We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing big cats”

Emdoneni Cheetah project
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cat Project with Cheetah, Serval, African Wildcats and Caracals
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing big cats”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Being able to spend a bit of time with some big cats (Serval, Cheetah, Caracal) is beyond awesome. Such an incredible experience and well worth a visit! The accommodation at the lodge looks really great!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JodySimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    33
    6
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A bit expensive but unforgettable !”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent one night in the lodge. The restaurant was good and we had a candlelight diner because there was a storm and no electricity. The room was a bit expensive for the accommodation.
The 'cat feeding tour' was unforgettable, lots of good explanation, we could enter the enclosures and strike the cats. The best was of course striking the cheetah.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank freede01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Emdoneni Lodge, Cat Rehab”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had very informative tour around the rehab centre. Stopping and observing the different species and then for the cherry on the top we were taken into the enclosures which houses the Cheetah's and then the Serval.

How many people can say they been lucky enough to stroke a Cheetah? or Serval?
What amazing creatures and what an informative guide. Thank you for this amazing experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kaysm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Emdoneni Cheetah Interaction”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lodging was up to par with the states. Rooms were big, nice and clean with Aircon food was good and plenty but still had the feeling of Africa and the outdoors. All of the staff was vvery polite and helpful.The interaction was awesome. From the Cheetah to the Cerval. Pieter is the manager that did the tour and spent hours talking with several people over drinks at the nightly bonfire. It is still close enough to do daily safaris to Shluwshui Reserve. We could not have been happier with this place or Pieter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jaczorbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rip-off, kids not welcome!!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We paid at the entrance for our family but when we wanted to enter the enclosures the guide told us my 8 year old daughter is to small she is not allowed inside. So my wife had to wait outside with her all the time. So we paid all that money for nothing, why were we not informed before we paid??? We were made to wait 25 minutes for a tourist group that was late. When they joined us the entire group was so big the guide could not control all the people.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MHibbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emdoneni Cheetah project also viewed

Hluhluwe Game Reserve, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Emdoneni Cheetah project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing