We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel for Tamatave”
Review of Hotel Joffre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Joffre
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I thought this hotel was really nice, despite finding Tamatave quite intimidating. We had a suite that had a seperate lounge and bedroom. Everything was very modern and clean. The food in the restaurant was top notch but we were the only people there which we thought looked ominous but it was one of the nicer dinners and service we had during our trip. The staff got up at 4.30am with us and made us a lovely breakfast. Couldn't ask for much more. And there was free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Joffre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

I currently write this from the hotel reception catching up on my emails using the free Wifi after a day of meetings in Tamatave port.

The recently renovated rooms are excellent, bathrooms a good size and clean.

If I has to give a downside, it would be that the breakfast was pretty basic and that you could not access the free wifi from your room and had to venture downstairs into the restaurant/bar/reception area. Other than that, I would certainly recommend the Joffre for anyone visiting Tamatave.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnthonyParker1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I agree with "Renovated" who said "When I started reading the negative reviews for this hotel, I thought I had the wrong hotel." I ended up staying at the Calypso (separate review) which is excellent, but I spent about 1/2 hr checking this place out and would stay here if Calypso was full. It was clean, the rooms were nice and light (they had big rooms and smaller cheaper rooms) and the staff were relaxed but helpful. The wifi was free and fast enough and the restaurant was very clean (I ate there). Within the standard of Tamatave, this is a good place. I think this hotel is getting treated somewhat unfairly.

Room Tip: big room with balcony
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

When I started reading the negative reviews for this hotel, I thought I had the wrong hotel and there were two with the same name. I had a great experience at this hotel - stayed there one day. I read on their website that rooms had recently been renovated, thus my satisfaction with the hotel. My room had a balcony although, it was a busy street, new and modern furnishings/bathroom with no insects to be seen anywhere. I noticed many business travelers staying there as well. My interaction with the manager Georgina was a terrific experience because we found many similarities in our lives for discussion. I loved the restaurant food with the Asian flair and the staff were all very professionally trained. I gave this a 4 star as it is a great Mada hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pghs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: les suites au premier etage
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maracuenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Assicuratevi di avere le camere che sono già state ristrutturate
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brun055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toamasina (Tamatave)
0.7 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#6 of 10 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
31 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sunny Golf Hotel
Sunny Golf Hotel
#2 of 10 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 10 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Lagon
Hotel Le Lagon
#1 of 3 in Mahavelona
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel H1
Hotel H1
#3 of 22 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
25 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centre Lambahoany
Centre Lambahoany
#8 of 22 in Toamasina (Tamatave)
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joffre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joffre

Address: BP 160 18 Bd Joffre | 501 Tamatave, Toamasina (Tamatave) 501, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Toamasina (Tamatave)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Toamasina (Tamatave)
Price Range: £30 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Joffre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Joffre Madagascar/Toamasina (Tamatave)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing