorites. The tents are quite simple (with wonderful bucket showers) but beds are comfy. Saw the prototype for new tents which will be FABULOUS! Wonderful meals, hosted by caring staff (led my Arnold and Junior).My guide (Partner) was really wonderful. Met lovely people. Best game sightings of my 13 night trip - saw wild dog, lions and leopards! Wonderful elephants and birds too.So glad I stayed here!

Room Tip: This is NOT a hotel; it should not be evaluated as such (it is a tented camp)
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Tented Camp- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Dear Nancy

Thank you for your review of Khwai Tented Camp! We really appreciate the time it takes to review our camps.

The refurbishment of the tents is a very exciting prospect and we are hoping to have them completed as soon as we can. We are delighted to hear that you had luck with wildlife sightings! Professional Guide Partner has recently found a wild dog den, after many days of treacherously searching, with 6 puppies- great news!

Take care and warmest regards,
The African Bush Camps team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

The tents are on platforms with a lovely outside seating area. They have an outside bucket shower which is refilled for you each evening. Fresh water is obtained from the river and purified by osmosis. It tastes delicious, you're encouraged to refil a water holder that they gift you rather than use bottled water. The food is excellent and all the staff are excellent and make your stay extra special. Dutch took us on game drives, he was very knowledgeable and good company, The camp staff - Jackie, Violet and Manelle among many others made us feel so welcome. they went the extra mile with locations for sundowners. There was no pool when we were there but apparently there are plans to add a plunge pool in 2016. There is a charging area in the main tent but no WiFi or phone reception - bliss!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Tented Camp- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Dear Ozzie

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time. Dutch is a fantastic guide and now has seven years experience as a professional guide. He is great with children and enjoys photography, botany and tracking animal behaviour. We are very lucky to have a great team working with us at our camps. We will be sure to pass on the praises to the Dutch, Jackie, Violet and Manelle.

Take care and warmest regards,
The African Bush Camps team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Khwai tented Camp for 8 nights in June 2015.
My parents who had extensively traveled all over Africa for at least 25 to 30 times invited all of us children,grandchildren with their families. My father had chosen the camp, because he know exactly what he wanted. A place exclusively just for us with great possibility to see all kind of wildlife.
We just fall in love with Khwai tented camp.The four of us( traveling from the USA) stayed at the cottage what was a perfect fit for us , where all the others (traveling from Switzerland) stayed in the tents.
We loved the beautiful peaceful setting right on the river Khwai where we saw hippos, baboons and all kind of birds.
The tents are nice layed out with small verandas right on the water. It's more like you think safaris were years back, but very comfortable and quite luxurious.
The staff is just great, we could not have asked for anything else! From great meals ( we all like a lovely meal)prepared for us, cleaning of the room and even doing laundry for us if we needed , to the awesome camp managers you could not have asked for a better outstanding service!
Our two guides Dutch and Partner had a incredible knowledge. We saw from lions and their cubs to leopards and their Cubs a wide variety of animals,so that even the ones who had been to Africa many times saw some rare animals to make them happy. Dutch and Partner never tiered to look for what we hoped to see.
We enjoyed beautiful sundowners and some incredible surprises that the staff prepared.
The whole vacation was a once in a lifetime experience for all of us! We will never forget it and hope to return again to this African Gem!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
5  Thank SwissmissOm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Everything was perfect! The tents are not too big, but decorated lovingly. A water closet and a bucket shower were real luxury!
The organisation of the drives and bush walks was smooth and well thought out. We saw animals over animals and our guide (partner) chose the nicest places for the morning coffees and sunset drinks that you can imagine. The groups are kept small in the cars which is very comfortable and adds to the feeling of exclusivity. And the guides definitly know their ways around, are aware of all kinds of situations and very responsibly with the animals.
Even the food was delicious and all kinds of drinks available.
The camp really tries to keep its footprint as small as possible and uses filtered water from the river close by, you get a reuseable bottle as a gift at arrival. The water is not only safe to drink, the taste is very good as well.
I thought hard if there is anything to critize, but nothing came to my mind. Although it is quite expensive, it was worth every penny. They really managed to let you feel like a friend, so saying good bye was really hard. Thank you so much for wonderful 4 days!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marit I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews