We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
mirike123
New South Wales, Australia
132130
Outstanding fun, great rooms, wonderful game viewing and Dicks is a legend!
Review of Camp Xakanaxa
Reviewed 20 Aug 2016
We stayed at 3 different game reserves and this was the best. Sharing tables with other guests ensured that conversation was lively and that small talk was avoided. It was all about sharing experiences of the day. Meals were buffet style, delicious and plentiful. The staff were truly wonderful and prefaced each meal with a description of what the dishes consisted of and sometimes we even got a show with the staff singing and dancing. Now for the guide, driver, tracker and now friend, DICKS.All-in-one amazing person, a credit to the Camp. He could smell when there was a kill.He could tell which way the lions were heading and would turn the jeep around suddenly and say "that way". We had an amazing time. We even received a postcard from him today. I have no hesitation in recommending this place...it was a fantastic experience.Straight off the small plane, straight into a jeep and within minutes we were seeing 3 different animals. WOW!
Date of stay: June 2016
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
5.2 miles from Camp Xakanaxa
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
26.7 miles from Camp Xakanaxa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Moremi Game Reserve
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
339
57
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
339
57
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river okavango delta game drives wild dogs resident hippo moremi national park great guide private dinner boat safari staff choir beautiful birds spent nights wonderful experience wildlife viewing water based hot water bottles the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Everything was just great. The tent accommodation was super, always clean with plenty of hot water.
Staff couldn't do enough to help. I never had to ask for a push in the wheelchair, someone was always there to help ( with a big smile !)
Eating was always a delight. Here for 3 nights, certainly never felt hungry !
The bush drives were so exciting, and saw a good variety of animals and birds.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _ali_rodda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Dear ali_rodda123
Thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris. I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and felt right at home. I will share the review with our team as they will be pleased to read it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We got to spend several days & nights at Camp "X" and it was glorious. The cabins are luxurious & the camp is situated right on the Delta. We had a family of 3 hippos visiting every night! The food was excellent, a mix of popular Western dishes & local favorites including local game. We met in the "bar" for pre-dinner drinks with other guests & staff each night. We sat around the fire pit to exchange stories from the day's adventures. We enjoyed two game drives each day (along with a boat ride on the Delta) with a variety of animal & bird sightings. Along with the hippos there were lions, buffalo, elephants, giraffes, crocodiles, wild dogs, baboons, antelope & impala, fish eagles, spoonbills, etc. Our guide Dicks was a very experienced tracker who taught us a lot of tricks for finding the local wildlife. He was both knowledgeable & friendly & we thoroughly enjoyed his company and expertise. Each time we went out we were greeted with warm washcloths to wash off the trail dust on our return! I cannot wait to go back again.

Room tip: Variety of private cabins located right on the Okavango Delta
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Dear Valerie C
Many thanks for the wonderfully extensive review from your stay at Camp Xakanaxa. Such great moments and experiences created from your stay. I will be sure to share the feedback with all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

What a great introduction - Straight of the plane and into our car for a game safari with our guide! This heralded a great start to our 2 night stay at this camp. Each day our drives differed as we explored different parts of the nature reserve. Our guide "Chemical" was most adept at seeking out the animals that we could view. Knowledgeable about the reserve and the animals/birds, he was very entertaining. The food was plentiful and of good quality. The service staff was very attentive and treated us to some local songs during dinner!. During the day we relaxed and lounged about the ample daybeds/pool. No WiFi though there is a laptop which you can use to access your emails etc - just don't expect great internet speeds. Accommodation was tent based and the tent featured a spacious bathroom. Beds were very comfortable and nicely presented upon our arrival. Enjoy the nightlife as we had a few visitors (of the animal kind) during the night (noisy Genets!!) I would have given this a 5 star however having stayed at their sister camp (Camp Okavango) with their recently renovated facilities including accommodation may have spoiled my view. Nevertheless a great camp, great location and enjoy the game drives - there is plenty to see in Moremi and the Camp Xakanaxa team shouldn't let you down!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andramara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Dear Andramara
Thank you for yet another great review on one of our properties, Camp Xakanaxa. I am pleased to read that the great experience has continued throughout your stay in Botswana. I will again share your feedback with the camp. Many thanks for taking the time to complete the reviews.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

My family and I spent 3 wonderful days at this delightful safari camp in the Moremi Game Reserve. Our safari guides were uniformly wonderful -- they had vast knowledge of all animals, birds, and plants we saw, and they went to the max every day to show us a spectacular array of wildlife. The views on the lagoon were wonderful, the food was great, and all the staff did their utmost to make our stay really enjoyable and memorable. This camp is operated by Desert and Delta Safaris, and we had great experiences at their other camps as well. Recommend them very highly!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear dwhamilton
Thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris. I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at Camp Xakanaxa. I will be sure to share the positive feedback with the camp. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Having stayed at numerous game lodges in South Africa, Camp Xakanaxa offer some of the world’s best safari experiences. Situated on the waterfront at the tip of the Mopane Tongue inside Moremi National Park, Xakanaxa is a traditional, intimate small lodge with 12 opulent tented accommodation. The luxurious tented accommodation do not compromise on comfort.

Botswana offers the purest and arguably the highest quality safari in Africa.

With the assistance of Ben, we experienced seamless, warm, hospitable service that Botswana is renowned for.

The tented accommodation allows the sights, sounds, and smells of the magnificent surroundings to flood in.

Xakanaxa Camp Lodge is a small and unique camp located at the edge of the Moremi National Park and is set in a cluster of 3 lodges. Xakanaxa Camp lodge is slightly set away from the other two lodges and is, in my view, the best of the three. Its primary location on the banks of the Khwai River on the Xakanaxa Lagoon in the heart of the Moremi National Park ensure that it is one of the only safari camps which can provide guests with an authentic year round Okavango Delta land and water safari experience.

The total emphasis is on discreet, personal service to ensure maximum guest enjoyment. It is totally soulful and serene.

I had the pleasure of enjoying this camp with two very good friends and we enjoyed it that much we are hoping to return next year with our wives and family.

We cannot thank the staff enough for this unique experience, so thank you to Ben, Loveness, Love, Dicks (our guide), Hendricks, Croc, Kago and the wonderful kitchen staff Emily, Gose and Mpho. You all certainly made this a very memorable experience. Sincerest thank you from the 3 Aussies!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ell307
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear Ell307
Thank you for a very detailed review from your stay at Camp Xakanaxa. By the sounds of it you had a wonderful time and you enjoyed the camp, wildlife and the staff. I will be sure to send the great feedback to the camp for all to read. We do hope that you will return next year with your families and we will be waiting to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews