We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To be expected here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sharon Hotel

Sharon Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sharon Hotel
Lee on the Solent
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“To be expected here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

In the industrial capital of this impoverised island this was what was expected for aweek long business visit. Room was clean and functional, but shower had little pressure and water in system had some discolouring. Good WiFi connection although pwer cuts occured 3 times during a storm; although power was very quickly restored. Pool is a nice deep plunge pool for cooling off. Restaurant had a good menu and all meals were good quality and by comparison to other parts of the world good value. Probably relatively high priced compared to elsewhere but don't begrudge a donation to the local economy in return for well cooked and well presented food. Breakfast could be improved with a little thought about freshness of bread in paticular.

Room Tip: Try and be on an inside room and then the morning cockerells won't be so loud :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ovalmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    12
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
11
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Very nice hotel, nice pool and restaurant. cute little bar.
Location is not bad, walking distance from the beach (about 5 minutes)
Very close to The Neptune night club and the Queens nightclub.
If you need a taxi day or night, you have one of the best location right by the Hotel where the gas station is. This is the taxi hang out spot 24 / 7
But kind of expensive for a Madagascar Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get the New renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bassboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

The Sharon Hotel is in theory tamataves best hotel but it looks like it's clearly aimed at any westerners doing business here. Rooms are clean and it has a nice pool and restaurant. Probably the equivalent of a 3 star European hotel. But it is extremely expensive by madagascar standards.

But what annoyed us most was the unfriendly unhelpful lady on reception. We needed a taxi to get a boat crossing to sainte Marie the next day. The office is not far from the hotel and the lady insisted the fare would be 10000 airy and we could use the hotel taxi. We said we would find our own taxi but she said there would be no taxis in the morning. Easily done and the taxi drivers first price was 4000 airy (and in Madagascar you haggle to 50%). Most hotels in madagascar will help you and give advice. Not here and it left a bad taste in the mouth of poor service and over-priced. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldpicture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
281 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We arrived in Tamatave by boat after spending a few days at Bush House on the Canal due Pangalanes. The contrast both of the locations and the hotels was huge. Bush House is a rustic, middle of nowhere experience. Hotel Sharon is smack in the middle of the City of Tamatave and is a modern business class hotel which would rate a good 3 star in Europe. We had a ‘Luxe’ room which was large and well decorated, had air con , 24 hour electricity and wifi internet which all came as a bit of a shock after Bush House. The room was clean and modern though the bathroom seemed to have last been refurbished at a different time to the rest of the room as was showing signs of wear and tear. There is a nice pizza restaurant joined onto the hotel with patio dining by the pool. The hotel is just on the edge of the town centre, about two blocks from the sea. There are a couple of bar/restaurants there which we walked to and from at night with no problems. There were a few negative points. One was the price - we paid around 85 euros for the room which is very expensive for Madagascar, but as the Sharon is probably the best hotel in town you should expect to pay European prices. Another negative was that no mosquito nets were provided but some of the little critters must have sneaked into the room (maybe in my bag!) and I had about 10 nice bites in the morning. One other minus point was that we were wanting to travel North up the coast to Mahambo and wanted to enquire whether we would be able to maybe take a local taxi. The lady on reception, who actually spoke OK English, more or less said this wasn’t possible, that she didn’t know of anywhere in town this could be arranged and we would have to take the bus. We went for a wander round town and within 30 minutes had secured a taxi for the 2 hour journey for 40 Euros. (The driver was very good, his name is Jean and his number is (261) 3250 26160 in case anyone else wants to use his services). I would have expected a Hotel of the Sharon’s standard to be able to arrange something like this but reception seemed totally nonplussed by the idea. In summary, it’s a good standard hotel, excellent for Madagascar and a safe option in Tamatave, but for that you do pay European prices.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toamasina (Tamatave)
0.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 11 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Joffre
Hotel Joffre
#2 of 11 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#5 of 11 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sunny Golf Hotel
Sunny Golf Hotel
#3 of 11 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Veranda
La Veranda
#7 of 11 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Lagon
Hotel Le Lagon
#1 of 3 in Mahavelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Hotel

Property: Sharon Hotel
Address: Boulevard de la Liberation, Toamasina (Tamatave) 501, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Toamasina (Tamatave)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Toamasina (Tamatave)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Sharon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Madagascar/Toamasina (Tamatave)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing