We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
31
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
31
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagle island khwai river tauck tour game drives wild dogs unfenced camp travel arrangements air conditioning luxury hotel dining area classic safari safari experience game reserve mini bar large deck tent cabins bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Beautiful Lodge with stunning tented rooms. Amazing Locations with lots of "close up" animal experiences.. and most of all wonderful super helpful staff!!
Continues great food and the guides are just amazing.
We had an unforgettable experience and I cant wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Khwai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Elle122,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and we are delighted that you had such a great stay.

We are looking forward to your next visit too!

You are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Staying at this lodge was a real treat. It's a place I would happily return to on my next trip to Botswana. Of the three lodges that I visited in Botswana, the Kwai River Lodge had it all -- warm staff; rooms with a 180-degree panoramic view of the river complete with elephants and hippos; and a wonderful safari experience with seasoned guides.

Our arrival at the lodge was greeted by the entire staff, assembled on the front steps, singing warmly! It was a harbinger of things to come. The entire staff were terrific. You could tell from their enthusiasm how much they enjoyed being in the Moremi Game Reserve -- and this joy was infectious.

I thought our guide was almost as excited as we were to "race" the rare African wild dogs back to their den after a kill so we could watch them feed the pups! And, then there was the manager who didn't want me to miss out on seeing the "resident" baby hippo that he interrupted me while I was shopping for baskets made by the housekeepers, in the small gift shop. (By the way, the baskets were terrific.)

The only reason I didn't give this lodge a 5-star rating is due to the food. Granted, I'm a bit of a "foodie". The food was very good (particularly our "bush dinner") it just wasn't quite as good as another lodge I went to in the Makgadikgadi Pans. My recommendation is to stick with the vegetarian entrees if you go.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
Thank allthedifference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Khwai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

The allthedifference,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your experiences are just fabulous, and what a treat to see the wild dogs at the den - it's really special.

We will most certainly look at how we can improve our food standards and we hope that you will visit us again soon so we can ensure your next safari is perfect!

You are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards
Louise Pheiffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

The lodge, the staff, the food, the views, the spa, the game drives- all spectacular!!!!!!
Thank you Ness- our ranger, you were so great!
Will return ALWAYS XXX
You really get what you pay for and more. It's the little things like warm mittens, steel water bottles, Wacky knowing what you drink, a chef's hand on the kitchen, and nature loving rangers that make all the difference.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank AnnelineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Khwai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear AnnelineT,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are really delighted that this was such a special and memorable stay.

We are looking forward to your next visit and Wacky will most probably still remember what your drinks preference is...! And yes, Ness is a world of knowledge isn't he, he truly loves he work and Botswana.

You are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards
Louise Pheiffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Magnificent lodge! Everything is top class. The service at Belmond Khwai River Lodge is unforgettable. So kind, welcoming and friendly. You see and experience so much. Lots of game to see on the game drives and walking safaris. Ness was our tour guide, an extraordinary guide. He has great knowledge and passion for the wildlife! The lodge also has a very nice Spa. Delightful treatments available and served by the best hands in Botswana - without a doubt. Food was wonderful. Bedrooms were wonderful. Everything was just perfect. What an amazing stay. Highly recommended!!!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Linke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Khwai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Dear Linke S,

Thank you for you fabulous review of your recent safari! We are so happy that you had such a wonderful experience.

Ness is excellent, really passionate about his work isn't he! We will be sure to pass your review onto him and the rest of the team.

You are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

From the time you land in Maun you feel that you have made the right choice with Belmond Safaris as you are met by the pilot from Mack Air who will fly you to Belmond Khwai River Lodge and who explains the route and interesting sightings on the way.. We were met at the airstrip when we landed by our guide for our entire stay, Mighty, who turned out to be fantastic. After a 5 minute drive we were met by Chantelle, the Lodge Manageress with the rest of her staff who welcomed us with singing and dancing. We were then escorted to our room and showed around with enthusiasm and genuine interest. The bed was decorated with "Welcome" written in pebbles. We then were told to go to the dining area for freshly baked scones and then were taken on a game drive when we saw most animals including Leopard, Lion, Elephant, Hippo and many antelope. On our way back we were taken to an outdoor Boma where a delicious braai was served with wine and entertainment and then taken back to the Lodge where we relaxed next to the fire with a nightcap drink. The next day we were woken with a fresh tray of tea and biscuits brought to our room after which we proceeded to breakfast and another game drive at 07:00. During the game drive after seeing another leopard and many, many animals we stopped for a tea break when Mighty put out the table, covered it with a table cloth and proceeded to pour our tea and served us biscuits. We then proceeded further when we sighted about 7 African Wild Dogs sleeping in the shade of a tree. After that we went back to the lodge for a fantastic lunch. After relaxing at the lodge near the pool we went on an afternoon and night game drive where we saw another Leopard and many Elephant, Buffalo, a small giraffe that was a week old. We stopped next to the Khwai River for a sundowner and returned to the Lodge later that night after a fantastic game drive. The next day after another breakfast, game drive, lunch, game drive we had our last dinner and a few drinks around the fire with the general manager, Christelle Horne who told us many interesting tales that happened at the 3 lodges.
The next day we skipped the morning game drive as we were flying back to SA at 11:00. After a fantastic flight over the swamps we landed at Maun and boarded our flight to Johannesburg and then on to PE.

We all had the most delightful 3 days at the Lodge and will definitely return soon as the bug has bitten! The best was the fantastic dedication of all the staff at the Lodge, Guides and kitchen staff. Well done to all!!

Room Tip: All rooms front onto the Khwai River with fantastic views
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Khwai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear Jan B,

We cannot thank you enough for your fabulous review and sharing all your beautiful memories with us!

We are delighted that you has such a wonderful time and that you were taken care of so well by Mighty and the rest of the lodge staff.

Mighty is one of our longest serving guides and is one of those 'old souls' with a wealth of knowledge and a true love for his work, Botswana and the landscape. I'm sure between him and Christelle, you were very much entertained by stories rich with sentiment and knowledge...

Reviews like yours is what we strive for, and we hope to welcome you back to the lodges again soon, for more stories, sightings and delicious food too!

Warm regards
Louise Pheiffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews