We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wildlife Viewing”
Review of Camp Moremi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Moremi
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wildlife Viewing”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Camp Moremi was one of our accomodations during a 11 day safari through Botswana. We were there for two nights.


The lodge is conveniently located in an isolated area that is abundant with wildlife. Our accomodation was very clean and comfortable but not too modern that it eliminated the safari ambiance. The level of service during our stay was superb. We had no issues with any requests that we had. Every single staff member greeted us with a hello and smile making us feel most welcome.

ROOMS:
 There are only a small number of lodges. Each one is very nicely appointed balancing the amenities we all seek while on holiday while still maintaining a unique African ambiance.


DINING:
 The food selection and service was very good. While the variety could have been greater, the food items that were provided were cooked appropriately, tasted great and served in a fantastic atmosphere.

SAFARI: There are both water and land-based safari viewing activities. We saw a great variety of wildlife and our guide was professional and knowledgable.

Overall this is an excellent lodge that provides a very high standard of service and amenities.



We would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family.

Room Tip: There is only a small number of rooms available with suitable distance between them. Other than a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    45
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
165
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at camp moremi for 2 nights and had the most wonderful time. All the staff were amazing, so friendly, helpful and accommodating, Ollie the manager was just lovely. Anything you needed they could do.
The rooms were fabulous, so well presented and serviced, we were definitely "glamping" not camping!
Our guide Coca was very knowledgable, friendly and entertaining and took us out to see lions and their cubs right up close, which was such an awesome experience. It was great to have the mix of game drives and boat cruises, plus the siesta time in the middle of the day was just perfect. The camp itself is gorgeous and food was excellent. 100% recommend, it was our favorite place in Botswana.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally_M_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

One of the highlights of our trip was this gorgeous park. Lodge is simple but staff is great, food good and drives spectacular. Guide Banda is made of Gold and deserves highest praise. The staff singing at dinner, always smiling and making you feel special is a rare treat in this world. Would like to return for sure. The rooms are simple for Botswana standards and the bathrooms need some maintaining but all over all it is a wonderfull place!

Room Tip: all rooms are facing the bush, so it does not really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Two days at Camp Moremi...and we just managed to see a young leopard in a tree on our very last game drive. But saw plenty of other game in the beautiful surroundings, plus of course wonderful bird life on the river. The staff are all delightful, and professional. Accommodation and food top class. The Delta is unique and will hopefully stay that way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Within 10 minutes of arriving at Moremi Game reserve, our driver Frank, had spotted a leopard stalking an impala, and that was our luck for the entire time at Moremi! Setch, Ollie and Lucky welcomed us to our home in Camp Moremi, and it did feel like home. We had fresh towels to clean our hands and faces everytime we returned from a game drive. Lucky would put the basket for the used ones on her head, which my daughters thought was cool. The accommodation was just like it looks in the pictures, clean, neat, homely and spacious. The bathrooms were clean and modern enough and the verandah was a great place to leave our shoes and drink bottles. Banda, our guide for the enitre time we stayed was exceptional. He was the master spotter, finding lions, another young male leopard, and taking us to some beautiful plains to see a compostiion of animals such as zebra, impala, kudu, hyena and buffalo. He was great at knowing where all the hippos were hiding, and of course we saw the majestic elephants. There were baboons, mongoose, badgers, not to mention all of the amazing birdlife. We laughed and chatted our way around the Okavango Delta for three days and never tired of the beautiful scenery and wildlife, topped off with the most amazing spots to watch the sun go down with a pre-dinner drink and nibbles. The water safari was another level again with us snaking our way through the reeded channels and coming across elephants waist high in water having a wash! Dinner each night was delicious, and we loved the entertainment! Three nights was a great lenght to stay and we always felt safe with the team watching over the camp. Mod, Muama, Mogo, Matty and Charlie all looked after us as well and we did feel genuniely welcome. Dint miss going to this amazing place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 258Linz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Camp Moremi was the first camp we stayed at on our trip to Botswana. We were here 2 nights and wish we were there longer! It is amazing! From the moment we got off the aircraft the greeting was fabulous - when we got to camp, Setch, Hannah, Erny and Lucky were there waving to us with cool towels and warm smiles.....We felt like we were being welcomed 'home'.
Our room was divine - not just a tent! We were impressed with all the small details. Having a bushbuck and her baby eating under the tent where we could see them was so special.

Our guide MOD was superb!!! Such an assett! He had the most amazing sense of humour and his tracking skills are something to be admired. From 150m away he stopped the truck and just said "beautiful". We all wondered what he'd seen and then through binoculars we see a stunning young leapard on a branch in a tree. We couldn't believe he saw that from so far! We can't speak highly enough of Mod....absolutely loved him as our guide.

The staff at Camp Moremi are all so friendly and welcoming - the evening songs and dancing were so special to be a part of and every one of the 'team' knew your name personally by the end of the first day. Every time we saw each other we were greeted by name and a friendly smile.
The food was excellent and we were impressed with how good the chef is to create such delicacies in the remoteness of Moremi.
We are already planning on coming back and can't wait to stay at Camp Moremi again.....
You guys are fantastic and we absolutely loved our stay with you :)
Caroline and Matthew

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Car014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Moremi, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Caroline and Mathew

We are very grateful for the time and effort you have taken to post such a detailed and kind review of your experience with us at Camp Moremi. We are very happy that enjoyed your stay with us and that Moremi lived up to its reputation.

Thanks for recognising key team players - your comments are kind and incredibly motivating to them. Thanks also for your kind comments on Mod. He is going to love reading this review!!

Indeed, we are waiting for your return - we really enjoyed having you as our guests and look very forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

With kind regards - Setch, Lucky, Hannah, Erny, Mod and the entire Camp M team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at camp moremi as part of our 3 week honeymoon for 2 nights and it was magical. From the moment we arrived, we were looked after until we were dropped to the small airstrip to head back to Maun. Frank our guide was excellent and there was not one question about birtds, plants or animals he couldn't answer. We saw loads - cheetah, lions, hippos, elephants, wildebeest.....Hannah and the team made us feel very welcome and we got a beautiful 'tent' (too luxurious to call it that) with our own look out post. Soko and I really enjoyed our stay and we plan to travel to Botswana every year so we will be back to visit the family in camp moremi. Thanks again and would highly recommend this lodge to anyone visiting the delta. The dinners and all food were first class. I particularly enjoyed the sunset drinks especially with the giraffes!! Joanne & Soko

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannem_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Camp Moremi, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Joanne and Soko

We are please to see that you are back home safely. We thank you both for being our guests on your recent visit to Botswana and we are privileged that you chose Camp Moremi to be one of your stays for your Honeymoon. We loved having you as our guests - many thanks.

Many thanks as well for your kind words about our staff and the of course, our Frank. Comments such as these are always hugely rewarding for all of us to strive harder at what we do.

We cant wait to welcome you back to Camp Moremi one day - your tent is waiting for you!

With kindest regards - Setch, Lucky, Hannah, Erny, Frank and the entire Camp M team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
33.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
219 reviews
5.1 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#15 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
83 reviews
25.8 mi away
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
#9 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.3 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
40.6 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#20 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Moremi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Moremi

Property: Camp Moremi
Address: Xakanaxa Lagoon | Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Moremi is owned and operated by Desert & Delta Safaris, Botswana. Camp Moremi is located n the edge of the Xaxanaka Lagoon, in the heart of Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana. The camp has eleven tented rooms, all raised on teak decks, each with adjacent toilet/shower room.Camp Moremi also has a private swimming pool, raised lookout deck, garden boma which serves breakfast, brunches and afternoon tea and the main lodge building is a raised tree house which houses a lounge, small reference library, bar, restaurant and expansive decked verandah. Your stay at Camp Moremi is a fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, all drinks, scheduled guided safari activities, laundry service, National Park entrance fees and medical evacuation insurance. Scheduled activities include both land and water activities in the form of guides game drives and boat activities within the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Camp Moremi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Moremi Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing