We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a second visit”
Review of Camp Xakanaxa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Xakanaxa
Certificate of Excellence
victoria falls
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth a second visit”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had a lovely two nights at this exquisite camp.Very comfortable rooms.The bathrooms are so lovely, did not expect such for a bush retreat.Staffers are very helpful and knowledgeable on their surroundings.Excellent food.If you are an animal lover, this is the place to go to!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlefreesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    46
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
102
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AdrianBrett
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a great 5 days here in February 2014. The staff were wonderful from the second we got there. The food is lovely and there are always several choices. The facilities and rooms are of an excellent standard. Our guide on the drives was knowledgable about everything. We were surprised on our last night there to be taken away from the main group (who always eat meals together on a magnificent dining table) and to be given a candle lit table all of our own to celebrate our recent marriage. This was such a lovely gesture and we were truly touched by it.

The safari drives themselves were very different to what we have been used to previously when we had been to Kruger. It is much quieter here in this area, so you rarely see other vehicles. The scenery is breath taking. We got to see leopard, twice!

I could not recommend this place enough.

Only slight complaint is that the power goes off at night, so you can't use the fans, and it does get warm. Other than that we really had no complaint.

Room Tip: Our room was the furthest away from the recreation area, and we had hippo coming in from the river o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

this camp has an excellent staff. very attentive to all your needs. the game drives were well organized and thanks to an excellent guide,Montsou, we saw lots and lots of animals and birds. the food was excellent and plentiful. we enjoyed having dinner with some of the staff..it gave the whole camp a family feeling and we could share our day with them

Room Tip: the camp has tents and they are all the same. very upscale camping and very clean and nicely appoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Comfortable rooms and very nice public areas overlooking the wetlands. Great animal sightings and guiding was fantastic by Baams - seemed to have unparalleled knowledge of birds, animals & plants. Safari vehicles and driving excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful, and food was great. Probably a bit more regimented than some of the other camps we stayed at and the rooms were getting a bit tired, particularly the bathrooms not being gauzed . Swimming pool was good in the heat of the day, but hot at night as some others have commented with power going off at 8.00pm. Not as friendly as some camps as some of the other "guests" (actually the new owners we believed) didn't socialise at all, which made us feel uncomfortable when we were the only other guests at the camp and we ate at the same table.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LachlanP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

It was VERY hot during our stay - 100+ degrees F in early November. No electricity or fan (there IS no A/C) after 8PM (generators off during the night). Unable to sleep at night due to the stifling heat. Be aware during the hot season there will be no air movement as no fan during the night so visits during the cooler season may be preferable.

Very disappointed by the lack of wildlife - very curious. I was told here would be so much better than S.Africa; it was a big let down. A few elephants, cape buffalo, one leopard but only from a distance as it is not allowed to go off-track. The guide never seemed to drive more than 10 minutes from the camp. Would sit and talk & talk after the animals had walked away for 10 minutes. Are the animals gone from here or did the guide just not want to drive further? Also a guide is supposed to fetch guests in the evening to escort them to dinner in the dark. We were forgotten and we had to dash from our tent as there was a hippo on the path next to our tent - very scary when all we had was a flashlight! This was not just an over sight but could have had tragic consequences.

The bar/dining area next to the river is VERY nice - very Out of Africa decor to a "New" worlder. Bar is open/free during the day, but we were so hot, drinking alcohol did not appeal to us. The food I think was very good and plenty of it. The staff is bit reserved but that is fine and may be more local custom. Overall "nice" experience, but given the cost & distance, there are other places to consider for a better animal viewing and guest comfort.

Room Tip: During hot season (100 degrees plus), no electricity to run the fan after 8PM, so visits during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrid_Avia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

(Dec '13 visit) This camp was by far located in one of the most beautiful locations in the Delta. Upon arrival you're immersed in the wilderness, the subtle but natural architecture of the camp makes for a wonderful atmosphere. What really makes this camp is the staff, extremely caring and helpful. Despite the extreme wet climate during the december season, the safari's were incredible, we got up close and personal to most of the Big 5, and captured some incredible shots along the way. Our nights were spent swapping stories with fellow tourists and tour guides beside a campfire. Our tents were always super clean and bug free!

For those of you who might be reading gulliversplanet's 4 year old review, here's a datapoint from another safari veteran: The numbers on here speak for themselves. I'm writing a review based on 100s of other safari visits to different camps. I just got back from that trip and certainly plan on going again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ankur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
944 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A fantastic camp site right on a permanent river, so expect visits from crocodiles, Hippo's etc. All inclusive, but delicious food and includes alcohol. The guides are knowledgable and take great pride, so should tip them at the end. Some sensational animal interactions, albeit not the volume of animals at other places, more intense experiences. Very reasonably priced with all staff friendly, a wonderful place to visit. 3/4 days perfect length of stay. Only recomendation is for some sort of fitness centre or walking track, you dont do much excercise and the food is good and plentiful!

Room Tip: On the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
8.3 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
33.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#27 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
55.4 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
26.8 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Xakanaxa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Xakanaxa

Property: Camp Xakanaxa
Address: Xakanaxa Region, Moremi Game Reserve | Private Bag 310, Maun, Botswana, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Xakanaxa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Moremi Game Reserve, which is rated as being one of the finest game viewing areas in Africa, Camp Xakanaxa has one of the best locations in Botswana. Accommodation is in twelve tastefully furnished tents with twin or double beds and en-suite facilities with shower, hand basin and w.c. The tents are situated on the edge of the lagoon and from their private viewing deck, with comfortable loungers, one looks onto the reed fringes at the waters edge. The camp, with its eclectic mix of furnishings from all over Africa, has a dining room, lounge/bar area, fire deck and plunge pool all slightly raised on wooden platforms with spectacular views over the lagoon. The reception area boasts a curio shop. At night the camp looks stunning as it is lit by dozens of paraffin lamps and candles. The game drives in this sector of Moremi take one down winding tracks, through Mopane forests and across lush grasslands. The waterways are either forded by vehicles or crossed on rustic log bridges. The camp faces out over the Xakanaxa Lagoon on the Khwai River, where combined boat and mokoro (dug-out canoe) trips explore the sinuous channels and floodplains of the Delta, one of Africa’s greatest natural wonders. Birding in the area is excellent, especially in the spring and summer months when the migrants are breeding. To the north are the world famous heronries, which attract large numbers of breeding storks and herons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xakanaxa Camp, Botswana Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing