We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Nearby Hotels
Camp Moremi(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1,845
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sango Safari Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1,175
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanctuary Chief's Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$5,205
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Khwai River Lodge(Moremi Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jao Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyena Pan Tented Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
199
29
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
29
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilderness safarisgame viewingchief's islandblack rhinonew chefevery turnelevated walkwayduma taucape buffalowild dogsover the topother guestsgiraffe killevery guestlion prideokavango deltaherd of elephants
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I am not a prolific TA reviewer - only for the very special places in my lifetime. This is one of them. My wife and I work about half-time in Africa including Botswana. When I asked our government sponsor (who has been all over) where to go if we take a safari - the answer was clearly - Okavanga Delta in Botswana. We found Wilderness Safaris on the web and they connected us to a local travel agent in Denver. As it turns out - the good reserves and good agents actually visit these reserves to get to know which ones have what accommodations, food, service etc.
When I say "reserve" that is somewhat misleading. There really aren't fences keeping animals in or out here. This is nature at its finest. Botswana (we know the government well) are one of the finest in conservation, anti-poaching and adoption of rhinos and others from other countries that need to place them. The delta is a natural attraction as the area floods once a year from rains in Angola driving wildlife naturally to the area. We happened to come after a long drought (our second visit) and saw the delta as we hadn't before and were not disappointed.
So if you believe the the Delta is for you - Mombo Camp is the best - whether Little Mombo or Mombo Camp. They are adjacent and of course share the same natural wildlife in their environs. This was our second visit of 3-4 days (can't afford the time or money for longer) and we got to see offspring of the same leopards and lion prides from our last visit. You can see pretty much anything hear except Cheetahs. The changing seasons give different opportunities. The flooding drives more wildlife, but you can enjoy more babies of all types in other times. The guides are experienced and friendly. Be patient and you will enjoy quiet moments of lions lounging, cubs waking up and playing, etc. It even rained heavily one whole day and we still saw some things we had not before.
Lastly, the food and accommodations at Mombo are the best. Nothing to want or need. If you want wi-fi and facebook - I don't even know if internet is available - you are in the wrong place. This is Africa untouched. As it has been for centuries. Come and enjoy and respect where you are.

Room Tip: The views from the two "tents" we enjoyed were as peaceful as they come.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denver7756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear denver7756,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to see we were highly and rightly recommended. It sounds like you had some amazing sightings and we hope you were able to take home some great photos of your memorable time with us. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We had 3 nights at Little Mombo and would have loved to stay longer. The room was just beautiful with everything we could possibly want. Food was absolutely delicious and staff were incredibly attentive and friendly. Our guide was patient and knowledgeable and went above and beyond to make sure we not just saw the animals but were in the best position to take amazing photos.
Our only disappointment was that, when we booked, Little Mombo was advertised as having only 3 rooms but it has since been reconfigured and now has 5. Although we were very much enjoyed our stay, we were disappointed that it was not as intimate as we had expected.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Jo K,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay at Little Mombo and look forward to sharing your kind words with your guide Sefo, the kitchen staff and the rest of the team in camp. In anticipation of a proposed rebuild, we had to alter the configuration of both Little Mombo and Mombo camps for a temporary period. As this appears to have not been shared with you prior to your arrival, please do accept our apologies. Despite the fact that Little Mombo was hosting a larger number of people at the time, we are pleased that you still had an outstanding visit! We would love to see some of your wonderful photos and have a handy tool on our website where you can do so; just click on the "Share your Wilderness Safari Album" link and you can upload these great photos.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We stayed at Little Mombo Camp a bit over a week in February 2016. The wildlife experience began right from the airstrip, as we saw more wildlife on the way to the lodge then on a regular drive in other camps. The welcome was very warm, the stuff exceptional. Will the camp manager was a nice guy and had a sense for what is needed with every guest. Our ranger Yompy became more funny everyday and had a huge knowledge of the birdlife of Botswana. As my wife and me are v ery much into birding it was a pleasure to do drives with him, learn about the nature and have a good time. The room was perfect and well worth the money. I couldn't imagine anything to dislike in this camp, but you must be into wildlife more than in other camps as this is set so deep into nature, that there is a Hyena in the camp (even using the walkways sometime), Elephants walking through Trail bridges, serval cats, baboons, squirrels and mice crossing our ways day and night. Perfect for us.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AroundTheGIobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Dear AroundTheGlobe,

Thank you for your amazing review, we are overjoyed to read your wonderful memories of your stay with us and delighted to see the entire experience was able to meet and in most cases exceed your expectations. As keen birders you will be glad to know that Little Mombo has recently been deemed as, an Important Bird and Biodiversity Area (IBA). That is an area identified using an internationally agreed set of criteria as being globally important for the conservation of bird populations. We are glad to have been able to share this wonder with you both and hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Little Mombo was our first stop on our first visit to Africa. Accommodations are lovely. Staff is welcoming and so helpful. Game drives nod guides were extraordinary. No internet was a relief from the hectic work we live in. It was an extraordinary experience!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mamaski912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Dear Mamaski,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear what a great stay you had with us and how much you enjoyed your time out on game drives with your guide. We hope that you will visit us again so that we can make many more wonderful memories together.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

My husband and I stayed at Little Mombo, which has only 3 rooms and is attached to the larger camp Mombo by a boardwalk. This was our second Wilderness Safari camp and like Kings Pool and later Vumbura Plains another amazing location and camp. The staff was welcoming, warm and friendly and we liked the fact that it was small and intimate. The accommodations beautiful and very comfortable and the food absolutely delicious and beautifully prepared and served. We had an amazing guide, Cisco incredibly, smart and great to travel with. We saw so many great sights and animals and each day provided us with experiences we will never forget. We highly recommend this camp to all interested in a great safari experience. We would only want to stay at Wilderness safari properties because they have the perfect formula and perfect camps for those interested in a wonderful safari.

Room Tip: Only three rooms and all are very beautiful and comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Arlene,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and our other camps that you stayed at. We will be sure to pass along your praises to Cisco and all the staff in camp.

Wilderness Safaris is an ecotourism company that specialises in creating memorable journeys in some of the most remote and pristine areas in Africa, while at the same time helping to ensure the future protection of Africa’s spectacular wildlife heritage and sharing the benefits of tourism with local communities. At Wilderness Safaris, we believe in creating journeys, not holidays. A journey is an immersive experience, one that changes how you view the world in general and the wild places of Africa in particular.

Than you again,
The Team at Little Mombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews