We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Authentic experience at Mpila Camp”
Review of Hilltop Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilltop Camp
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The resort's confirmation clearly said 2pm check in. However based on our stay at Mpila camp and traffic around the park we guessed Hilltop wouldn't have been full the previous night and a 10am check out should have meant our room was cleaned and available when we arrived at 1pm. That seemed to be the case but as often is the case, we fell foul of the strict 'check in time' rule. 2pm check in- the receptionist re confirmed. But is the room ready I asked? That doesn't matter, check in is 2pm I was told. Little things like that annoy me so we were off to a bad start at Hilltop. We were eventually allocated a 2 person self catering chalet. It was large and seemed relatively new. With high thatched ceilings and polished beams, flat screen TV and modern kitchen it felt like an African dictators holiday cottage ! It was clean and had good quality furniture and decor - the only thing that spoilt the impression of it being a really high end resort was that the room smelt musty- a sort of damp smell which was soon shifted by opening all the windows. I would guess in winter there is a nice view from the wooden balcony but with the trees in full foliage we couldn't see much. The camp is fenced so it's possible to walk to the restaurant at night. It was a buffet and was pretty picked over when we arrived at 8 but the staff were happy to replenish most of the dishes. The bar has an outside patio giving great views over the surrounding hills.The park itself is quite compact meaning you can easily drive all the tracks in a day. The hotel runs game drives but we did our own and saw numerous rhino at close quarters but no big cats and we only saw elephant in the Imflozi Park. The hotel is probably the most luxurious option of the Government run accommodation -it has the feel of an expensive resort but isn't what you'd call an authentic bush experience.For that I'd go for a safari tent at Mpila Camp.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom bungalow with family and it was great. We were only there for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately it was misty and rainy so the sunset game drive could really have been a bit shorter (we all got soaked despite being given ponchos to wear) and we didn't get to enjoy the views, which I believe are stunning, but we will be back again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Hilltop camp is as you'd expect located on a hill top with the most stunning outlook and views across the park, the camp is very clean, well managed and serves excellent food, well worth the visit whether on a day visit or staying over and provided very welcome refreshment and meals after a long day of game viewing but beware the monkeys, don't leave food accessable or car windows open.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Family of four stayed in the two-bedroomed, four-bed thatch cottage. The cottage is self catering except for breakfast. The rooms are clean and functional and the kitchen has all the basic requirements. The en-suite bathrooms and showers are perfect. We all had a wonderful night's sleep after an exhausting day of incredible game viewing. We ate breakfast in the restaurant overlooking a herd of Buffalo drinking water from mud patch below us. The Hilltop complex is set within a secured perimeter to prevent wild animals from wondering in, but watch out for the mischievous monkeys who will help themselves to any food left lying about, even in the cottage! Although the prices have gone up a bit, it is still good value for what you get.

Room Tip: Some cottages have en-suite bathrooms and some do not. Just check before hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbn_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in a 2 sleeper, non self catering unit, the unit was very clean and well presented. The only staff member with a smile on their face was the lady that came to clean our room. Grumpy bunch mostly from reception to dinner and breakfast. Except for the odd few - in hindsight, probably should have noted their names....
Dinner at R165 per head and breakfast at R105 I suppose was average to high, considering the quality of the food served, although tasty, nothing to write home about. Also when one pays these prices, perhaps consider serving proper filter coffee and a choice of butter and margarine (not plastic tasting margarine only).
Pretty average stay in a fantastic game reserve. Our photos are taken on game drives not at Hilltop camp.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom chalet overlooking the reserve (received visits from buffalo, nyala and samango monkeys!), which was really well equipped and very spacious! The evening buffet at the restaurant was good quality, albeit a bit pricey (alternative menu during the evenings would be really convenient!). Game viewing was a bit quiet (I believe it was on account of the windy weather during our stay), but were still able to see lions on three seperate occasions! I would recommend a stay at hilltop anytime, and a visit to the park at least once in your life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Accommodation was a 2 sleeper Rondavel. Basic but well equipped and well worth what you pay for. Showers. toilets was communal about 50m away - clean neat and tidy. Room has all you need to do self-catering and communal kitchen was about 50m away. Private BBQ area for each rondavel. Breakfast which is included in the price is not that great. Basics are on offer but not of the best quality one would expect from a game reserve (not sure if its done privately or from the camp) Game viewing (only spent one day) was of good quality - no cats - but the other 3 where seen in abundance. Spectacular scenery.

Room Tip: If you can get a safari tent at Mphila camp it is well worth it, Mphila has no restaurant - all self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe Game Reserve
14.4 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
15.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
11.4 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
14.8 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
7.1 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in KwaNompondo
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Camp

Address: Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilltop Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hilltop Camp Hotel Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing