We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephant interaction”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mkuze Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayete Zulu Boutique Lodge
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We visited the Elephant interaction experience at Bayete Zulu Lodge. We absolutely loved hearing, seeing and being able to touch these animals. The staff were friendly and the ranger was very informative.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank CatloverDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Bayete Zulu Boutique Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

Elephant interaction must be one of the most memorable and humbling experiences of my life and you can do it at this lodge! I got to put my hand in Rambo’s mouth (the big male elephant) and feed him and stroke his ears, WOW it was spectacular! The team of people running this lodge are friendly and attentive, the food was incredible and the luxury and comfort of the room exceeded our expectations. It was bliss sitting by a roaring fire drinking red wine under the stars looking out at the dark African landscape listening to the abundance of wildlife. It sounds like a scene from a movie but it really was that amazing.

Room Tip: From the way the lodge is built, all the rooms face the view, so it doesn’t matter which one you’re...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cfrencken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We spent only 1 night at the lodge, but i wish we stayed longer. It is a small lodge, but has an intimate atmosphere with lots of personal attention. You can just relax with a wonderful view and the food was delicious with a "homemade" flair - no tasteless hotel food here! We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamuller2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2011 and have 2 boys age 5 & 2. We had an amazing time - the lodge is beautiful, it has everything that you need: children's playground/playroom, spa, outdoor jacuzzi, swimming pool etc. The game drives were brilliant and we saw pretty much everything except lions, but I gather that these were only just introduced into the reserve at around the time we stayed. The location is ideal, not too far from the main road but far enough into the bush (about 13km in total) that you feel secluded. The lodge feels very safe and the children loved the space and the jungle gym/ trampoline. The food was really good which was an unexpected bonus and the children were well-catered for. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the reserve. The package deal which includes the game drives, food & drink was great value and I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone but particularly for people with children.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jingo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

we stayed here for a weekend the game drives were great with helpful and informative driver Julian. the rooms were wonderful everything you could need. the views were stunning,i would go here again in a flash.we had an elephant experience where we got to feed the elephants and touch them.this is the ideal place for a honeymoon it would be very romantic.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppySomersetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkuze Game Reserve
7.9 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
421 reviews
24.4 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
28 reviews
5.6 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mkuze
374 reviews
21.7 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
17.2 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayete Zulu Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayete Zulu Boutique Lodge

Address: PO Box 243 | Biyala Mkuze, Mkuze Game Reserve 3965, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing