We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" CHIEF'S IS THE BEST"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Virudhunagar, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“" CHIEF'S IS THE BEST"”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed with my family during the 1st week of May and was blown away by the experience. This was the best camp in Botswana. It lives up to its reputation as the " Predator capital of Botswana".On landing at the airstrip our guide Martin saw some vultures on a tree close by. So he drove us there and we saw around 8 lions with cubs feasting on an impala. Great sighting indeed !. In the evening we saw an Leopard and lion encounter. We also managed to see the Rhino here as Chief's island is the only place where they have reintroduced Rhino's in Botswana. The game viewing is the best here. The camp is in a lovely location and very comfortable. The tents are luxurious. The food is great. You will see elephants, warthogs etc move around the camp. As it is priced much lesser than its neighbour Mombo camp this camp offers excellent value for money. Go for it !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prabhakar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and looks like the animals put on a lovely show for you.

Thank you for all your lovely comments, the team loved your feedback.

We do hope to welcome you and your family back one day soon.

We would love for you to keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief’s Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    22
    1
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
109
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a great time at Chief's camp. The game viewing was excellent. At one spot we could see, elephant, water buffalo and rhino all at the same time. The guide - sky - was great and made every effort to find the animals. It is always a pleasure to be in the bush. The rooms were nice but a little dated and could use bit of a refurbishment. The food was good, but not the quality of the other camps we visited in Botswana.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, much appreciated!

We are very happy to hear that you had a great time at Chief’s camp and thank you for the lovely feedback – Sky was especially pleased.

Regarding your comment about a refurbishment, this is in the pipeline scheduled for early 2015. We have also addressed your feedback regarding the quality of the food with our Front of House Service Manager who will be looking into this with our Food and Beverage team.

Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back again one day soon.

Until then, please keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief’s Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a magnificent place. Beautiful lodge, fabulous rooms, great dining, and above all, a warm and friendly staff. The game viewing is wonderful. The drivers are knowledgeable and willing to answer any question, no matter how dumb.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience and thank you for sharing it on Tripadvisor much appreciated.

Thank you for your lovely comments, we loved hosting you and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We spent two nights at this camp and could not have been happier. Our guide, Sky, was amazing and provided us with some once in a life time game viewing experiences. He managed to get us within a pride of lions and under neither a tree with a sleeping leopard and cub!
The camp itself was my favourite on our 10 day safari. The atmosphere was comfortable and relaxed and and the amazing staff made it unforgettable. The individual cabins were spacious and had a comfortable layout. The balcony was private and the outdoor shower was a fun addition. T
When we were the are area in front of the main patio was not yet flooded, and we were able to see herds of elephants, groups of warthogs along with a variety of birds, all while eating lunch! Unbelievable number of photo opportunities here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Mary,

Absolutely loved reading your review, thank you so much!!

"Chief's Camp was your favourite" WOW we are thrilled to hear that.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments especially about the staff, they loved your feedback and look forward to hosting you again one day soon.

In the meantime you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent 3 wonderful nights at this camp in May 2013,as part of a 2 weeks
safari to Botswana.We stayed at four camps on our trip,and I have to ay,this one was the best.
The tents are excellent,and the food was superb,from the breakfasts to the evening meals.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singhottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear you spent three wonderful nights with us and that Chief's Camp ranked the best for you!

We cannot wait to welcome you back, hopefully soon...

Until then it would be great if you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Tusso, our guide, was amazing. Knowledgeable and accommodating. On our first afternoon in the bush we came upon a lion and a leopard. Close encounter with a white rhino named Sargent. Elephants, giraffes, jackals. Photo opportunities galore. Highly recommend the optional helicopter ride. Fabulous accommodations - we just didn't get to spend enough time there. Great food, including the best croissants ever!!!! No bakery in Paris could do better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear James,

We wish you could have stayed longer too..

Thank you for this lovely review and for all your wonderful comments, the staff loved your feeback and are eager to welcome you back again! We will have the croissants ready and waiting..

We would love for you to keep up to date with the latest latest from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was the last of the three Sanctuary properties that we were visiting and we had heard from other travelers that this was the place to be in the Okavango. The fact that it came with a price tag more than double their other properties, had us undoubtedly curious and maybe anticipating too much as well! We were certainly not disappointed with our experience here. The property is beautifully appointed and the service impeccable --- be it whipping up just the right drink at the right time or scouring far and wide for a substitute camera charger since we left ours at the earlier camp (they even arranged to have that one brought in by the next incoming flight!). However, the fact that the huts aren’t air cooled or conditioned didn’t exactly make it comfortable come the afternoon when temperatures hit 95F/35C! The premium tag, for those interested, comes primarily due to the exclusivity of the property and the amazing bush experience staying here allows you to have. And what an experience it is! Since you are allowed to off-road here, you really do get a true ‘safari with no holds barred’ as you track right into the bush on your 4 WD. Our driver-cum-guide, Kaya a.k.a. Sky, followed a white rhino and her calf through bramble, bush and rough terrain with gay abandon, albeit with awesome control and anticipation. There are only two camps on this island, each with limited accommodation, so you have the bush pretty much to yourself and can spend the morning without another vehicle in sight. We were there in Nov, just before the rains come and hence had vast expanses of land to drive on which is not the case from Feb-July/Aug though that is when you get the mkoro(dugout/canoe) experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drivingholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Three Sanctuary Retreats properties WOW that is wonderful!!

We are delighted that we lived up to your expectations and thank you for the lovely feedback.

We loved hosting you and hope you see you at one of our other properties soon, until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet ) and Instagram ( SanctuaryRetreats ) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
33.3 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
273 reviews
30.2 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#15 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
83 reviews
9.5 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.0 mi away
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
#9 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#30 of 72 in Okavango Delta
122 reviews
23.6 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#16 of 72 in Okavango Delta
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chief's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chief's Camp

Property: Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Address: Chief's Island | Maun, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Chief's Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chief’s Camp has twelve luxury bush pavilions, all with their own private decks as well as both indoor and outdoor showers. When visiting Sanctuary Chief’s Camp you’ll see why Conde Nast Traveler consistently rates it as one of the top safari destinations in Botswana. The camp is part of the magazine’s exclusive “Platinum Circle” in recognition of its inclusion in the prestigious Gold List for the last five consecutive years. The split-level main deck offers expansive views over the floodplain while the lower level of the deck houses an exquisite swimming pool to cool off after a day of exciting game viewing. The main area houses a bar, curio shop, library reception and dining area. For a rejuvenating pampering session, choose from a range of treatments at the camp’s treatment room. The twelve guest pavilions are nestled in a jackalberry and sausage tree woodland that is characteristic of the area. Each guest pavilion boasts an indoor and outdoor shower, a spacious seating area and a private game viewing deck overlooking the surrounding floodplains of the Okavango Delta. Sumptuous four poster beds with generously draped mosquito nets and traditional ceiling fans also feature and for your convenience, the rooms are equipped with a hairdryer, ceiling fan, room safe, emergency intercom and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Chief's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chief`s Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing