We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tuskers Bush Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$766
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Camp Moremi(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1,845
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Sango Safari Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1,175
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Hyena Pan Tented Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1,157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$6,145
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Belmond Khwai River Lodge(Moremi Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Third Bridge Campsite(Moremi Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Mapula Lodge(Moremi Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Xakanaxa Campsite(Moremi Game Reserve)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
242
23
2
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
23
2
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschief's islandgame viewingokavango deltachobe chilwerosussi chumasuperb locationblack rhinowild dogsprivate poolmain areaindoor outdoor showerhelicopter rideoff roadabundant wildlifeknowledgeable guidegame drives were amazingoutstanding staff
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015

After a 15 minute flight from our previous camp and 25 minute drive from the dirt air strip we arrived Chief’s Camp about 3 pm and were greeted with the traditional welcome song. There were beverages and snacks (sweet and savory) set up for us during the orientation talk about the lodge, emergency procedures, safety, etc. and then we were shown to our rooms. We immediately liked this place. There was a hippo walking in the water in front of the cabins and communal area.

This was our second camp of four (A&K planned). The “room” was beautiful and rustic luxury. The camp is in a beautiful setting. There is a shower (good pressure and hot water), outdoor shower, water closet, and two sinks. There were two fans, 1 stand and 1 ceiling. A mosquito net is pulled around the bed at turn down and the bed heater turned on. Provided toiletries like shampoo, conditioner, shower gel were in pump containers in the shower. They provide lotion, bug spray, slippers, robes. There is a radio for emergencies and a horn; a safe, and hairdryer. There is an electrical outlet under the desk with an adapter. There is a desk and chair, king bed (bed sheet, blanket, comforter, and electric heater), and two casual chairs. The porch had a couple of chairs. The mini bar in the room was stocked with a red and white wine, mixers, gin, vodka. At turndown a port was set out (very good). Rooms have no keys here.

There are several seating areas in the comfortable communal area with books, games, a small shop, bar, dining area, camp fire, and a nice pool.

Wake up calls were delivered in person and if asked, came with a coffee press. Best coffee the whole trip. The food was excellent flavor and presentation. Breakfast was a continental buffet (cereal, rolls, porridge, fruit) plus you can order eggs, meat, etc. from your server. Dinner the first night was spring rolls for appetizer (excellent), impala with vegetable, salmon, vegetable lasagna (best ever had), and a delicious panacotta. Dinner second night was pork, beef, or Moroccan vegetarian. One day we returned late to the camp for a lunch of pizza made to order in their outdoor pizza oven, or lamb chop was the other option.

Each Sanctuary Camp vehicle carries the essentials for needing to “go” outdoors (usually behind a large termite mound), so you don’t have to pack your own. We were always welcomed back from safari with an appropriate beverage and moist face cloth. Laundry is taken by your housekeeper and returned nicely pressed and folded the same day. Bottled and/or filtered water is provided.

In the cool morning they provided heavy lined ponchos, blankets, and hot water bottles ready to go in the open air safari vehicle (very comfortable seats). The landscape here is just beautiful. The colors of the blue sky, the green floodplains, and the magnificent game were beyond words. We saw numerous herds of lions and cubs, elephant, tesse, impala, monkey, baboon, mongoose, two ostrich, a mating pair of lions in a sunny field, birds, herds of zebra, giraffe, warthogs, buffalo, hyena.

Our usual schedule included a morning safari, lunch, tea/snacks, afternoon safari. On the second day we saw all the above plus leopard, and we finally saw the black rhino as the sun was setting. We had to get back to camp because here you cannot stay out after dark because vehicle lights are not allowed. Between the comfortable bed and the night sounds of all the game, it was a wonderful sleep.

The service here was excellent and all staff were friendly and smiling. Evelyn the GM deserves special recognition for running such a nice “household”, Gotse and Vasco, and Nelly, and all the others whose name I didn’t get.

We absolutely loved Chief’s Camp. It was near perfect and exceeded every expectation. Would love to spend more time here.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sezme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, much appreciated!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your wonderful comments.

We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

On our first visit to Africa, we were fortunate to visit Chief's Camp for a couple of days. Set in the magnificent Okavango Delta, with significant cultural history, the site offers animal life that is staggering in its numbers and complexity. Our guides were so adept at tracking either on the ground or from the driver's seat of the 4WD that we saw the 'Big 5' up close (very close in fact!). The Botswana staff at Chief's are a visitor's delight and nothing was too much trouble. Everything was done to make us and our tour colleagues feel at home, safe and privileged to be there. The food was just terrific and nutritious for the early morning and evening ventures into the countryside. The individual accommodation was comfortable and well appointed, with extraordinary views and proximity to animals: the night sounds were obvious evidence that we were up close to African animals. The public areas are beautifully designed and offer great views. Comparing with other locations we visited, Chief's is a great choice. We are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have views, atmosphere and appeal
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lu888ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. We are pleased to see you are planning your next trip already!

We look forward to hosting you again but until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We loved Chief´s, the camp is amazing, as well as the wildlife. We spent 3 nights with our family and had a wonderful. The staff is great and the guides very flexible and knowledgeable. The food was also very good, they had a special menu for younger children. The rooms are very large and well kept.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vcd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you again soon and until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We are just back from a brilliant trip to the Okavango Delta and we attribute its success to the guides and staff of Chief's Camp, our home in the Moremi Game Reserve. Our guide Kenosi is a master at tracking wild game; each drive we were able to spot prides of lion, and we spotted several Leopard. It was fascinating to learn how he did it; what he was able to pick up based upon the animal footprints, sounds of birds, baboon & monkeys nearby, etc. He is an encyclopedia when it comes to animal flora & fauna. Back at camp, we were pampered to indulgence. The food and wine is top notch, our guest quarters and the common grounds were always immaculate. The setting is stunning. And, the crew at Chief's camp were so wonderful to us, it was hard to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Dear Mike,

Thank you for your kind words about our camp, guide and staff - it is much appreciated and will of course be shared with the team.

We are delighted to have contributed to your wonderful experience in the Okavango Delta and would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Sanctuary Retreats. We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

We had been travelling for almost 7 weeks to this point in Africa and had stayed in 7 game parks/reserves. This was the best and would rate it 6 stars if I could.
After a small plane ride from Kasane, we were driven to the Lodge and met by the staff with lunch. We were asked our names and these were used all through our stay at this lodge - felt like family or esteemed guests. We felt that the staff were genuinely pleased to see us and would ensure that our stay was memorable. The cabins are excellent although a little bit of maintenance wouldn't have gone amiss on a couple of items. The service throughout our stay was impeccable. All meals were excellent - even the Boma which I usually dislike.
The game drives couldn't have been better. Pulling up next to a pride of lions eating a kill was magic and it happened 3 times. Following a leopard with her kill (which was subsequently stolen by a couple of hyenas) was great. Following a cheetah with her 3 baby cheetahs was one of many highlights. The biggest highlight was watching a leopard up a tree jumping from tree to tree to catch a young baboon and then jumping down to ground to devour the kill. All of the "Big 5" were in plentiful evidence as were many other animals. This was without a doubt the best experience that we had during the total of 8 weeks in Africa. The game drives were made unforgettable by our guide/driver Benson. The staff gave us a marvellous send-off on the last night with local dances and a heartfelt farewell. As the manager said - if they give great service, visitors will continue to come, and their jobs and the Lodge will be secure to continue to provide a great experience. We would have liked to linger even more days but all too soon we had to hop on our small plane to Maun.

Room Tip: All were good overlooking lagoon. Best were closest to central lodge.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you had a wonderful time at Sanctuary Chief's Camp. Thank you for the very comprehensive feedback, which we of course have shared with the team.

Our team loved hosting you and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Would be great if you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews