We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tents, terrific food,”
Review of Camp Xakanaxa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Xakanaxa
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great tents, terrific food,”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wonderful luxury tents, bathrooms well appointed but open to the air (don't leave your toothpaste in there or the baboons may come to get it). Food options diverse with great deserts. Guide was friendly and knowledgeable; family had grown up in the area and able to share many local bits of history and tradition. Trip down the Okavango River was excellent and an option for a ride in a dugout canoe. Deck in front of the tent is great for sitting, pool also available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footballSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    46
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
102
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We staid two night in Xakanaxa in the Moremi Game Reserve. The camp was very very nice with a view on the okavango river. The staff was very friendly and our guide Conrad very nice! The food was delicious and the bedroom very clean with a nice outdoor shower! Thank you to everybody for the really nice stay in Xakanaxa!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely setting in the Moremi reserve. Guides very knowledgeable and shared information, which allowed us to see lions, cheetah, and a leopard (not to mention elephants, giraffe, warthog, etc). In the private reserve, they can go off-road to allow you to see these animals move through the bush.
Food very good. Rooms clean and comfortable. The marula trees were dropping their fruit, which the baboons loved- and the baboons were quite aggressive, even getting into one tent! But zipping everything down completely keeps them out. Check out the baskets which are made by the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria falls
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had a lovely two nights at this exquisite camp.Very comfortable rooms.The bathrooms are so lovely, did not expect such for a bush retreat.Staffers are very helpful and knowledgeable on their surroundings.Excellent food.If you are an animal lover, this is the place to go to!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlefreesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianBrett
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a great 5 days here in February 2014. The staff were wonderful from the second we got there. The food is lovely and there are always several choices. The facilities and rooms are of an excellent standard. Our guide on the drives was knowledgable about everything. We were surprised on our last night there to be taken away from the main group (who always eat meals together on a magnificent dining table) and to be given a candle lit table all of our own to celebrate our recent marriage. This was such a lovely gesture and we were truly touched by it.

The safari drives themselves were very different to what we have been used to previously when we had been to Kruger. It is much quieter here in this area, so you rarely see other vehicles. The scenery is breath taking. We got to see leopard, twice!

I could not recommend this place enough.

Only slight complaint is that the power goes off at night, so you can't use the fans, and it does get warm. Other than that we really had no complaint.

Room Tip: Our room was the furthest away from the recreation area, and we had hippo coming in from the river o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

this camp has an excellent staff. very attentive to all your needs. the game drives were well organized and thanks to an excellent guide,Montsou, we saw lots and lots of animals and birds. the food was excellent and plentiful. we enjoyed having dinner with some of the staff..it gave the whole camp a family feeling and we could share our day with them

Room Tip: the camp has tents and they are all the same. very upscale camping and very clean and nicely appoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Comfortable rooms and very nice public areas overlooking the wetlands. Great animal sightings and guiding was fantastic by Baams - seemed to have unparalleled knowledge of birds, animals & plants. Safari vehicles and driving excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful, and food was great. Probably a bit more regimented than some of the other camps we stayed at and the rooms were getting a bit tired, particularly the bathrooms not being gauzed . Swimming pool was good in the heat of the day, but hot at night as some others have commented with power going off at 8.00pm. Not as friendly as some camps as some of the other "guests" (actually the new owners we believed) didn't socialise at all, which made us feel uncomfortable when we were the only other guests at the camp and we ate at the same table.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LachlanP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
8.3 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
33.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#28 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
55.4 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
26.8 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Xakanaxa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Xakanaxa

Property: Camp Xakanaxa
Address: Xakanaxa Region, Moremi Game Reserve | Private Bag 310, Maun, Botswana, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Xakanaxa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Moremi Game Reserve, which is rated as being one of the finest game viewing areas in Africa, Camp Xakanaxa has one of the best locations in Botswana. Accommodation is in twelve tastefully furnished tents with twin or double beds and en-suite facilities with shower, hand basin and w.c. The tents are situated on the edge of the lagoon and from their private viewing deck, with comfortable loungers, one looks onto the reed fringes at the waters edge. The camp, with its eclectic mix of furnishings from all over Africa, has a dining room, lounge/bar area, fire deck and plunge pool all slightly raised on wooden platforms with spectacular views over the lagoon. The reception area boasts a curio shop. At night the camp looks stunning as it is lit by dozens of paraffin lamps and candles. The game drives in this sector of Moremi take one down winding tracks, through Mopane forests and across lush grasslands. The waterways are either forded by vehicles or crossed on rustic log bridges. The camp faces out over the Xakanaxa Lagoon on the Khwai River, where combined boat and mokoro (dug-out canoe) trips explore the sinuous channels and floodplains of the Delta, one of Africa’s greatest natural wonders. Birding in the area is excellent, especially in the spring and summer months when the migrants are breeding. To the north are the world famous heronries, which attract large numbers of breeding storks and herons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xakanaxa Camp, Botswana Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing