We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hilltop Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilltop Camp
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here after spending three days at the more basic Mpila camp in the same park. The pace is well run and it was nice to have a restaurant after having to cook all the meals at the Mpila camp. The food was good and as a vegan had no problems with the meals since there was always at least one vegetable dish available. From the restaurant we were treated to a wonderful view of the valley where we could see elephants foraging in the distance. Great staff.

Room Tip: we stayed in a 4 bed chalet. They are all very quiet and set apart from each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegantraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    114
    81
    27
    19
See reviews for
89
141
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Family did the bookings for us so I am not sure how efficient that was but we were very happy with our stay here. We were in a two bedroomed cottage and found it to be very comfortable and adequately supplied. They are well placed so that you have privacy and are serviced daily. The beds were comfortable and although kitchen had basic utensils, it was plenty for what we needed. The restaurant also does very good and reasonable meals. This camp has everything you need including a little shop for the odds and ends that you may have forgotten.

We saw elephant, rhino and buffalo on our way into the park but we did find that due to the height of the camp, there is not much game within a 15km radius and you need to head to lower ground near water to see more animals. The bush is quite thick and tall and the tar roads are shocking with the amount of potholes (the dirt roads are much better to drive on that the tar!). We had a 4x4 and I would not recommend going into the park in anything but a 4x4 because of the potholes and the height of the bush - you need to be sitting higher up unless you plan to do drives arranged by the camp. You do need to cover both the Hluhluwe and Imfolozi and there are different types of game in both parks.
We found the picnic areas really well kept with lovely clean toilets!! The hides in Imfolozi were worth visiting but the one in Hluhluwe is a waste of time as it is dry throughout the winter so no game would go there.
All in all, we were really pleased with our experience and the amount of game we saw and very happy with the Hilltop Camp

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We love getting away to the game parks (often) and particularly enjoying staying at Hilltop Camp. We normally stay in the rondawels with shared ablutions. The rooms are really comfortable (they have beds, a small fridge, a kettle and cups and coffee/tea). The ablutions are located really close by and are always neat and clean. The camp also has an awesome swimming pool which offers very welcome relief in the summer months!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodySimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howick, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stopped for an early lunch at the Hilltop Camp Restaurant. My family settled on having some toasted sandwiches so we could get back to the game viewing. The server was friendly, the service was quick and the prices were very reasonable (about R45 for sandwich, fries and a bit of salad; R18 for hot chocolate, it is very sweet though!). I would recommend the health bread option over the white or brown bread, it was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a nightmare trying to book this place. After finally working out you need to book through central KZN reservations (no online booking available) we managed to book a room. After following up the booking to request email confirmation we received a provisional booking by email, then money was taken from our card. So we were surprised and annoyed when we arrived and were told our booking had been cancelled because no payment had been received! To be fair, the nice lady on reception did her best and found a room for us, but because it was a Sunday we had to wait to sort it all out on Monday when the reservations office was open. This hotel seriously needs to sort out its admin. The room (non self-catering chalet) was smelly as others have said before however it was fine, felt clean enough and had a wonderful view. We were pleasantly surprised by our evening meal at the restaurant, we ordered lamb curry which was delicious. However service wasn't good and I gave up waiting to order a dessert after being ignored for too long (good for the waistline!) Finally, the reserve itself - we had a spectacular drive to the resort, spotting lots of rhinos in the distance and having a very close encounter with an elephant! After checking in we went for a quick drive before sunset and saw a couple of rhinos right next to the road settling down for the night, amazing. However the next day we spent the entire day driving from Hilltop down to Imfolozi and mpila, we barely saw a thing, about 4 zebra, a few impala and a troop of baboons. Really disappointing for several hours on the road. A word of advice - the roads are awful in places and we wished we'd rented a 4 wheel drive so we could have taken some of the smaller, unpaved roads, but we didn't dare risk driving on them in our little rental car for fear of damaging the car and our safety. Perhaps we might have seen a bit more if we'd taken the smaller roads, if we were to go again we would take a 4wd and probably opt to stay in Mpila, if easier to book!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemaki1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A magnificent setting with beautiful views. The roads are, unfortunately, so full of potholes that you spend your time in this self-drive environment watching where you are driving rather than looking for game. The accommodation was pretty good, better than we expected, but the restaurant was abysmal. The food was literally inedible. As stated in other reviews, I agree with the thick vegetation making it difficult to see game. The viewing was mediocre at best. I would be happy to go back though I would take my own food!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairlywelltravelled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Hilltop is old and need to be upgraded. Location is fine but the bungalows are old and very smelly. Red ants came falling out of the roof and the reception laughed when we noticed it. The bungalows are very smelly and need to be upgraded. Don't go there and find another lodge around Hluhluwe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hluhluwe Game Reserve hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe Game Reserve
11.4 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
130 reviews
14.4 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
15.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
72 reviews
20.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
7.1 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in KwaNompondo
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Camp

Property: Hilltop Camp
Address: Hluhluwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilltop Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hilltop Camp Hotel Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing