We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Game reserve”
Review of Hilltop Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilltop Camp
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Accommodation was a 2 sleeper Rondavel. Basic but well equipped and well worth what you pay for. Showers. toilets was communal about 50m away - clean neat and tidy. Room has all you need to do self-catering and communal kitchen was about 50m away. Private BBQ area for each rondavel. Breakfast which is included in the price is not that great. Basics are on offer but not of the best quality one would expect from a game reserve (not sure if its done privately or from the camp) Game viewing (only spent one day) was of good quality - no cats - but the other 3 where seen in abundance. Spectacular scenery.

Room Tip: If you can get a safari tent at Mphila camp it is well worth it, Mphila has no restaurant - all self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Although the whole experience was overall satisfactory, we were all very disappointed to find small round brick houses without touilets or showers allocated to us. This ensured darkeness hours walks for 50 meters to visit the loo. Community tuilets and showers was not what we wanted ot expected when we booked this resort. I must say we had a large delegation, but we would have expected everybody to get standard facilities which some did and some unfotunate ones like us did not.
The game drives were well organized, but we were unfortunate in missing the cats on the 3 drives we did. Maybe there are other game reserves which have more of the big 5 around.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have balcomies with their own barbeque areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayochoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Excited to arrive on a dream weekend. Rooms were good until there was no hot water. The staff were very friendly. The food was expensive and not really value for money - especially for Kids. Breakfast buffet was disappointing. If you are going to stay over, rather book into the self catering chalets. Hilltop is located in a great location but just needs that attention to detail to finish the experience. (Dirty cutlery, some food served cold, and long waits for buffet foods to be replenished. Game drives by staff are a must - good value for money.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a night, rather get self catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at Mpila but went on to Hilltop we we shall stay next trip, had a lovely
festive breakfast, very reasonable, honestly, both camps are more than enjoyable but as the viewing says, take your own foodstuf if self catering. We stayed for three days it was wonderful

Room Tip: Not fussy as long as they are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dissapointed036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Hluhluwe–Imfolozi Park, formerly Hluhluwe–Umfolozi Game Reserve, is the oldest proclaimed natural park in Africa. It consists of 960 km² (96,000 ha) of hilly topography located 280 km ( Approx 3 hrs drive ) north of Durban in central Zululand, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa and is known for its rich wildlife and conservation efforts. The park is the only state-run park in KwaZulu - Natal where all the big five game animals occur. Due to conservation efforts, the park now has the largest population of white rhino in the world.

The Hilltop Camp is in the northern area of the Hluhluwe reserve and the camp is one of KwaZulu - Natal's top wildlife camps. Many of the chalets are self catering but meals can be obtained from the Mpunyane Restaurant in the main complex. We went in Feb 2013 the Breakfast and dinner were buffet style and was pretty good.


The Hilltop Camp offers great views over the hills. We stayed in a two bedrooms with two bathrooms chalet which had a nice living area and kitchen. The Chalet had a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, clean bath's with shower and a good supply of hot, running water, a couple of twin beds which we pushed together, coffee table and chairs, hairdryer, and a peaked thatched roof which made the room feel spacious and lent an African touch to what was, on the whole, a rather basic but remarkable chalet's.

The Hilltop Camp have their own safari jeeps and It is important to remember that the best time to see animals is at dawn or at dusk. The Hilltop Camp organize 4x4 Safaris that begin at 5 a.m. and again at 5 p.m. and start from Hilltop Camp reception area. The safaris which last approx 3 hours are at extra cost and should be booked in advance to avoid disappointment. We booked two and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly with our very good guides.

The park itself is very pretty and we were lucky enough to spot 4 of the Big 5 in Hluhuwe. In all we saw Rhinos, 2 lions, hippo, buffalo, deer-like creatures, zebra, giraffes, plenty of elephants, wild dogs, Wilde beast's and lots of Baboons (no luck with the leopard's).

I'd look forward to going back.

I can highly recommend the overall experience there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

High up in the Hluhluwe Park Hilltop is a great location with fantastic views across the hills. It has a central lodge with restaurant, bar and curio shop with the accommodation in chalets. We had 3 nights self catering, but ended up in the restaurant every night. The chalets were clean and well maintained, if a little past their prime. at 97.000 hectares it is a big game park and the game viewing was great with lots of rhino, buffalo and ellies. Food was buffet style and ok. Nothing to write home about, but definitely not bad.

This is not a luxury private lodge, but a national park lodge, so it is on a different level, but then so is the price. All in all the park is stunning and the lodge a good place to sleep and eat after long hours chasing that elusive leopard sighting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africa_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hiltop is one of the most unique locations in any game reserve. The views from Hiltop are beautiful. The only major let down here is the absolutely terrible service at the restaurant and bar. They are terribly under staffed. Expect to wait 20 mins for a drink, and another 20 before being able to flag down a waiter to help you again. The food is good at the restaurant but once again the service just killed it. Besides from the service it is just such a stunning place to sit back and relax and take in the views, and sip on a cocktail.
The location outweighs the service. This is a must stop when travelling through Hluhluwe Imfolozi.

Room Tip: order a drink directly from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe Game Reserve
14.4 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
15.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
11.4 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
14.8 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
7.1 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in KwaNompondo
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Camp

Address: Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilltop Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hilltop Camp Hotel Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing