We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”
Review of Hilltop Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilltop Camp
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Hilltop camp is as you'd expect located on a hill top with the most stunning outlook and views across the park, the camp is very clean, well managed and serves excellent food, well worth the visit whether on a day visit or staying over and provided very welcome refreshment and meals after a long day of game viewing but beware the monkeys, don't leave food accessable or car windows open.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    114
    79
    26
    19
See reviews for
87
140
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Family of four stayed in the two-bedroomed, four-bed thatch cottage. The cottage is self catering except for breakfast. The rooms are clean and functional and the kitchen has all the basic requirements. The en-suite bathrooms and showers are perfect. We all had a wonderful night's sleep after an exhausting day of incredible game viewing. We ate breakfast in the restaurant overlooking a herd of Buffalo drinking water from mud patch below us. The Hilltop complex is set within a secured perimeter to prevent wild animals from wondering in, but watch out for the mischievous monkeys who will help themselves to any food left lying about, even in the cottage! Although the prices have gone up a bit, it is still good value for what you get.

Room Tip: Some cottages have en-suite bathrooms and some do not. Just check before hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbn_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in a 2 sleeper, non self catering unit, the unit was very clean and well presented. The only staff member with a smile on their face was the lady that came to clean our room. Grumpy bunch mostly from reception to dinner and breakfast. Except for the odd few - in hindsight, probably should have noted their names....
Dinner at R165 per head and breakfast at R105 I suppose was average to high, considering the quality of the food served, although tasty, nothing to write home about. Also when one pays these prices, perhaps consider serving proper filter coffee and a choice of butter and margarine (not plastic tasting margarine only).
Pretty average stay in a fantastic game reserve. Our photos are taken on game drives not at Hilltop camp.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom chalet overlooking the reserve (received visits from buffalo, nyala and samango monkeys!), which was really well equipped and very spacious! The evening buffet at the restaurant was good quality, albeit a bit pricey (alternative menu during the evenings would be really convenient!). Game viewing was a bit quiet (I believe it was on account of the windy weather during our stay), but were still able to see lions on three seperate occasions! I would recommend a stay at hilltop anytime, and a visit to the park at least once in your life.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Accommodation was a 2 sleeper Rondavel. Basic but well equipped and well worth what you pay for. Showers. toilets was communal about 50m away - clean neat and tidy. Room has all you need to do self-catering and communal kitchen was about 50m away. Private BBQ area for each rondavel. Breakfast which is included in the price is not that great. Basics are on offer but not of the best quality one would expect from a game reserve (not sure if its done privately or from the camp) Game viewing (only spent one day) was of good quality - no cats - but the other 3 where seen in abundance. Spectacular scenery.

Room Tip: If you can get a safari tent at Mphila camp it is well worth it, Mphila has no restaurant - all self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Although the whole experience was overall satisfactory, we were all very disappointed to find small round brick houses without touilets or showers allocated to us. This ensured darkeness hours walks for 50 meters to visit the loo. Community tuilets and showers was not what we wanted ot expected when we booked this resort. I must say we had a large delegation, but we would have expected everybody to get standard facilities which some did and some unfotunate ones like us did not.
The game drives were well organized, but we were unfortunate in missing the cats on the 3 drives we did. Maybe there are other game reserves which have more of the big 5 around.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have balcomies with their own barbeque areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayochoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Excited to arrive on a dream weekend. Rooms were good until there was no hot water. The staff were very friendly. The food was expensive and not really value for money - especially for Kids. Breakfast buffet was disappointing. If you are going to stay over, rather book into the self catering chalets. Hilltop is located in a great location but just needs that attention to detail to finish the experience. (Dirty cutlery, some food served cold, and long waits for buffet foods to be replenished. Game drives by staff are a must - good value for money.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a night, rather get self catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe Game Reserve
11.4 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
129 reviews
14.4 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
11.3 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
20.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
7.1 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in KwaNompondo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Camp

Property: Hilltop Camp
Address: Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilltop Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hilltop Camp Hotel Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing